OATT: the travel edition.

Editor’s note: for an OATT 101, please visit my sister’s blog post who so eloquently defined all there is to overthinking syndrome…in other words, overthinking-all-the-time (OATT)!

There is a serious case of OATT going on up in here and it always a) amazes me given how often I do travel, how much of a stresscase I am leading into a trip and b) makes me realize how out of practice I am from the days (just around this time last year, in fact!) from chronic work traveling (like, twice a month trips to Cali, chronic!). 

First of all, I always get into stresscase mode the day I travel, especially if I am working a partial day and then traveling mid-afternoon (like today) because I a) always feel like I’m not fully packed (and hence, have to repack my bag at least twice to ensure I have in fact, packed everything – for a two day trip, mind you!) and b) rushed to cram in as much work as possible while also ensuring a workout, plenty of fluids and my most-missed meals have been enjoyed (read: oatmeal, chobani and a big ass salad or one of my favorite wraps crammed with turkey, sprouts, laughing cow and spinach). 

So you better believe I did all of these things today…and even taught a barre method class at 7 am (side note: I love teaching back to back classes two days in a row, makes me feel fresh and ready to go!). And enjoyed breakfast (OATMEAL!) with M (he works at 11 on Tuesdays, working in our favor for some extra time together!). And aforementioned wrap. And got work done. And re-packed.  And even put little sticky notes all over the house for M to find (one particular one in his laptop telling him to knock ’em dead tomorrow at his dissertation defense! Right next to the new David Yurman cufflinks I gave him at dinner last night. Making me feel less like the worst girlfriend in the world for being away when he defends!).

Dude. I am rambling up a storm over here. What’s with all the lists (a, b, c) and parentheticals?! <–and yes, I just said parenthetical, what of it?

(must be OATT)

moving on.

After OATT attack #1, enter even bigger OATT attack #2. 

What and where to eat tonight when I land in Chicago. See, I land at sort of a weird time. 7 pm CT (leaving at 5 pm ET today). It’s not dinner time here, and it’s past dinner time in my brain by the time I arrive (and get situated at my hotel, pushing 8 pm CT, and 9, ‘in my brain.’). So, what to eat? Do I grab something at the airport when I arrive? Do I bring something with me from the airport in Boston (that’s already a fail, since the terminal I am in – which I didn’t realize at the outset of this OATT – has NO food except for stupid snackie things)? Do I see what’s around my hotel when I get there?

I played each of these out in my head. Option A – meh, airport food, not a fan. Option B – see option A. But then what? What’s around my hotel?? Well, after doing a bazillion google searches, yelp searches and consulting pal Amber (who I get to meet tomorrow!!), I found a couple of possibilities. I got excited. But then realized that 2 of the 3 top contenders closed at 8 pm. How lame is that?! Hmmph. Now what?! I seriously went back and forth, google’d more places, walking distances etc. I still have aforementioned sushi places in mind, but now, I go back to my original (undocumented thought)…perhaps I’ll just keep it simple and order room service or Starbucks (which I realized after all this, is IN my hotel!!).

And save sushi for tomorrow night. Why tomorrow night? Because tomorrow night I am on my own at 5 once day one of the conference I’m going to ends. I have a few locals I may meet up with, but I am hedging a bit only because I may want to do something I still have yet to do on my travel bucket list. Eat dinner by myself. At a restaurant. So, of all the overthinking I am doing at this very moment, that is, quite possibly the only thing I pretty much maybe might know for sure.

Go, figure, right?

I hope you enjoyed this edition of OATT: the travel edition.

(I almost added in my OATTing about what workouts I want to do while I’m in Chicago, but this was getting long enough as it is and I am pretty sure ya’ll would think I am the queen overthinker if I went into THAT ping pong OATT case!! And let’s just say that there is spinning involved, running and MAYBE even a local barre studio!!)

25 thoughts on “OATT: the travel edition.

  1. Wow. I barely have time to think about what to wear most days…

    I will admit, though, because I get lightheaded if I don’t eat or headachey if I eat the wrong things, I do put a lot of effort into meal planning.

    Travel is definitely a challenge when it comes to meals, isn’t it? Hey, you just may have to sacrifice one good meal for tonight?

    Have a blast!

    1. Meal planning is so important, isn’t it?! I chose pretty well today, half planned, half by ear. Ended up with an energy bar on the flight and a salad with shrimp at my hotel. Sure, it could have arrived faster, but I’m fed now, that’s all that matters hehe!

  2. LOL. This is hilarious. I also love that you called yourself out for using parentheticals. I think that traveling brings out the OATT in all of us, especially around food, workouts and clothes. I hope that you get to enjoy a wonderful dinner alone tomorrow night! Have a good trip!!

    1. LOL! Glad you enjoyed it, and with all those parantheticals!! Traveling does bring out the OATT…and to think I forgot headphones!! I am sooo outta practice.

  3. Like I said, you make me feel normal. We’re planning our summer vacation and first and foremost on my mind is dinner the night we leave. Overnight flight and we depart at 6:30. Airport food isn’t an option and airplane food is disgusting so I am thinking about different sandwhiches that might pack welll (and go through security) as well as some raw veggies and what not. And I’ll probably want oatmeal on the plane in the morning (instead of whatever crap they call breakfast) so I’ll pack a baggie of that. But why not pack several baggies so I can have them throughout our trip? And some individual packets of nut butter as well, and maybe some freeze dried fruit? Also, some trail mix in case we are hungry in the middle of the night. Yes, I’ve got this all planned out and we leave July 3. I totally get it.

    1. YES! That is exactly the train of thought going through my brain today and this week! so funny. You have some good options planned btw, that is tough to plan around ,that flight sounds heinous!

  4. My head hurt reading that and then I laughed. Mainly because I stressed right with ya there:) I don’t put much thought into food unless I’m with people who like fast food. i.e. McDonalds or something I refuse to set foot in. My standby is always praying there is a Subway close. I think your (now even knowing) room service is the best bet after a long day. But I’m tellin ya, you could have had one more hopper flight and been here for supper:)Have somefun in Chicago and you are a great gf. How sweet of you to do those little things for M. I’m sure he appreciated it!! Now I’m the one rambling….

    1. LOL! I bet it stressed you out to read 😉 heehee! Funny, as I walked to a sushi place tonight ,there was a subway next door! had I know it was that close last night, I would have gone! I was just so tired by the time I got in, I wanted EASY…room service 😉 (and rambling is allowed! M loved the cuff links and notes!)

  5. That’s funny… but it’s Chicago!! Seriously, don’t eat at the airport. I don’t know… they have a Cheescake Factory, always delicious. Again it’s Chicago… pizza mmmm. So many good choices 🙂 Try to relax & have a good time!

  6. Oh. my. goodness. My head is spinning from this. I thought *I* overthought stuff? Phew. Honey, I love you, please calm the f down 😉

    Perhaps I should take you and your sis and give you some lessons. hehe. xoxo

      1. Hahaha! Sometimes we all need to do that, but that’s easier said than done when we’re in a mood, huh?

Leave a Reply

