M’s quirks.

I’ve had a collection of quirks and funny things I love about M swirling in my mind and I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorites, as little snippets into who he is and the little things he does that makes me love him just so very much. (some other of my favorites about M can be found hereΒ and here!)

He tries so hard to be helpful in the kitchen. He offers to chop up veggies for dinner but then either a) chops up like, half an onion and two brussels sprouts (which, as a veggie hoarder, we know that will not be NEARLY enough for just *me* for dinner, let alone him!) or b) chops them up and half of it falls on the floor. Hello, messes and me don’t mix πŸ˜‰ OR, he will unload the dishwasher and forget he’s doing it and leave half the stuff on the counter (or still IN the dishwasher), or put everything in weird spots. cups where plates go, bowls where cups go, etc. Β (and he also loves to leave random cabinet doors open, which is a ‘new’ one for him. I swear I told him that Scott does it, my brother in law, and ever since, he’s started doing it!)

He is full of random information. Like, did you know if 1 wasp was in a fight with 8 bees, the wasp would wind? No? Me either. Apparently wasps have ‘armour’ that they can suffocate bees with. AND they don’t die when they sting! (note to self: stay away from wasps!!)

He can be very ‘formal’ with people. 9 times out of 10, when we hang with my sister Jess and Scott, he shakes Scott’s hand and says ‘hi Scott, how are you doing? it’s nice to see you again!’ and then goes to Jess and I swear, ALMOST shakes her hand too. Um, really? We hang out, like EVERY weekend together. This isn’t a hand-shaking, how-have-you-been kind of group. But it’s an endearing and polite quality that I also LOVE about him. It was probably actually one of the biggest things I fell in love with him for, actually…when he met my grandparents, he was so respectful, engaging and conversational, yet also very polite. *swoon*. I just crack up when he goes into that ‘mode’ in situations where he doesn’t need to (Samantha knows all about this one heehee!)

His ratio of meat and potatoes to vegetables is highly off. If it were up to him, he’d eat potatoes (and call them a vegetable, even though I call them a starch! technically a veggie, but not REALLY IMHO!) and meat or fish. Anytime he cooks dinner (and he’s a GOOD cook, mind you), he will (to my point above about chopping veggies!) literally saute a few mushrooms and onions and call that ‘enough.’ (he clearly still doesn’t realize my love affair with mounds of veggies – at least 2/3 of my plate, to meat and potato ratio!).

His love of peanut butter rivals mine AND Jess’ combined. Seriously. We go through at LEAST one jar per week of peanut butter (with the amount of oatmeal I make for both of us, plus the amount he dumps into his protein shakes, it’s alarming!).

He loves the History Channel. Dude. G-e-e-k. Really? πŸ˜‰

He can’t sit still. He honestly does not know what to do with himself now that his dissertation is over. He used to not be able to sleep because he’d be thinking of his paper, or his patients’ from the work day, but now, he beats himself up silently for not ‘doing’ anything after work. (it’s been all of what, a week?!) His next projects in mind? Writing a book (swoon, love that he writes!), blogging more, and working on his semi-defunct web site.

He is, by far, the funniest man I have ever met. And we laugh at the most inane things, and always at the most random times. Like, in the shower (because yes – TMI – but we shower together just about every day. Helps that we have a huge garden-style tub, so there’s lots of room in there! It’s sort of our ‘us time’ each morning before we start our workdays, where we chat, laugh and cuddle), we have had some of the most hilarious conversations I have ever heard.

He tells me he loves me, that I am beautiful, and that he is the luckiest man alive just about every day. Enough said. This is a quirk that will.never.get.old. ❀

~~

This was a really fun and special post for me…because sometimes, the collection of random thoughts and little things we love about our partners are some of the most important, yet seemingly innocuous things. I may very well have just fallen in love with him a little bit more, just by writing this (write one about your partner and you’ll see what I mean!). <–serious mush-ville alert, I realize. ❀

46 thoughts on “M’s quirks.

  1. OMG – too freaking funny on the formality. Really? And the veggies – Jason is sort of the same. Like I cook ALL of the kale, he’d try to cook half of it. It’s ok to cook all the veggies I swear it is. Of course, I tend to go just a tad overboard perhaps. Family trait – if 1 bunch is good 3 is even better! And I love how adoring he is of you. That’s so sweet and special.

    1. Yes, really! It’s actually very endearing and I love it about him, but I think it becomes so habitual that when he does it with family or friends, I can’t help but laugh! I totally agree with you – cook the whole damn thing of kale, not half! It’ll get eaten, don’t worry πŸ˜‰ I love the admiring and love too…it’s so special and it really never gets old πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. I have arguments with CBG ALLLLL the time about whether potatoes are a vegetable, too. I also vote “technically yes, but not REALLY”. πŸ˜‰

    Love this post! Can’t wait to shake M’s hand!! lol

  3. Ok first of all, don’t be dissin’ the History Channel or being a geek. Geeks rule. Period. πŸ˜‰

    Secondly, I love this. It also gives me an idea of what to expect when we meet in June. (Wheee!) He’d better hold on to his hat because we’re southern and we HUG!

    Also, I love shower time for cuddles too. *swoon*

    Can’t wait!

