A word on progress.

(okay, a few words?)

It’s now been four months since I embarked on the barre n9ne challenge, and I finally feel as though I am right where I’m meant to be.

There is progress on all fronts.

Self-image?

Yeah, I am feeling good. Better than good. The best I have ever felt about myself. I am not scared of the scale anymore either. Sure, I still don’t want to see my number, but when I weighed in on Monday, I did want to see the progress. And ya know what? I am thisclose to my goal weight. (or so I estimate based on the latest loss!). AND up to 13.25 inches lost! Mentally? I am not comparing almost at all anymore. To anyone. My sister, my friends, others in class. I am just focusing on me and what my body is doing in the mirror. Because what matters to me is me, nobody else. What’s the sense in worrying how I think I fare against others so long as I am happy with me?

Approach to food?

Food. As. Fuel. Still absolutely stand by that statement and my post on it. Yes, I still log my food and yes I still plan ahead. But ya know what? I will always plan ahead. I may not always log my food specifically, but right now, it’s helping me stay on track and understand the appropriate amount of food I should be eating. I am almost to the point where I don’t think I need to officially track it, because a) my body has completely adjusted to this number and b) I know what’s in my food almost all of the time because I prepare it. I hardly eat out, and when I do, I pick healthy choices. I don’t gorge. I leave feeling satisfied but not stuffed. I don’t have – and don’t miss – that feeling of ‘oh my God, I am soooooo full’ anymore and I wake up feeling refreshed after a night out (yes, even after drinking some wine!) because I have balanced what I ate the day prior. It’s such a different and good feeling. It’s consistent and completely doable.

Running?

Quite simply, my running feels awesome. M and I have found some GREAT routes near our new digs and we have a 3, 4.5, 5, 6, 6.5 and 7 miler routes all intertwined with each other that we have been picking and choosing from on a daily basis (3-4 times a week with one run being a longer run). It’s not regimented. It’s not ‘training’ for anything. It’s just running to run. This weather has been ideal for me as well. Breathing has been good, pace has been good. No panics. I am hopeful it’ll continue as the weather cools, and I hope to run at least once a week outside in the winter (realistically will not run when there is tons of snow on the ground though!!) and dreadmill it at the gym next door a few times a week. (and yes, I still do have that 13.1 run do-over on my mind…it’ll happen, I promise)

barre n9ne?

I think this goes without saying…incredible. There are some exciting changes coming up soon and I can’t wait to share more. For now, my sis and I are loving every class we go to (we even had an epiphany the other night!) and are completely focused on what the class gives us. A ‘barre n9ne high’ is what I like to refer to it as 😉

All in all, I feel progress on all fronts of my loosely defined goals. I say loosely because yeah, I am focused on continuing the challenge and on running etc., but I don’t have a hard and fast goal in mind at the moment. And that feels pretty great. Loose goals all around is working for me right now.

What about you? Any progress you are embracing right now? On any front?

24 thoughts on “A word on progress.

  1. Sounds like you’re doing great on a whole lot of fronts! That’s great. 🙂

    As for me, I’ve been noticing a fair bit of progress in my life in terms of staying on top of things in my life…organizing, getting things done, not just in my personal life but in my work life, too. Such a great feeling!

    I’ve also been feeling like i’m making progress when it comes to embracing where I’m at right now…with my life, my LDR…just trying to make the most of the positives and not worry about the negatives so much. Life is good!

    1. What a great idea Heather!! Oct 28?? I think that is the same day as Sunshine’s half marathon (ahem, Sunshine, are you reading?!) too! That sounds like a winner to me 😉

  2. I love this sis. LOVE your confidence. Love that you are not comparing anymore and that you are finally feeling so comfy in that skin of yours, hot stuff 😉

    I also agree with Heather – do your do-over when Heather does her race right after mine. That would be so cool! 🙂

  3. Balance is a wonderful thing and it sounds like you have found it on all fronts!!! Well done 🙂

    My goal is to conquer my eating “issues”. I’ve slowly been making progress – it’s been a few months since I embarked on the journey of “food as fuel”. I can train for a race like it’s no one’s business, but I’ll never be the best runner I can be unless I’m properly fueled. Food has to be apart of the training plan. Yesterday was my first relapse, but I learned from it (the monster size burrito from Chipotle was not my friend for most of yesterday afternoon). It will be awhile before I forget my lunch at home again!

    Honestly, these blogs have helped, they (you) are inspiration that we can live and constantly work (because sometimes it is work) towards healthy, balanced, happy lives that are not dominated by the next meal.

    ps. on the 1/2 marathon challenge…my sis and I are doing the All Women and 1 Lucky Guy 1/2 in Newburyport on November 6th if you are interested 🙂

    1. Aw! Thanks! I am so glad this was helpful for you as well. I am glad you are learning as you go on your ‘food as fuel’ journey too. It does take awhile to stick and once you have a relapse, as you say, you realize you don’t WANT to relapse to that. Ya know?

  4. this makes me SO happy to read! I can’t wait to see you in october!! (they say ppl can really notice change when you haven’t seen them for a long time!)

    this week has been CRAZY for me, but I am eating better! that is important!

    And dumb question, is it bar none or bar nine? i’ve been reading it as bar none…but maybe its bar nine and that would make sense bc of the 9…duh

    1. Aww! Thank you friend!! I can’t wait to see you either! I hope you can tell 😉 It’s hard for me to really notice, I mean, I DO, of course, but obviously I am looking every day 😉 I am glad you are eating better! And you look great too! And not a dumb Q! It is pronounced ‘barre nine’

  5. Very happy with how you’re settling in… to your new digs, with your new man, in your job, in your approach to food and exercise and in your new skin. Very proud of you!!

    I’m making the efforts to network more, including creating and handing out (YIKES) business cards I made promoting myself and a new side business. Now, to follow through and feel like I have what it takes!

  6. I love this, Jo. I’m so happy to be reading the assured posts these days…don’t you hate it when a friend is going through “a moment” where they’re not sure what’s going on, where they’re going, etc? This is exactly opposite, and I love it. I love seeing you happy and assured!

  7. Just read up on Food as Fuel. My body is so out of wack from all of the drugs over the past year. So over my current weight, and yet, the scale won’t budge. And, I not only love that quote, but the fact that YOU posted it :). xoxo

Leave a Reply

