An open letter to M…one year later.

**I shared this with M, before my flight to Denver this morning, along with a photo collage of our first year together with the words ‘home is where our story begins…’ written on it. Couldn’t be more true.**

Hi love,

I can still see you walking into the restaurant. With your favorite polo shirt tucked into your jeans, and a huge smile on your face. I was not only relieved but my heart skipped a beat when you walked through the door and greeted me with a ‘you look amazing’ comment. I think I was already sold at that point, not gonna lie. That or our 15 minute opening conversation on our favorite malbec’s, cab’s, shiraz’s and petit syrah’s, finally settling on a bottle of malbec. As we talked and talked and talked for nearly 3 hours, it was then that my mind wandered to what could be. It was then that I knew that this was the start of something truly special.

But it is now, one year later, that I believe you are truly the love of my life. The love that I have been waiting for.

You make me smile. You make me feel loved. You make me laugh uncontrollably. You make me feel wanted. And beautiful. And special.

But more than that, you make me want to be the best ‘me’ I can be.

To challenge myself, to challenge us, to challenge you. To reach further, because I believe in myself and I believe in you.

To be a good friend, and sister, and daughter, and aunt, and of course, girlfriend.

To lighten up, not stress so much and know that it will be okay, just by looking in your eyes or wrapping myself into a hug.

I love the way your eyes shine when you look at me, and the way you tell me you love me.

I love the way you give me the ‘annoyed’ face when I’m being ‘particular’ or silly or annoying (let’s face it, I can be!) but then laugh it off.

I love the way you roll with the punches, never get ruffled and always find a way. I clearly could learn from you on that.

I love the way you ‘get embarrassed’ for bad American Idol, SYTYCD or Food Network Star auditioners when they crash and burn.

I love that I am always learning something new about you, each and every day.

And last but not least, as much as I want to hate it, I love the way you eat slowly because it makes me sorta do the same. 🙂

Above all else, you’ve made me believe in true love…and marriage…and children. You would be an amazing father. Just as you are an amazing boyfriend, son, brother and friend.

Meeting you, and this past year together has made divorce worth it. Because divorce meant I would find you, the true love of my life. Just as that psychic told you two years ago that you would ‘meet and marry the love of your life within 5 years,’ I firmly believe that to be true.

I love you so much and can’t wait to see what’s in store for us as our journey unfolds into year two and beyond.

Love always,

Me.

37 thoughts on “An open letter to M…one year later.

  1. Aw! That made me cry. I’m so happy for you both. That is something to hold on to… the love, the happy, the collage AND the letter.

    Love to you both!

  2. Agree with T – when I read this, I totally teared up…it almost felt like I was reading your vows, they were that perfect, that touching, that FULL of love. So so so happy for you guys, cannot wait to see what this next year brings for you two!! Love you!

  3. Okay, just like the sappy ladies above, ;), I teared up, too. There really is nothing like meeting someone and discovering that things are MEANT TO BE. I’m sure getting divorced was really hard…I’ve been watching that stuff happen over the past two years with my parents. What I’ve learned, though, through my own experiences and through others’ (yours included!) is that we all have more than just one soul mate (I have a less cheesy definition of ‘soul mate’ than the movies/books make it sound). Best friends, sisters, and of course loves. Your ex was with you for a very long time, so we know he helped shape you in some way…but he also helped give you a gift. He gave you a freedom that you needed…and the chance to meet M. And M? Well, it’s more than obvious he was meant to come into your life. I LOVE that he does all of the above for you. I truly believe that the key to love is all the little stuff. The sparkly eyes. The silly faces. Patience. Etc. So happy for you Jo. And Happy Anniversary. ❤

    1. Aww! You win for best most insightful comment ever!! Totally agree on the soulmates thing too. I’ll always hold a place in my heart for my ex because we did have a long tome together and because of who we both are today. Better off. M makes me feel like the sky is the limit. All the time.

Leave a Reply

