Blank.

I have at least 4 posts half-written and ready to go but none of them scream at me to post today. Yet I feel like writing. Does that ever happen to anyone else? So I figure I’ll throw down a few thoughts and updates and if this is boring as hell, feel free to bypass, but here’s what’s going on in my brain right now. Blank, yet so full of…stuff.

My next work trip is on Sunday. I feel like I just got settled back into the routine I ❀ so much, and it’s back to it. But after this, nothing scheduled (yet), though I imagine another trip may be in the works for late-Feb/early March. I am feeling especially anxious about this trip since it is my company’s annual sales kickoff, which means we’re cooped up in a hotel for 3-4 days, no rental cars, nada. (in other words, completely entrenched in meetings, dinners etc. with colleagues from all over the world). This also means complete out of comfort zone experience (similar to last year) as I have to mingle with people I don’t see very often, or at all, and I am not the best ‘mingler’ (sort of akin to networking, IMHO, or approaching new people/making new friends – both of which I am bad at!). But I am trying to focus on the positive, knowing that this year, I am not the newbie, and I do have some friends at work now (go me!).

(we won’t even talk about trying to fit in some workouts…that will come later!)

It is so nice to experience the transitions both of my sisters are in right now, knowing that it will mean more time together, and for them. For Jen, she just moved to our hometown, which is about 35 mins away from where I live now (vs. more than an hour before) and in visiting her yesterday, and a few emails last night, I am so excited to be able to see her and my niece far more regularly and vow to make that a reality with my work schedule as well (lunches with niece and sis during the week? Yes, please! tea and cupcake night with the sisters? yes, yes!). I can barely wrap my head around the fact that she is so much closer now. As for Jess, many of you read her blog and know she just got a new job, a job that allows her to work from home with some travel and one in-office day. After a job that had her commuting 3+ hours a DAY most times, this is a life changer. I am excited that she gets to experience this work/life balance like I do, and it makes me remember how blessed I feel to have a job that allows for remote working!

M is in the final stages of his dissertation. He presented his thesis project to his review board and got approval to get collegial approval yesterday. He was incredibly nervous, but he passed, as I know he would. And I am, of course, very proud. On April 14, he will present his thesis and know whether or not he graduates in May (if for any reason he does not, he can walk in May and graduate in the fall). Β And he will officially hold a PhD in nursing practice. How cool is that? (on top of being one of the first nurse practitioners in the area to be able to individually accept new patients…and I get to write the press release announcing it, I can’t wait!). Proud, proud, proud.

(there’s something about determination and drive that is so sexy).

Welp, I think I have blabbered on enough. Guess I had more cohesive things to say than I thought, huh? Happy Monday, friends.

27 thoughts on “Blank.

  1. Hey for feeling “blank” your post is pretty awesome – and no, not just because you wrote such cute things about me and Jen either πŸ˜‰ I have to say, I still haven’t wrapped my head around my own transition or Jen’s quite yet. It still feels sort of surreal. To have a much more balanced life, much more time to do the things that I love while doing a job that is SO much more fulfilling? Seems unreal to me. I feel incredibly blessed. Especially because I have two awesome sisters (and the most beautiful niece ever) to spend more time with now! xoxo

    PS. so proud of M!!

    1. It does feel surreal, doesn’t it?? But I am so happy for you and for Jen. It’s just awesome. Also very proud of M. He appreciated your texts too πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, I get that “blank” feeling all the time! πŸ™‚ Sometimes it’s nice just to let it flow like this. It sounds like you and your family are experiencing some awesome changes. I love being so close to my family, too. And that’s awesome that M is so close to earning his PhD. That’s a serious accomplishment!

    1. Letting it flow turned out an ok post, I guess! Sometimes that jumble of thoughts is just the best way to get it out there, as it flows. And M’s accomplishment is huge, I am very proud!

  3. Happy Monday, indeed. Looks like you have so many good things to be thankful about. And I’m thrilled for you. Trying to get back in the commenting habit. I’ve felt a bit overwhelmed lately. Please be patient with me. It isn’t lack of love but lack of time that prevents it.

    Hugs!

  4. Sounds like things are going so well for you right now – I love it!
    And yay for sisters being close!!!!!!!!! I hate that my sis lives 6 hours away…………

    1. Hotel workouts! DO SHARE! I’ll love you forever! (well, I already do!). And I love the visual of sitting down to a cuppa coffee…that’s totally what this post was like!

  5. Determination and drive IS sexy! Agreed!

    And as far as networking/mingling? Practice makes it far less scary. Take that from a big time networker (vs a year ago).

    Love to hear how awesome your sisterhood is. πŸ™‚

    1. Totally sexy πŸ˜‰ And you are right, practice makes it easier. I haven’t done a lot of it this year, admittedly, just in bits and spurts, thus the rustiness!

  6. I have so many draft posts waiting to go. I even have some finished ones which are ready to post if I get too busy with work and need a day off…and yet everyday I seem to wake up and have something to say.

    I am a fan of the random posts. Sometimes they are the best ones.

  7. I have days like this, too. Sometimes you just need to write about what is happening in your life and occupying your thoughts in the moment. Love that both of your sisters are in a transition that benefits how often you get to see each other. As for Jess, can’t imagine the 3-hour/day commute she used to have. Glad that’s in the past!

  8. Too funny, I was having one of those blank days too. I just didn’t want to hit publish. You describe it so well:) And congrats to M he is doing awesome!! I think you should celebrate this greatness in Mexico:)

Leave a Reply

