On the eve of Christmas…comparisons.

Every Christmas, I like to look back at the previous year’s Christmas-themed post to compare where I was then, to where I am now. It’s something I’ve done ever since I started blogging in February 2009, and with each year that passes, I am always amazed at how much has changed…and how much has stayed the same. If that makes sense.

And when I read my post from last Christmas, in many ways, I feel exactly the same.

Isabel.

She’s growing into such a little girl now. She is flourishing in every way, her personality is shining. She is a huge light in my life and I enjoy spending as much time as I can with her. To know my sister will be moving closer in less than two weeks is such a blessing. So, in that way, it will be different, but in such an incredible way.

M.

Last year, we were looking forward to spending our first Christmas together. This year, we are looking forward to spending our first Christmas living together. He is the most incredible man I have ever met, and I am always amazed at just how special he is, how loving, caring and driven he is…not to mention hysterically funny he is. He makes me believe in forever love. I don’t know if I would have been able to say that yet, this time last year. But now, this year, I am completely sure.

My family.

To be able to spend the next several days with my entire family is something I never want to take for granted. I am extremely fortunate to have the majority of my family within a two-hour radius. To imagine all of you that I know have families spread across the country, or the world, and not being able to spend this time together…I try to cherish it just a little bit more. I am again also very fortunate to have my (maternal) grandparents still in very good health. I thank God every day for that, and I am especially excited to spend Christmas Day with them.

Me.

I didn’t write about myself in my post last year on the eve of Christmas. But this year, I feel compelled to, because I just feel so damn good. Happy, healthy, and confident. I don’t know that I could ever pair three better words together. I am on the verge of my goal weight (which I found out last night, utterly floored by that!), I have the tools and willpower that I never had before to make this lifestyle change just that…a lifestyle change, and on top of the physical, I feel like I am in the exact right place in every aspect of my life, including my job, which I am now about a year into. This time last year, I had no idea what to expect. Wow, what a challenging year…but at the same time, one of the most rewarding I have ever had.

On the eve of Christmas…I am struck my comparisons. The new, the different, and the same. Merry Christmas (or happy holidays, whatever you may celebrate), I wish you all the very best of times…and just let it all sink in. I know I will be.

 

15 thoughts on “On the eve of Christmas…comparisons.

  1. I love that you wrote this! What a year you’ve had. It’s so great to see all the blessings in your life and how they’ve developed. I feel the same about my nieces – it’s incredible to watch them learn and grow year after year. I’m so happy for you, and I know you’re going to have an amazing 2012! Merry Christmas! 🙂

    1. Aww! Thank you so much Dorry! I had fun writing this and looking back at last year’s post. Nieces and nephews are the best, aren’t they? Merry Christmas and cheers to a fantastic 2012!!

  2. Love Love Love all of this. Especially Isabel, she is growing and loves her Auntie, it will be so fun to share her with you on a regular basis! Expect Auntie dates!

  3. what a year. so glad for all the happiness (and AMAZING, kick-ass fitness success, of which i am KILLER jealous!) you’ve found. cheers to 2012, which will have all that and more. hope you had a rock-star christmas, friend!

    1. Thanks girl!! I am happy with how 2011 is ending and even more excited at what 2012 is bound to bring us all…the promise is more, better, happier, right? XOXO!

  4. I do the same thing. It always amazes me the difference. Like WOAH fucking WOAH. Amazing the difference a year makes. It seems at this point in our lives we are changing sooo much. What does that tell you about where we were at in our marriages before? No good:) So happy you had a good Christmas!

Leave a Reply

