Friday Random Travelin’ Facts

It’s Friiiiidaayyyyyy!!!! <—-who’s excited, raise your hand?!

Anytime I travel, Friday is just that much sweeter, I have to say. As much I as try my best to embrace work travel, as I said yesterday, it is just so damn tiring, no matter what. So I figured I’d share some fun random travelin’ facts for today, some funny, some learnings and such 😉

I never feel settled until I unpack, start a load of laundry, clean up a little (this depends on if M ‘tidies up’ for me before my arrival heehee), no matter what time I get home. Last night, I scored an earlier flight so I was home around 9 and did all of the aforementioned in 20 minutes. I don’t eff around, yo 😉

I always go into OATT planning my workouts, my meals and of course, my outfits. And I always bring too many outfits (but usually almost always use a backup outfit I packed, for the record!) and enough snacks to feed an army (but you never know when you might be caught without a meal and have to rely on snacks, right?!).

I’m a nervous nellie traveler. And not in the fear of flying way. My worst fear is missing a flight or being late to board without a coffee, water, or meal (depending on how long the flight is, if I buy a meal or rely on aforementioned snacks!). I also fear layovers in ‘red flag’ snow/delay zones in the winter like Chicago, Minneapolis, Denver and avoid them (and layovers) at all costs. Sometimes it is inevitable, but my second worst fear is sleeping in the airport 😉

I love exploring new barre studios, gyms, and running routes when I travel. I’m always excited when the hotel offers a running route or map and I always scope out the hotel gym the night before. If there are two treadmills in the whole gym, you better be damned I’m getting one 😉 If I can find a barre studio to try out, I will, and have found a few cool ones in areas that I travel to frequently. Double score, right? (though my heart belongs to barre n9ne, of course).

I hate my routine being out of whack, so I try to mimic my week as much as I can (at least when I travel to California to the office). I plan my workouts (aforementioned barre studios!), I try and determine my meals for the week, bring lots of snacks and try to mirror my beloved oatmeal if I can. It just makes me feel more ‘at home’ than winging it. It’s again, the way I roll 😉

As much as I dread the goodbyes, that’s almost always the worst part. There’s never a trip where I don’t learn something about myself, experience something new, or in the case of this week, meet friends!

Okay, so nothing overly weird, but as I am a year and a half into a job that requires a fair bit of travel, I’ve been thinking of my traveling evolution and how much preparedness comes into play for me to have a solid trip that doesn’t make me feel lacking in any way. And allows for a fair bit of exploring and meeting new people. With another work trip (California, this time) 10 days away, I’m rounding out a busy 6 weeks of traveling on-and-off, and am going to try and embrace it as much as I can. Because I know it all goes back to unseating comfort zones and growing.

But I hope you’ll ‘scuse me as I gallivant off towards enjoying the weekend which includes M’s graduation tomorrow. I couldn’t be more proud and cannot wait to see him walk across that stage. Cheers friends!

23 thoughts on “Friday Random Travelin’ Facts

  1. I have learned SO MUCH from you about traveling for work — so taking this job that includes a fair amount of travel has felt so much less daunting because I had you as my guide. Now even though I hate the goodbyes, the actual trip itself is usually not half bad and I always learn so much when I’m out there on my own. It’s really good to get out of those comfort zones and routines sometimes — learning to embrace un-routine has been my mantra for these trips and it’s REALLY helped me, especially when I go into OATT mode 😉

    I can’t wait to write a post like this NEXT Friday after I get back from my trip to Cali!

    1. aww! I am so glad, sis! As I was flying home this week, I was thinking about how much change in both of us since taking jobs that require a fair amount of solo travel. It really does change you and help you grow, doesn’t it? I am so proud of you for taking the leap and I love that we can share this now, together too. And you will do great next week! We will be each other’s supporters when we travel, me for you next week and you for me he week after 😉

  2. I just got back from a work/play trip to Colorado, and I can not imagine traveling as often as you do! This trip was the first time we’ve taken my two kids on a plane. That was interesting!!

    I tried really hard to pack light, and I actually wished I had packed an extra outfit or two like you do. It’s a tough balance! Hope you have a great weekend.

    1. Wow, two kids on the plane, you are my hero!! I saw a couple jugging twins that were very young and taking them through security was such a feat. I just find THAT the most challenging! Traveling alone, totally doable, but with kids? wow. Have a great weekend too!

  3. Ahhhhh the weekend is so nice, isn’t it?

    And I’m with you – I can’t go on a trip or have a party without unpacking or cleaning up as much as possible BEFORE I’m able to relax.

    You’re a traveling pro, my friend! It’s not easy to travel from one end of the country to another and still maintain a semblance of normal. Go you!

    1. I HEART the weekend! Especially after a trip! I figured you’d be the same as me, needing to get everything back in place before feeling settled! And thank you, I try 😉

  4. Well you saw how I was worrying about being late and I wasn’t even travelling! And for the record, I thought your outfits looked really nice. Oh, and I went to that mall yesterday and you’re right, NY & CO did have some cute stuff…but it was all way too big in the chest. Major vanity sizing going on there, at least in the dresses that I tried on. Small was too big. I’m usually a medium or sometimes a large in other stores!

    1. Haha! Yeah, but there was good reason to wonder where our server was! LOL. And thank you, glad you liked them 😉 Bummer about NY&Co! I think their sizing is really weird, too, so I don’t tend to buy, but they DID have lots of cute dresses!

  5. OATT syndrome really comes in handy for travel – IMO. I do the same thing – plan outfits to a T, food/drinks/etc. Most of my traveling revolves around races so I don’t have to be so crazy about my workouts.

    Sounds like you’re got it wired sistah!

  6. Umm, I think that we might be the same person. I expected to agree with 1 or 2 things on your list but pretty much was nodding my head as I read the entire post. #1 is the biggest for me and drives my husband CRAZY. He doesn’t unpack for a few days which drives me nuts so I end up unpacking for him. I have two work trips coming up and I’m kind of looking forward to it – pretty much just for the peace and quiet and potential for a full night sleep i.e. no kids waking me up!!

    1. Ha!! We are definitely the same person! I love it! Must meet! 😉 M thinks I’m nuts for unpacking, even at 1 am, if I get a really late flight home. I bet for you the sleep is better away sometimes, huh? For me, it’s not, but I’m used to that!

  7. I’m TERRIFIED of landing. I can do take-off and the flight…but landing is ridiculous for me. (It may or may not be from the time that I flew for business, the pilot landed and didn’t stop quick enough before a turn and almost scraped the wings on the ground.) So every time I land, I sweat my butt off.

  8. we are similar creatures! I love to keep things somewhat routine when I’m traveling – of course I’ll try new things and go out for meals, but I really love my morning breakfast/workout routine!

  9. I like to maintain a routine but it usually all falls to pieces on me! I hear ya on the needing to unpack thing, too – it drives me nuts having a bag sitting there, mocking me, wanting to be unpacked.

  10. I always have to clean the apartment before we go anywhere and immediately unpack and do laundry the second we return . I’m quite sure I would be mortified if things weren’t clean and someone broke in AND I love coming home to a clean home. Putting everything back in its place quickly keeps my mind at rest. Getting out of my routine while I’m traveling it is something I look forward too actually. I feel like I”m giving my brain a chance to relax.

Leave a Reply

