The year of 32 manifesto.

**I’ve been hanging on to this post idea for quite awhile and what better way to look at the ‘year of 32’ than to create my manifesto for it? Thanks to my lovely friend over at cattails.me for this one. Her manifesto blew me out of the water. It’s beautiful!**

Dear Me:

Don’t let fear paralyze you. Let it propel you. In life, career, physical challenges. Use the fear to DO, not stagnate. This means learn to swim, kick that breathing-when-running problem, take a public speaking class and while you’re at it, go to a couple of social media conferences too. And with M? Don’t hide from the fear of the unknown, go out on a limb, explore each other, this is your chance to break out of that fear, too.

Stop worrying about what you cannot control and focus on what you can change, instead. Especially at work, when there is a lot you cannot change or control, just do your job and do it well, it’ll pay dividends. Step up your game where you can, and take initiative.

Stop thinking so much, and let your natural reaction take over once in awhile. This happens a lot in all areas of your life. Take running, for example. You think way too damn much. Just focus on one foot in front of the other, use the muscles in your legs to propel you forward, rather than use your breathing to exert you. It will take time. But know that it will happen.

Be patient, this isn’t a race. What you accomplish is on your timeline, not anyone else’s. Slow down, think first, react second. (but don’t overthink!) This isn’t ‘agency life’ anymore where you constantly have to do 5 things simultaneously. Focus on doing one thing great, not five things ‘okay.’

Stop comparing yourself, focus on you and you alone. This is a must. It is not healthy, it is not productive and it serves no purpose other than to tear yourself down mentally. See aforementioned ‘this isn’t a race’ – this is YOUR life, you are only ‘competing’ with you. Let’s keep it that way.

Choose your battles and invest in what matters to you, don’t keep a hand in everything because you feel obligated. This means not overbooking yourself, spreading yourself too thin among friends, family, M and yes, even yourself. Invest and prioritize on the things that are most important to you and add in the other plans, activities, must-do’s in where they fit, not where you feel you ‘should’ do them.

Be a good friend and conversely, keep only good friends in return in your company. There’s no sense stretching yourself across 25 different people when there may only be 5 of them that really matter to you. Don’t feel so obligated to do it all. Because when you do that, you end up neglecting those 5 friends the most.

Make time for you. Just because you work from home doesn’t mean that is time for you. Carve out an hour to read a book or sit and reflect. Even if M is home. Even if there are blogs you want to read or a show you want to watch. Reflect.

Maintain balance…but not for sake of balance. There’s a difference. You know it. Remember it.

Don’t worry so much about money, you can’t take it with you. And that’s just the honest truth. Pay your bills, save where you can, and that house you want? It’ll be yours, eventually. Enjoy the digs you have, they’re pretty fab, aren’t they?

Smile more, worry less. This goes along with the whole overthinking and patience thing too.

Own your mind, body and soul, be proud of who you are and what you’ve accomplished. Period.

What’s on your manifesto? This was a really helpful one for me to really think about and dig into as I move ahead into the next year (and phase) of my life. I seriously encourage you all to give it a try (and read my favorite manifesto believe, love every word!). 

~~

Have a wonderful weekend, friends. I’m going to thoroughly enjoy the rest of ‘jobo and M’s birthday weekend celebration’ before heading off to Costa Mesa on Sunday. Cheers!

24 thoughts on “The year of 32 manifesto.

  1. I LOVE this post, sis. Seriously. I think you can and will kick the crap out of year 32, for real. What I did notice about most of these manifesto items? That so many tie back to your overthinking tendencies. That brain of yours is so so so powerful! I would love to see you learn to let it go just a little bit more this year. It’ll change you – in a really good way, I think. A good kind of change, a needed change. Love you sis – can’t wait to see what 32 has in store for each of us!

    1. Thanks sis…and for being the one to point out that I really do overthink…everything. Sure, it’s funny to say I need overthinkers’ anonymous, but I really do, it is permeating into every area of my life!

    1. Aw! Friend, thank you. That means so much. I am so glad you can relate to these…not that I am surprised since I swear we are sisters from another life or something 😉

  2. I wish I was this wise at 32 (come to think of it I wish I was this wise at almost 39)!

    Happy Birthday to a very lovely and wonderful woman.

  3. I especially like the one about not focusing on what you cannot change at work. I focus on this a lot and it gets me in such a mood that I don’t do my job well at times.

  4. I love the one about friends. That is so true. If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the past little while, I would definitely love to have 5 close, true friends rather than 50 who I would only consider acquaintances. (And ahem, not to be a true shit disturber – you may be 32, but you’re actually living your 33rd year… ha ha! – don’t worry, I’m 35 but experiencing my 36th…..)

    1. Shit disturber!! What an awesome phrase 😉 I totally love having a small group of really good friends I trust, rather than a lot all spread out that I don’t. Totally agree.

Leave a Reply

