On disconnecting to connect, a reunion long time coming, and love, strengthened.

I am not truly sure how to capture the essence of our trip to Playa del Carmen last week (as I sit here weathering Hurricane Sandy, quite the shift in weather compared to the beauty of the Mexican beaches!).

Except to say that it was perfectly timed, shed some incredible light on some things and was a reunion with someone I haven’t seen in almost three years. A very, very, long time coming. (I plan to post more on some of these realizations this week, but for now, I will keep it brief as I collect my thoughts).

As M and I walked into the Miami airport, re-entering ‘existence’ so to speak, on Friday, as we were virtually cut off from all communication all week with all things electronic media (which I oddly loved way way more than I thought I would!), I stopped and turned to him, and said “You know what? I think I fell more in love with you this week than ever.” He said, “why?” To which I remarked, “Because I for once focused solely on you and wasn’t half-present, focused half on my stupid phone and half on you.”

To admit that was a lot easier than I thought, but at the same time, admitting that and seeing it written out? Also very hard to see. More on this topic in a later post, but that was one of the biggest realizations of the past week. How much I love M with all of my heart and soul, to the tips of my toes and the strands of my hair. Love, strengthened.

~~

Reuniting with this girl (who I actually saw two weeks ago during the Chicago Marathon too – twice in two weeks vs. more than two years, ironic, isn’t it?!). It was as if we picked up where we left off. That is the sign of friendship that goes the literal and figurative distance, isn’t it? And it was the perfect juxtaposition for when we met almost three years ago (when I really calculate it, it was almost 3!) at a time in our lives where we were fresh from divorce, our lives paralleling in so many ways, to now, again paralleling in so many ways. She got engaged a year(ish?) ago, and now I too, am engaged, and she enters into marriage with the man that she was meant to be with…just about a year (or less, I am hoping…) to when M and I enter int ours. Lives, parallel. Incredible. Beautiful. Moving.

So when she walked down that aisle, on the pristine beach of Mexico, with a small gathering of us looking on, I got chills, despite the almost 90 degree heat. And when her voice broke as she said the most perfectly written vows (that literally could have been my own words!), tears rolled down my cheeks, in all out tears of happiness and love. For her. For us. For where our lives lead us, when we least expect it.

Suddenly? It all comes together. As it was meant to be.

20 thoughts on “On disconnecting to connect, a reunion long time coming, and love, strengthened.

  1. Even when we do our best, it’s easy to fall into that half-there trap. You get so caught up in just day-to-day. You think you’re listening or communicating, but then you realize that you’re distracted by the tv, computer, thinking about dinner, whatever….so glad you had that week to just be. To really reconnect.

    1. It IS really hard, and realizing that last week was a huge wake up call. I am trying my best not to let it happen or creep in again! It was a perfect week!

  2. Aw sis, your words made me all teary. You know how I feel about all that you learned while completely shut off from ‘real life’ for almost a week — it was absolutely what you both needed in a big way, particularly as you grow together as a couple. Learning when to put eachother first vs. letting outside ‘things’ creep in is HARD to do, but having no choice but to put eachother first like you were able to do this past week? Eye opening huh? Just like I said in my post — presence is the best gift of all. ❤

  3. I so wish I could have been there!!!
    And I think what you wrote about is one of the reasons my pastor always recommends that married couples go on at least one weekend getaway a year without the kids! It helps couples reconnect when there isn’t anything else that’s demanding your attention.

  4. thats how it feels when i go to the bahamas or new zealand. We can only really connect when there is wifi somewhere. And i’m okay with that. I enjoy getting out and not worrying about updates, my phone, etc. It’s funny how the conversations actually come to life too, ya know? no distractions.

    p.s
    you looks stunning!

    1. I bet it does!! I was thinking of you and that very thing, you always seem so zen when you are just back from NZ or Bahamas. Perfect!! Conversations do come to life, so so true! And thank you! XO!

  5. It was absolutely fabulous and I don’t know how I will put it into words either. The disconnecting part was just wonderful. I don’t think you realize how bad you need it until it happens. And three years…yea…too long…Lots of love!

Leave a Reply

