Travel daydreaming

I grew up always wanting to travel, yet we never quite had much opportunity to do so, because, well, single parent home, three kids, mom back to school when we were in high school, and clearly there was never quite ‘extra’ funds to go on trips. However, I vividly recall the two trips we did take growing up: Disney when we were 6 (where I proceeded to throw up the entire trip, sad 6-year-old face!) and Niagra Falls with my grandparents when we were uh, maybe 12 or 13? I can’t remember exactly how old we were, but I do vividly recall from that trip, driving in a minivan to Niagra and getting carsick (sensing a theme here? LOL).

So, with that preamble, travel is something I have always wanted to do more of, and now that I can feasibly afford to travel a bit here and there, and take advantage of seeing new places just by nature of work travel, I thought I’d share a few of the spots I hope to hit this year (or in the next few!). With some budgeting and lots of planning ahead, I am excited at the prospect of some fun trips this year (and feel quite blessed and fortunate to be able to do so!).

Here are a few of my picks as I gaze out the window, with some light snow on the ground…travel daydreaming…

Playa del Carmen!! (for this girl’s wedding in October!!! I am thisclose to being able to book this trip and couldn’t be more excited to see Shannon get married. After meeting at Bloggers in Sin City in 2010, and becoming fast friends, I am thrilled to be able to see her, and hopefully some other bloggy besties too!!)

Chicago!

To cheer on my sister and a few other fabulous running bloggy besties as they run the Chicago Marathon! I have never been to Chicago for pleasure, only for work (and those trips have only bee 24 hours or so, not enough time to see a lick of the city!)

I have always wanted to see this!

Β Maine!

This is a given, obviously, and I guess it doesn’t truly count as travel, since it’s only 1.5 hours or so away. My plan is to go to Maine on every possible weekend I can this summer, take a week off and unplug for a week, and hopefully meet up with these two lovebirds!

Bliss. I ❀ the lake!

Tampa!

To visit one of my closest (yet farthest away!) friends, Amy and her husband Eric (who I am convinced shares a very similar brain to M, and I know they’d be fast friends!) and new son B. I haven’t visited since April 2010 and I reallyreallyreallyreally hope to spend a weekend there this spring.

Our yumtastic homemade sangria from that trip, two years ago.

Β Wild card: Vegas!

My sister Jess and BIL are possibly going in April…and if M’s thesis is done on April 14 as he is slated to be done by, this is a possibility. I think the four of us would have an epic time and so I am marking this as a wild card mini-trip, if it happens πŸ˜‰

Wild card: WINE COUNTRY quad-peat (that’s not even a word, whatever!)!

This is a huge wild card. I would love to go again, for the fourth year in a row (yea, that sounds excessive to some, perhaps, but every time I have gone, I have fallen in love with it all over again, and last year was so wonderful, to finally share it with M…the only thing missing was my sis Jess and BIL (sensing a theme here?!). I’ll file this under ‘never say never’

*love* this picture...

Now that I sit here looking at the places I hope to go this year…I really hope we can make all of these happen. Like I said, with some planning and budgeting ahead, I think it’s all achievable, it’s just a matter of timing. If it’s meant to be, it will be. And I feel so fortunate to be able to possibly hit up even one of these destinations this year.

I love to travel (even if my work trips are tiresome, it’s still an opportunity to see a new place and experience new foods, towns, and sights!)…what about you? Where are your spots you’d like to hit this year? Any of these?? πŸ™‚

31 thoughts on “Travel daydreaming

  1. Wheeeeeee! Maine!! Can’t wait!! lol

    I didn’t travel at all as a child, and only in very limited amounts as an adult (only locally). The cruise that CBG and I went on last year was my first trip anywhere, and now that we’ve done that, I definitely have a taste for it and want travel more.

    1. Yay Maine! (and just realized I didn’t link to you and CBG, just updated it!) – it will be epic! And I think the travel bug totally hits once you have an experience like you two did on that cruise, for sure! I think with enough planning and budgeting, most anything is possible, even if it takes awhile to actually happen, right?

  2. Seriously – just the SIGHT of the lake legit left a lump in my throat. It holds such a powerfully special place in my heart. SO many memories there and so much LOVE there – with gram and gramp especially. ❀

    I love your travel daydreams, particularly because I'm involved in at least half of them. πŸ˜‰

    1. Doesn’t it?! I miss it SO much, it almost hurts. Seriously. EVERY weekend we can, we are going! hope you’re in πŸ˜‰ And I laughed when I realized half these trips you are in πŸ˜‰ duh, of course.

  3. There’s something about Winter that always makes me want to start planning trips. I’m likely taking my annual trip to Scottsdale but I also spent all yesterday morning researching trips to Sydney and New Zealand.

  4. YAY!! Sooooclooose:) I love Chicago and have pictures with that weird thing:) You know, that is an easy cheap pop over flight for me…just sayin:) Im going with the fact that Mexico will be the best trip…not sure why I think that:)

    1. soooo close! I can’t wait! And Chicago, that is a quick flight for you! if I wasn’t seeing you a few weeks later, I’d petition for you to join us!! πŸ™‚

  5. Ooooooh so much fun!

    Love that I’m going to be on one of these trips with you! I hope to fly with you guys if you and M and Jess and Scott are all flying together?

    You don’t get airplane sick, do you? πŸ˜‰

  6. Well, I’m hoping for either NYC or… I may scratch that and hit you all in Maine too. I thought we were heading to New Orleans for Mardi Gras but that was nixed. Boo. Austin will be great in June for my triathlon and Gentleman Jack has never been! Hooray!

    I’m with you. I love to go somewhere I’ve never been every year. So nice. I’m travel dreaming too…

    1. YES! Come to Maine and bring the man with you!! Austin in June…hmm maybe I can swing my work trip there for June so I can cheer you on!! When is it?!

  7. Oh, I loved dreaming about traveling while reading your descriptions. I am hoping to get into Grad school by the end of the year, so my travels this year will only extend to Cape Cod where we will camp so that I can save money. Pretty islands, I will see you in about 5 years after I am done with school. πŸ™‚

  8. What? Little Rock isn’t on your list???? LOL The Bean is really pretty cool. Love Chicago. I really would love to go to wine country of course, Italy, and pretty much any beach where it’s warm. Oh, and I get car sick too so I feel your pain there. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

