When I grow up…I wanna be a barre n9ne instructor!!

…and guess what? I’m about to do just that!

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The news I’ve been dying to share but have kept under wraps until I’ve been able to share it…my sister Jess and I have just started officially training to become barre n9ne instructors. Just writing this puts a huge ass grin on my face. I think back to last May, when we won the barre n9ne studio 60 day challenge and opportunity to become spokespeople for the studio and I never in a million years would have imagined that we’d have come this far and that we’d both have such a huge opportunity like this ahead of us.

Needless to say, I am brimming with pride, happiness and determination to step into this role and make it me, through and through. I know this is a huge challenge and undertaking and will require me to devote my time and dedication (and letting go!) to capturing the essence of the barre n9ne look, feel and most importantly, signature class, barre n9ne method. It’s going to take me out of my comfort zone to say the least, but I’m ready. I’m ready to put myself out there, to learn, to hone, to make it my own. I’m ready to make Tanya and the community of instructors and clients proud, and to make them sweat (like whoa). And I’m ready to let my personality shine through, to tackle this with a positive energy, nothing fake, nothing forced, nothing ‘not’ me.

I say this last part because I think back to the instructor training we both went through two years ago for teaching Group Kick and the toughest part for me then, that I never grasped were two things: learning to cue two beats ahead of the next (highly choreographed move, I might add!) move while also putting some personality and spunk into it. I just could never break through that barrier. And I know there were a number of reasons for that, but most, I know it was the format of the style of class (highly choreographed, very , very specific cuing and rigid class format. If you were off a beat, you were off the entire track).

What’s so exciting and different about barre n9ne (among many, MANY things) is that while there is certainly a format and ‘formula’ for the class, there is a lot of ability to interchange things, to build on the base, and to continue to grow and develop the style of class to eventually be ‘mine’ but while still retaining the integrity of the barre n9ne method. As for cuing and direction? Sure, there is definitely a lot of instruction necessary to teach this class effectively and safely, but it is more relaxed in terms of timing and beats. It flows, it’s more conversational, less shouting out towards a huge room (like I was used to previously!) and more setting up the next move and then going through it.

Clearly, I could go on and on, and it’s only been one day of training with many days and hours to come, but there is no comparison to the training of past. This is a clean slate and wide open opportunity to be what I’ve always dreamt of being.

When I grow up, I wanna be a barre n9ne instructor…and today is that day.

50 thoughts on “When I grow up…I wanna be a barre n9ne instructor!!

    1. Thank you friend!! I am so excited and this really feels like the ‘second chance’ to do it right…Group Kick was the complete opposite of this. THIS. is me!

  1. I’m so excited for you! Your passion for barre n9ne really shows and it’s so awesome to have the opportunity to share that with others! Congratulations!

  2. Pingback: Sweet as…
  3. WEEEE! I am so incredibly excited for you – I am energized just reading this!! you are such an inspiration, and you will be a great instructor – a natural! 🙂 congratulations! XO

  4. I am so super excited for you!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to hear more about it and follow along in this journey. Congrats on making this exciting decision!

  5. AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! I am soooo proud of you guys… you sisters rock! I’m beaming of excitement for you : ) This is such great news and you’re going to love the journey. Can’t wait for more updates (and to take one of your classes! Congrats!

    1. aww! Thank you Rachel! You are so sweet and we are both so excited to get started! AND so excited that you can come to a class sometime!! DEFINITELY!

Leave a Reply