    1. I stand corrected – you’re right, geeks DO rule πŸ˜‰ And it occurred to me that this was a good primer for when we meet too!! yay!! Hug it up!! I can’t wait!! Shower time is the best ❀ πŸ™‚

  4. This really made me smile. I really wish everyone could be as lucky to have found such an amazing man. It is so fun how their quirks makes us happy.

    1. Aww! Thank you! So glad and SO SO agree. I feel so lucky and so blessed to have him in my life, even ‘little’ things like these? Are HUGE.

  5. OMG with the hand shaking, I’m laughing my butt off over here. I’m pretty sure the look on my face said “Dude, really. I don’t shake, I hug.”

    M is truly hilarious, both times that I’ve been lucky enough to hang out with all 4 of you guys together, he has cracked me up multiple times – he’s so random with the silly stuff he says, it’s an awesome quality.

    What is it with men and leaving cabinet/closet doors open? Argh, that gets me!

    1. Dude, I don’t shake, I hug! Reminds me of Chris Farley…didn’t he say that in a movie back in the day (man, I loved his movies!). M IS hilarious, isn’t he? He seriously cracks me up on a daily basis πŸ™‚ An awesome quality for sure…but not? the cabinet thing ;-P

  6. LOLOL I love everyone’s comments on this post almost as much as I love the post itself. OMG the cabinet doors – Scott does it EVERY SINGLE TIME he opens the cabinet. Always, always. I’m shocked I haven’t whacked my face on it yet. After all these years. LOL.

    How could you forget?? He’s the only person I have EVER MET that has a legit survival backpack. That he takes very, very, very seriously.

    1. Effing cabinet doors, man. They’ll do you in!! And WOW how did I forget the survival backpack!! That has actually come in handy on SEVERAL occasions, mind you. Hysterical!!

  7. Awe, what a sweetie! And he sounds as *dorky* as my husband with his history channel love and handshaking! Haha! πŸ™‚ I need to think of a list of Joe’s….he has a TON! And I love him for every one! ….except the fact that he puts his dirty clothes NEXT to the hamper instead if IN it….that one I will never understand/like!

    1. He is a sweetie, and absolutely the best, in every single way. Oh man, I totally forgot the dirty clothes thing. M piles his dirty socks next to the bed when he gets in. Eww πŸ˜‰

    1. Aww! does he?! I love it!! Can’t wait to meet him πŸ˜‰ That makes me already automatically like him even more than I already do! πŸ™‚

  8. Awh this was cute! He’ll be just fine if he comes around here wiith our meat and potatoe portions:0 Poor Hardscape would die of starvation at your place. And the big tub…would love!!Jealous!

  9. This is oh so sweet! It’s the little quirks about our significant others/friends in general that make the relationship that much better. It’s what make us unique after all, and I can see that you & M are an absolute perfect fit. So wonderful to look back on these little things we love about each other to laugh about & appreciate.

  10. This is such a cute idea!!! Your hubby sounds like an awesome guy – I esp like the kitchen comments =) After almost a yr of living in this apt, I still have to search for things if he was the one to put the clean dishes away. HAHA. The quirks are seriously the best part about loving someone – it’s what makes them special…=)

    1. He is an awesome guy!! I love him very much! Thank you for stopping in for a read!! I keep meaning to read yours too, it’s now officially in my reader πŸ™‚ And that is so funny about finding stuff in drawers, I do that too!

    1. Yes! he gets in my way even if he doesn’t mean to πŸ˜‰ He liked reading this one! at first, he thought ‘quirks’ was bad, but liked what I said πŸ™‚

  11. Hehehehe, this is cute!! I like this idea…might have to steal it. πŸ˜‰

    M sounds like H in a few ways…the compliments every day, he’s OBSESSED with meat and potatoes…and MUST have gravy on everything. I have to control him. lol H is also addicted to the History channel along with TruTV (pawn shop shows…really??). He is a really funny guy that always makes me laugh…we laughed in bed for a good 20 minutes over the fact that he swore I said “a calm push mint” when I said “accomplishment”…really, Herrick? lol And that turned into him making fun of his mother for her overuse of the word “grease” one time. Hehe. Herrick messes my kitchen up once a day. Nothing ever goes in the right place and when he tries making dinner? I have to help most of the time, because he doesn’t know where things are. Haha. (PS: We shower together, too. Not every day, but a lot. ;)) And he can’t sit still either. At all. On the phone, he paces back and forth, in and out of the house. He cannot do anything until he finishes something. If he’s not doing anything, I get to hear the whining. lol

    Bet the boys would get along great! πŸ™‚

    1. We WOULD get along great! We WILL! That is so funny, we talk about weird things like your ‘accomplishment’ one! that is so fun! Showering together is so fun and an intimate way to start the day together πŸ™‚

  12. OK now I’m in love with him too! Does he have a twin too? πŸ˜‰

    No? How about a brother/best friend who’s equally as awesome?

    Love seeing you this happy lady. I haven’t known you long but i have definitely read enough blog posts to see your amazing transformation!

    XO

  13. yessss! you have so met your match with M. I love hearing all of these quirks about him, as you know I love to share tidbits about Billy. πŸ™‚ we will all meet soon – before the end of the year for sure! I know it. πŸ™‚

    1. I totally have πŸ™‚ He’s the best! Just like you met your match with Billy! I LOVE the tidbits you share! More more!! And we DEFINITELY need to meet! It’ll be fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

