My blog, going forward.

So, I’ve really been thinking about what I want to focus my blog on as we approach the one year blogoversary since I began this blog, ‘retiring’ my old two-year-old blog that preceded it (that focused entirely on my divorce, pre-during-after, and my dating leading up to meeting M. If you want to read that one, email me and I’ll send you a link…for those that are interested and weren’t aware of it!), and I think it’s time for a bit of a refresh, as I wrote a little about in this post.

I actually received a lot of really good feedback on that post (thank you!) that I wasn’t anticipating, and one piece stuck out in my mind most: pick three things to focus on that you want to write about, and stick to that. I love this rule of thumb. And honestly, I probably do this already, but I think more than anything, I want to adjust what I write about, how often I write, and areas I focus on.

So, without further ado, here’s my plan for my blog, going forward (for now!):

  • Focus on three areas: self-discovery and learnings, running/barre n9ne/fitness, and, my relationship with M.
  • …but, what I focus on around my relationship with M will become less frequent and probably less detailed and specific. I have felt of late that sometimes, conclusions are being drawn from those I know IRL about my relationship that they wouldn’t ‘know’ normally just because it’s stuff I don’t talk about in casual conversation. I write about it here because this is my outlet. And sometimes, getting unsolicited advice based on said assumptions and conclusions have been off-base, and I’d just rather avoid that. Besides, my relationship with M is at a point where I’d like to pull back a bit and keep some of that stuff between us and only us. Draw a line in the sand.
  • Write more mini-series and stories. I am really excited about this part. I’d like to explore my past a bit and draw conclusions on my upbringing and life experiences to who I am now. My first mini-series? Stories that define me. In areas like trust and self-esteem.

Part of this renewed blog focus may actually mean less posts, but that’s okay. I don’t need to blog every day, not by a long shot. I tend to blog regularly during the week, for the most part, and less on weekends. That will probably stay the same, but my posts may be just less frequent but actually be more in-depth and take me longer to put together. ย I love this community and how different some of what I write about it – some very intrinsic and personal, others lighter and more focused on my fitness and health goals and experiences. Things I am passionate about and stand behind. For me and nobody else!

Whatcha think? I guess when I re-read this, it’s really not that different than what I do now, but maybe just a little more refined.

42 thoughts on “My blog, going forward.

  1. i think this is an awesome progression for you and your blog to take. It feels like “home” the way you describe it, and I can’t wait to hear more…especially digging the mini-series part!

    1. It is my home, but I guess it’s also become a way for me to sort my feelings, which I don’t think I need as much anymore, ya know? So this feels right.

  2. Yay for finding your focus! I know how difficult it can get balancing talking about your relationship (my main blog is all about relationships). I backed off a LOT when it comes to my relationship for the same reasons. I can’t wait to read the mini-series you have planned.

  3. I love it. I can’t wait to keep reading.

    I think people forget that the blog is yours & solicit advice when really; all you are trying to do is vent your feelings. Sorry if I ever came across as judgy or too opinionated.

  4. LOVE this idea! Focus is good. Then people get an idea of what to come here for. (Whereas with me, I’m ALL over the place!)

    Excited to read more!

    Love ya.

  5. I think its so important to reflect on the direction of your blog. you know I’ve been doing that a lot lately, and I have to say it has made a huge difference. Even though things won’t be THAT much different in what I write, looking closely and laying it out certainly helps redefine purpose and motivations. Love this and glad you are finding a fit for YOU.

  6. I have a really good friend locally who says you can be PERSONAL without being PRIVATE. That there’s quite a difference between the two. I try to remember that on my own blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Your blog has always reflected you and it’s time to grow again. I think you’re making a smart decision about making it less about you and M … would be very challenging for both of you to have so much of you private life public. Looking forward to the first mini series.

    1. I agree, it is challenging to write about my relationship with M now, in as much detail as I have been, in the past, because I just don’t feel I *need* to anymore, I don’t necessarily need advice on what to do, what certain things mean etc. I will still write about us, but just less frequently and more on ‘big’ things. If that makes sense.

  8. I love this – it seems very natural for you.

    I’m trying to figure out the same thing for my blog. I find my posting to be quite sporadic, but I don’t always feel I have something worthy of posting – I could go back and tell you exactly which posts I wrote when I felt self-pressue to post something. So for now, only posts I’m excited to write. But I’d like to get something more consistent…this post gives me food for thought.

    1. It is natural. Just a subtle enough change. I am glad this gives you food for thought too! I love your blog and all of your posts, but maybe it’s worth thinking about this in terms of a 3-focus effort, too. Or even less than that. Whatever you write, I will read, I can say that ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. That’s a really good direction to take Jolene, I’ll be looking forward to reading more. I’ve been thinking too in the past few weeks about the past and I think in some ways it has prevented me in moving forward relationship wise and I’ve been stuck and as a result have met plenty of guys who haven’t been right for me. I’m going to see a cognitive behavioural therapist on Thursday and while I can’t change my past and upbringing, I think it will help me see my crazy family dynamics in a different way and hopefully help me move forward relationship wise.

    1. Oh I think that is a great idea, Susan. I am glad you are doing that because you deserve the best relationship ever…you are such a beautiful person in and out!!

  10. Sorry, I’ve been slack on the comments. I’ve been busy. I know you understand that. I have caught up, however, and I love your ‘new’ direction…or is it more of a new approach? Can’t wait to see how next year shapes up…for all of us. Looks like we’ll be welcoming a new life and you’ll be starting one. Marriage is definitely in your future. Congrats to you and M on finding each other and making it work so well.

    1. Thanks friend! Never apologize for not commenting or catching up ๐Ÿ˜‰ I like what you said…new approach more than anything. Agreed. And thank you…I feel blessed to have M in my life!

Leave a Reply

