On 32.

32.

Turning 32 feels, for some reason, like a turning point, the next chapter for me.

And I’m not sure why.

Perhaps because it’s just about 3 years – THREE YEARS – since my divorce began and I am at a point in my life where that chapter of my life is so far removed from who I am today and who I am surrounded with. It’s one year further from that life-changing time for me.

Perhaps it’s because I am happier than I quite possibly have ever been before. In love, life, career and friendship.

Perhaps it’s because I honestly feel like I’m inching towards the best shape of my life. Not quite, but almost. And that feels incredible. Absolutely incredible.

And perhaps it’s because I – again – feel as though I am on the cusp of (more) great things?

Today, I ponder. What I’d like 32 to look like.

The sky’s the limit. And I’m ready.

51 thoughts on “On 32.

    1. I think you are probably very right on that one, Heather. Thank you for being such a fantastic friend ‘from afar’ this year! Can’t wait to meet up this winter (brrr!)!

  1. Wheeeeeee! That’s awesome!! Happy, Happy, HAPPY birthday, friend.

    For me, 33 was a Big Deal. I didn’t realize it at the time, but it was in my 33rd year that the wheels began in motion for some very big changes in my life. Changes that were terrifying and even confusing at the time, but now, looking back, I know were what brought me to where I am today, which I’m pretty happy about.

    So enjoy the changes to come. The sky’s the limit!! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! I’m nearing 32 as well and I believe it will be even better than 30 and 31, which I thought were pretty kick ass. I’m so happy to see you happy and to have read about all of your progress in the past few years, I feel like you and I have grown so much together!

    1. Aww! I agree, we have both come a long way, baby (okay that was corny, but true!), haven’t we? I love reading your progress too…and you are right, 30 and 31 were kick ass and I think 32 will trump them all!

  3. Happy HAPPY birthday!

    Let’s see… when I was 32… I was working full time in my high powered tech job and losing all interest. I wanted to be home with my 1 year old daughter. (I got my wish when I was laid off the following year.) Life felt good. I was happy. And boy, a lot changed in the next few years!! It all happened perfectly… just like it was supposed to. I just didn’t know it at the time.

    As Steve Jobs said, ” you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards”…

    Enjoy your birthday weekend and all the happiness coming your way!

    xxoo

    1. Thanks friend! I LOVE that Jobs quote. I have been watching some of his old videos today and while I was sad to hear of his passing, he leaves behind so much sage advice and inspiration for the rest of us. I love your story too, and how it all ended up fitting together the way it was meant to. Right on.

  4. I actually think 32 is going to be pretty awesome…31 was “eh” in my book, not awesome, not terrible, ya know? I think 32 is going to be a pretty amazing year, just have a good feeling about this one 🙂 love you sis!

    1. 31 was ‘eh’ for you? I thought it rocked..but then again, you had some other stumbling blocks that I didn’t. I do, however, think this year is going to ROCK! 🙂 YAY!

      1. Well yes, it wasn’t awesome, it just wasn’t great either. As you said, those stumbling blocks came into play. All for the greater good though, things are on the upswing in a big way! 🙂

  5. 32 is going to be super special. I can see it. You are in such a wonderful place. And you have such great things going on. Thrilled for you.

    Enjoy your weekend. It is just the beginning of a super special year.

    Mwah!

  6. Happppy Birthday! It’s so nice to read a post about turning a year older and being excited about it and not dreading it. Amazing what can happen when you realize you’re truly happy hey?

  7. Have a fabulous day! You deserve it. It’s cool to follow your story b/c you’re two years behind me in age and time since the divorce. It often makes me think about where I was two years ago. Enjoy your evening. 🙂

    1. wow, that is SO COOL! I didn’t realize that either. So, we’re sort of mirroring each other, but two years apart. Sorta kinda. I love it! Thank you!

  8. Happy Birthday to a woman I feel privleged to “know!” I’m so excited about the year you have ahead of you… 🙂 And I’m excited to read about it all!

Leave a Reply

