Perspective.

The last few days, I’ve felt a dose of perspective flashing in and out. In various conversations, actions and quite simply, hindsight.

I am living a blessed, happy, opportunity-laden life. 

Don’t take it for granted. 

I have opportunities that many may never have. To travel. To follow my passion. To have a sense of work/life balance afforded to me that again, not many may have.

Keep that focus shifted. See the opportunity. Harness it. Don’t let it slip by or escape from it.

Look in the mirror. That’s what YOU made happen. The one-year barre-volution.

Be proud of the inside and the outside. Don’t brush off compliments, accept them. Don’t nitpick, embrace.

Each run is an accomplishment. Some may never run. Or want to. Or be able to.

Own each run. Good. Bad. Meh. You’re capable of them, rejoice in that.

Love. Is all around you….M.

Focus on it. Never brush off a kiss, a hug, an opportunity to connect. 

Thank you. To those that inadvertently showed me that path back to perspective. Sometimes it’s easier to ‘see’ than others. When you’re not happy, it’s almost – ironically – easier to harness perspective, but when life is going pretty damn well, it’s easy to slide into complacency and taking for granted. I never want to do either.

25 thoughts on “Perspective.

  1. Beautiful sis, just beautiful. Such an incredible reminder to always keep the right perspective or frame on things, and also a reminder of just how far you’ve come in the past year or two or three. Proud of you!! xoxo

    1. Thank you! I just wanted to capture it, since sometimes it is easy to forget and start sliding into complaint mode, about stuff I shouldn’t even complain about. Grand scheme – life good!

  2. I LOVE Andy Warhol. Mostly because he took everyday items and turned them into art. THAT is what you call never taking anything for granted.

    You’re doing great, Jobo. Breathe into it and enjoy every second.

    1. It is SO easy to do. And I started sensing that I was doing that, so I think giving thanks and seeing it all around is the best way to get back to perspective! Thank you friend!

  3. This is a beautiful post, friend. This is what stood out to me most: “Look in the mirror. That’s what YOU made happen.” You nailed it right there, Jo. You embrace the hardships of running. You embrace the new – like barre a year ago. You embrace ‘the shake’. You embraced new love. None of those are easy, friend, and it’s inspiring to see how much you truly appreciate all that you’re capable of doing.

    1. ((hug)) thank you!! Your comments always make me smile and wish we lived closer!! Feeling empowered to DO and embrace and CHANGE is just the best feeling, isn’t it? I love watching you do the very same as we speak!

  4. How many times do I get stuck not being able to see the trees through the forest. You have a great focus and perspective, although sometimes we just need to give ourselves a break. You keep on kicking a**!

    1. It’s really hard to see the forest from the trees sometimes! I feel like I usually *can* but sometimes, just sense that maybe I could see them even clearer. But yes, a break is a good idea too sometimes 🙂

  5. This is beautiful my friend! I absolutely love this perspective – you are such an inspiration to ME as I go through my own hard times, and I’m grateful and lucky to have you! Keep up the great attitude, it is YOU, OWN it!

    1. awww ((hug)) thank you friend! I’ll support you in everything, of course!! I love seeing your growth and your experience as you start new things and explore who YOU are now, your ‘life reset’ – it’s so cool 🙂 XOXO

  6. it is so easy to get complacent…I strive not to as well. My back is out right now sciatic nerve issue and its stopping me from running and I SO miss it and will rejoice when I can do it again. Don’t take anything in life for granted is a motto to live by for sure.

    1. It’s really easy to, isn’t it? I am so sorry to hear about your back! guess that REALLY does make you appreciate running even more, as an example, when you can’t do it. Hope you feel better!

  7. Yay! Love the gratitude that is overflowing from this post. I am struggling to make some big decisions, and this post is a really good reminder of some important things. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

