Simplify your life.

Ever look around and think that somehow, life has gotten more complex, too busy and far too complicated?

I’m working hard on one of my ‘year of 32’ manifestos. Simplifying my life.

And what have I realized so far?

I’ve realized that being over-scheduled is far worse than having no plans.

I’ve realized that sometimes friendships blend into acquaintances…and that’s okay.

I’ve realized that this ‘friendship evolution’ means more time for the ones who truly care and who you truly care about.

I’ve realized that taking a step back, looking around and finding ways to pare back makes me happier than trying to fit it all in.

I’ve realized that one focused goal are better than five broad ones.

I’ve realized that drinking water is the better than water jazzed up with mystery ingredients that I cannot pronounce (and sparkling water feels ‘fancy!’)

I’ve realized that meals with 5 ingredients or less are almost always far more satisfying than complex ones.

I’ve realized that overthinking clutters my brain, messes with my mood and distracts me. The opposite? Frees me.

I’ve realized that running can be just that. Running. Nothing more. Not scary. Not a struggle. Simply a challenge. 

And I’ve realized that most importantly…less is always more.

What would you do to simplify your life?

35 thoughts on “Simplify your life.

  1. OMG – love this so much and totally agree with you on the first 3. The whole friendship thing took time for me. I lost a great friend so my reaction was to spend all of my effort pulling everyone close. But I was doing most of the work for the majority of the friendships. Not worth it like I had assumed. Sad, but true.

    I don’t even know where to begin on simplifying my life. As you know – I’m slightly Type A, a slight over-achiever. Just a tad 😉

    1. Glad you liked it! Yes, the first three are huge for me too. And simplifying…you can do it, I know you can. You already are in terms of your workouts, you are listening more to your body etc. That’s huge for us type A’ers!

  2. So true, especially about the friends turning into acquaintances thing. I think that just happens as you get older. I really struggled with this for a while (why doesn’t so-and-so call me anymore??), but I’ve come to terms with it.

    1. I struggled with it too, but now, I just feel like I am focused more on the friends that are as good to me as I am to them, and have more time for them. If that makes sense.

  3. Um. Every single one of these things is SO effing true. So simple, so duh, why didn’t I think of that sooner? things!

    Like you, I’m particularly focused on meaningful, solid friendships lately – those that I can count as sister-friends. Those friendships make me so much happier than the difficult ones. And that is far more important to me than the friends that make it difficult to stay close with. SO over that.

    PS. Love that you’re finally seeing how messed up your mood gets with all that damn overthinking. FINALLY, you see the light! YAY!! 🙂

    1. sister-friends. YES. And it does sound simple, some of this, but when you really get to it, and do them, life DOES start feeling simpler, doesn’t it? And better? I am loving my mood improvements too, it really is so much better.

  4. I’m all about the simplification lately. And the friends that fall off the face of the earth? Yeah, it happens. I’m an expert on that. But that’s life I suppose, it’s always evolving. I agree with your philosophy. Cut out all that’s unnecessary. Thoreau called it living “deep” to “suck out all the marrow of life.” If you reduce to only the most important things, you’ll find that your life has more meaning.

  5. Simplicity. It’s the only way to go, the best way to live. I wouldn’t give up my computer or indoor plumbing, but I love a simpler life. Enjoy. 32 is going to be your best year yet.

  6. I love the 5-ingredient rule! And yes, I’m all about simplification. Most recently I’ve been simplifying my relationships – letting go of the ones with unncessary drama and baggage and learning how to appreciate the ones that are so much nurturing for the soul.

  7. I love this post. I’m horrible at keeping my life simplified. I wish I could do it and have it stick … usually I have to wait until I’m completely out of balance and go back and fix it! UGH! I love the friendship one — it truly is OK

    1. Yes, it’s when we DO NOT have balance that we go back and try and simplify to gain it back. That’s what sort of started it for me too. And yes, friendships evolve, that’s normal and good! 🙂

  8. Yes! This is SO true. I’ve been learning recently that the most powerful word in the English language can be “no.” I’m always helping people with their problems and projects and volunteering, etc – but I’m starting to realize that I need to carve out time for myself, too.

  9. Great list! I might not include “Simplicity” in my manifesto, but I do need to find some balance so that my health doesn’t suffer.

    I’ve realized that being over-scheduled is far worse than having no plans. YES!!!

    I’ve realized that sometimes friendships blend into acquaintances…and that’s okay. I’m trying to figure out if it’s okay if this just happens or if something needs to be said when a close friend was involved. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

