Snowed in Friday…do something different.

Welp, we are about to get walloped with the lamest named storm ever – Nemo (seriously, who names a snow storm, I just thought hurricanes got that honor!)…a storm I think is much suited to the name storm f*cking bullshit instead (much more apt, in fact, given it completely ruined some fabulous weekend plans!)…but rather than wallow in all that I will *not* be doing this weekend, I think this storm comes at a perfect time to…

shift my focus and work on that whole ‘just be’ mantra I’ve been talking about lately.

I will read a book. Or maybe even two. And those magazines I have piled up and yet to read.

I will take my time and make meals this weekend. With M. For M. Together. Not rushing to get dinner made because I am rushing against some agenda in my brain or imaginary deadline/timeline I’ve set for myself. Oh the novelty of that in itself makes me giddy at the thought.

I will get creative with my workouts. Today I ran my longest run since starting ITBS recovery and PT – 5 miles. And I reveled in every single minute of it. (in fact, I still think I am on a run high!). But as classes tomorrow at barre n9ne studio are likely to get canceled and I have a feeling my gym may be closed, creativity is the name of the game. I shall perhaps dust off some Cathe workouts I have yet to try – TurboBarre, *maybe* even brave some tabata…and also test out some new ideas for b9 fusion, while I am at it. And no, I won’t use the weekend to work out the entire time, because I plan to also honor my body and rest, recover, relax.

I will listen to music and maybe even nothing at all. Silence. Feeds the soul sometimes, doesn’t it? Curled up under a quilt with M by my side, that’s all I really need, right?

I may even play in the snow. Why not, there may be 2-3 feet of it after all. And I have a golf course staring right at me waiting to be sled down πŸ˜‰

Most of all, I won’t plan to do too much. I have some ideas on what I want this ‘forced’ unplanned weekend, but I refuse to overstuff it with too many things – cleaning closets (tempted, always love a good closet purge!), organize, clean, bake, make new b9 playlists and classses etc. etc. etc. My mind goes into overdrive thinking of what I can do to fill my time this weekend whilst snowed in (which I am honestly hoping is just tomorrow, not the entire weekend). But *why* fill it up when it can be just as enjoyed – or MORE enjoyed – by not filling it up?

If you’re in the Northeast and getting snowed in as well…I challenge you – and urge you – plan little, be intentful, do things differently. This weekend is a license to be snowed in and do something different as far as I’m concerned.

Cheers friends!

5afb99437419de604954bb30fd75fc1c

32 thoughts on “Snowed in Friday…do something different.

    1. Thanks friend! It felt so good to get a good run in!! I think the slower pace this weekend will be perfect Much needed. I thought of you when I wrote tabata πŸ˜‰

  1. This is going to be a HUGE test for me. After all this talk about needing to learn to embrace chill time, embrace ‘me’ time and force down the desire to go-go-go all the time, this blizzard is the PERFECT excuse to practice intention. And not overstuffing the weekend with LOADS of productivity. Let’s be honest, there will be enough free hours this weekend to be productive, I can totally accomplish a few things without STUFFING every single hour of the day with productivity. I KNOW I can. I just have to think with intention this weekend and avoid slipping into those patterns I’ve been talking about. On that note, I’m definitely all about a book, a blanket, the couch and snuggles with Scott, perhaps some baking, snowball fights and fort building, perhaps some barre n9ne playlist creation and some 1:1 time with the treadmill, but not a heck of a lot more than that. A clean slate is how I’m looking at this weekend…or trying to (seeing as I just listed things I want to do, I need to remember that these are ‘want to do’ things not ‘must do’ things….yes??)

    1. While we have already talked about your comment on IM and Twitter (hehe), I STILL think even in this comment, you are doing too much! PLAN TO DO LESS! Yes? None of this maybe this maybe that, add this add that. DO LESS. Period. This is my challenge to you πŸ™‚ XO #toughlove

  2. Ok now you make me want to come be snowed in with you! I love how you just want to be and soak up extra time with m relaxing…sounds absolutely perfect πŸ™‚ stay safe and warm and enjoy every minute ❀

  3. Love this post! I am so excited to be snowed in. I feel like life has been so busy, so full and it’s sort of spinning out of control. I get tired, overwhelmed and starting losing focus and giving things less than my best and I hate that and get frustrated. It’s starting to happen so I’m excited to rest, relax, recover and regroup thanks to think unexpected break! Enjoy the snow and the sledding!

    1. YES! I knew you’d be on the same wavelength, you also need this ‘forced’ rest, don’t you?! It’s been go go go and now it’s time to settle a bit. Enjoy your rest and recover and regroup weekend snowed in!!

  4. If you purge your closet, I’ll pay for shipping. LOL

    I’m proud of you and your 5-miler!!! That’s fantastic!!!

    And yes…do take this weekend to soak in some relaxation, time with M, and living slowly and in the moment. πŸ™‚ I love weekends like that.

    1. I would SO send you stuf my friend! Seriously!! And thank you friend, it was fun to do the virtual run together! let’s do that more often ok?? This weekend has seriously been awesome, doing so little yesterday was needed in many ways πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve been thinking of you and your sis since everyone started freaking out about the storm. Funny how even Mother Nature needs to step in from time to time to remind us to simmer down!

  6. Hope you had a marvelous snowed-in weekend. I too want to make more meals, I need to spend more time in the kitchen.

    And I need to put down the phone and pick up a book, thank you for the reminder:)

  7. I hope you had a great weekend! Letting go and enjoying the downtime is so hard, but so worth it! Why is it so hard to just let go and enjoy? I hate that I’m that person, but I’m definitely learning to be better. I hope it’s a great week for you!

  8. OK, that first paragraph? Had me laughing out loud. haha. I’m glad that I missed the storm but there’s a part of me that’s sad that we missed the first real snow in NYC this year. That being said, I’m happy to hear about your plans for just being and relaxing this weekend and I hope that you had a chance to do that. And yay for running 5 miles!!

    1. LOL glad my humor was amusing πŸ˜‰ I would have traded your locale for mine this weekend in terms of weather, but it was a fabulous weekend of forced downtime that I did embrace! and a happy 5 miles too!

  9. LOVE it! Oh, the beauty in nature. While I totally first reacted with “GR…REALLY??!! WAY TO RUIN THE WEEKEND” I too ended up embracing it & everything worked itself out! Luckily our family was able to escape to our condo in NH before it got bad in Boston… How did your “me” time go? Sometimes the lazy, snowed-in days are the best of days after all!

Leave a Reply

