Anatomy of a good (outdoor!) run.

Last night, I went to bed and felt a little bit anxious about this morning’s planned #rundate with my sis, but as I wrote earlier this week, my goal is to do at least one (if not two!) outdoor runs this week and next. Then I tossed and turned and dreamed about this run, and in it, it was snowing, it was cold, it was windy, and I was scared. Obviously, this did not make me feel any better about getting up, bundling up, and running outside this morning. But after a brief text back-and-forth with Jess, we decided to go for it (Jess, to her credit, wanted ME to decide, and while I was thisclose to shelving the idea, M also encouraged me to go, and then I realized I really did *not* want to dreadmill it today after yesterday’s kick-ass intervals!).

And this, my friends, is the anatomy of a good (outdoor!) run. πŸ™‚ (hopefully this isn’t utterly boring or too dorky, and even if it is, that’s okay, I just want to cherish this run!)

We set out around 7:15 and it was about 38 degrees or so. Not too bad, and no wind *phew*

I was excited to show Jess one of the routes  M and I ran late-summer/early-fall when we moved, as it is one of the prettiest, nice flat (keyword: flat! for the most part) roads, huge houses, sprawling yards, and chose a 5 mile route for us. I piled on my new winter running gear, complete with my new I ❀ Sweat long-sleeved t-shirt, courtesy of Ali on the Run (YAY!), turtleneck top and warm running pants (seriously felt like I looked like a marshmallow however, all padded and puffy hehe) and Under Armour headband.

The first mile or so was pretty chilly, but we of course started warming up. I was actually warmer than Jess, I think, as she noticed the chill more than me (yay me! lol) at first. We approached one of the ‘rolling hills’ (really not that big but these types of hills are almost harder for me than big hills for some reason) and usually, I am tempted to stop and walk, but I didn’t, I didn’t even want to or feel the need to, and Β I was hopeful that this would continue the rest of our run.

And that it did. We ran, we paced each other, we talked, I told her stories about what M and I would talk about on our runs, showing each other the houses we loved most on these streets and would love to buy (but yeah, probably need a million bucks, and that, my friends, we do not have. Shocker, I know. LOL). And the run just went. I kind of forgot I was running. And that NEVER happens. EVER.

EVER.

We rounded the corner and hit the second of the ‘rolling hills’ that I usually do actually walk part of, because it’s at that point that my lungs start to burn. But I didn’t want to stop, because a) I knew Jess would be mad at me (LOL) and b) I knew I could do it, because by the time I was at the spot I usually stop, I was still running. (yay me! LOL)

The last 1.5 miles or so goes down a side road that I joke is one of the longest side roads ever (seriously, I always think of side roads as short, but the two we ran on in this route are 2.5 and 1.5 miles, respectively. Those aren’t side roads to me. Is that weird that I think that?!). It also has a small ‘rolling hill’ and that too we kept pace at and I never walked. Or wanted to. AGAIN. It was honestly the weirdest feeling. Because this truly never happens.Β 

But I was trusting myself. I felt calm. I felt good running next to my sis, since we don’t get to run together as often as we’d like. It felt like a much-needed run together for us, I felt like it was a bonding moment. Because she was experiencing one of the best outdoor runs I have probably ever had.Β 

And she kept totally mum about it until we finished the route. And then she remarked at how good that run was for me. And until she said that, I honestly didn’t think too much of it. Until she started ticking things off that ‘worked.’ My breathing. Probably the best I’ve had. Ever. AND in cold weather? Seriously?? My pace. Faster. I kept up with her better (even if she may have run a little slower than her normal). We talked! I TALKED. I never talk. I may laugh or nod or say ‘yeah’ here and there, but she usually talks and I listen. Because I am always too out of breathe or too focused on making sure I don’t get out of breathe, that I don’t talk.

And then she made me do a farklet. Bully.

πŸ˜‰

Honestly. I have never felt better about a run than this one…in these conditions, I thought I would struggle. It was challenging but it was not a struggle. This run-challenge may be the best idea ever, and the best thing I could do for myself to gain the confidence I’ve lacked, the endurance I crave, and the ability I have felt I have struggled with. Today, was a success. And I couldn’t be happier. (thank you sis!!!)

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee <—severe run high!!

 

33 thoughts on “Anatomy of a good (outdoor!) run.

  1. YAY! Sounds like an awesome run! Just yesterday I bought myself some thermal long underwear to put on under my running pants to keep me warm on those early morning winter runs. I used to run all winter long when my girls were little….if I could be tough then, I can be tough now! It’s all about your mindset. Sounds like you’re in a good space right now. Enjoy it!

    1. Totally a mindset thing. My mind is so damn strong, I need to shut it off when it starts doubting. I won’t anymore, today was proof πŸ™‚ thank you! (and you are tough too!!)

  2. YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO SO SO PROUD OF YOU!!! See? This whole time I KNEW this was in you, you just had to figure that out for yourself. Hence why I didn’t say a word about the run itself until we were done. I didn’t want you getting all in your head on me halfway through. You ran like a CHAMP today!! So effing proud!! And um, for the record – there *will* be more farklets in your future, just you watch πŸ˜‰

    1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thank you sis, I am so glad you didn’t say anything, because then I would start thinking about it. I am glad we did this together, it was such a good experience. Even if we did effin farklets. πŸ˜‰ XOXO

  3. Congrats on a kick ass run to BOTH of you! File this run away in your mental rolodex, and take it out the next time you want to (1) skip a run or (2) stay inside. xoxoxo

  4. I used to think that I couldn’t talk when I ran. Then I ran (no pun intended) into some friends at a half marathon and they ran with me for 9 miles. They were talking, so I felt like I shouldn’t listen to music, which is what I normally do. So I talked too. And I realized that I could do it! And it did make the run go by faster.

  5. WAHOOOOO!!!! What an amazing run & today was a great day for it. Not too cold & not too sunny! I LOVE runs like that, especially when I master a part where I would normally walk or slow down. The last time I felt like that was Philly. I miss it!

  6. i totally clickled on the link for fartlek because i thought it was something funny, like a fart made from your mouth or something (perhaps its the 12 year old boy that lives inside me?)

    i was sorta disappointed it was a legitimate running term.

    but glad you had a good run!!

    1. LOL! you are so funny πŸ˜‰ I know, I never knew what the term meant either, it does sound sorta like a fart of some sort πŸ˜‰ but thank youuuu!

  7. Yay! I am a big talker when running–that’s pretty much my favorite part these days. My friends and I use running as our social time. It’s the BEST when you forget you’re running. I call that being on auto-pilot. Love it.

    1. I strive for auto pilot running!! Actually got that today! We talked a lot and had just a few times where we just ran. But it felt great. So happy!

  8. Love that you have someone to run with. Jealous of that, in fact! πŸ™‚

    I’m signing up to do a relay in a half marathon with a friend from work. That means 6 miles for me. That means… I have to learn to love running reallllllllly soon.

    Thanks for your inspiration!

  9. Great work πŸ™‚ Once, long ago when I still ran, I had a run like this. It wasn’t as long or anything, but I got to the end of it and realised I couldn’t remember a single step of my run because I’d been daydreaming the whole time. I didn’t think about how much it hurt or how out of breath I was. It was a magical feeling.

  10. Runs like that are pretty much the best thing ever! And I’m so happy for you! And to experience it with your sis makes it that much better. Now you’ve got me all excited for my run in the morning! xo

  11. You are officially that person that I see running in the cold in the mornings and I think “For the love, go back to your warm bed crazy person.” Or I could drive in my truck behind you cheering you on:) Glad it was awesome!

Leave a Reply

