An open letter to my niece…one year (almost!) later.

Look. At. That. Face!

To my beautiful niece, Isabel Ann:

A year ago (almost…Sunday!), when you were born, I wrote you a letter. About how I would love you and cherish you and spend time with you and be the best auntie I could ever be.

And a year later? I don’t think I realized how much I could love you as much as I do. How much I look forward to our visits, and how much I love to kiss your cheek, play with you and spoil you rotten. And I don’t think I realized how much you would be the tie that unites us. Our family. Our sisterhood (with your mom, of course!). And how much you’d help me grow as a woman…because you’ve made me realize that I would love to be a mom one day. Just like my sister is…and if I can be even half the mom she is one day, I call that success, because your mom, well, she’s pretty incredible.

In this next year, my beautiful niece? I can’t wait to see you walk, run, and even learn to ride a bike. I can’t wait for you to say my name (however massacred it comes out at first!), and laugh, and joke, and grow that little personality of yours. I can’t wait for you to say ‘I love you’ and hug and cuddle and yes, even temper tantrum. I can’t wait to paint your little fingernails and go for a walk to get ice cream, or apple picking, or strawberry picking, or swimming in the lake next summer.

On Sunday, one year later, I can’t wait to see you. And our family. And celebrate ‘what a difference a year makes.’

I love you Isabel, now and always.

Love,

Auntie jobo

~~

Cheers to that friends, I feel blessed. I feel happy. I feel content.  I cannot wait to celebrate the beauty of a year into the life of my niece, carrying on the name and spirit of my beautiful Nonna, and the light that will carry her on forever.

As she grows, we can play. Just *look* at that face. Seriously?!

 

18 thoughts on “An open letter to my niece…one year (almost!) later.

Leave a Reply

