Reflections…what a difference a year makes.

This Labor Day weekend, I’ve been doing a lot of reflecting.

This year vs. last.

Where I am now vs. last year.

Physically, mentally, emotionally.

And let me tell you, when I say ‘what a difference a year makes’ – it’s just utterly unreal how different my life looks now than it did then.

~~

When I reflect on the wedding I went to this weekend last year, just days before meeting M, and having a meltdown over going alone. If someone told me that within days of that wedding, I would meet the love of my life and within a year be living together, I would have laughed in their face.

When I sit down at my home office, 9 months into a job that I love, that challenges me, and that allows me to live a pretty flexible (not to mention financially stable) life.

When I slip on a pair of size 4 pants – SIZE 4 – and they fit like a glove (I have never in my life fit a size 4. Ever). A year ago, I was pushing two sizes bigger and not that there is anything wrong with a size 8, but the changes I’ve seen in my body since meeting Tanya and being blessed with the barre n9ne challenge has been nothing short of incredible.

When I realize that in the last year, I ran two half marathons. And while I am proclaiming myself ‘not a racer,’ I am damn proud of that achievement. And I will apply the ‘never say never’ to this proclamation…

When I realize that in two short weeks, my beautiful niece Isabel will be one year old. She’s walking! She’s forming words! She’s becoming a little girl.

And when I realize that more than ever, M and I are heading toward forever. Just as I was writing this? He sat next to me, held my hand and told me that he wants to spend the rest of his life with me. Those words make my heart leap and literally want to burst from my chest. Words that I never thought I’d be so happy to hear, words that I thought the ‘never’ in ‘never say never’ would stick.

~~

On this Labor Day weekend, I am eternally grateful.

For love, laughter, and family.

For grandparents that are in amazing health, sound mind and longlasting humor (the game of dominoes we played as a group – my sister, Scott, M, and grandparents was nothing short of epic. I just looked around and smiled. So happy to be able to spend such wonderful time with them. Trying to soak it in, as I hear sad news from a friend that her grandfather passed away this weekend, the day before her birthday.

~~

Today, I am reflecting. On the journey over the past year and looking forward to the next.

On this Labor Day weekend…what are you reflecting on? What makes your heart happy?

~~

And to Lindsay and those in Austin affected by the fires, my prayers are with you.

24 thoughts on “Reflections…what a difference a year makes.

    1. Really is amazing what a difference a year makes. I actually think it’s a great exercise to do…look back on the year at a random point and see what has changed. Bet it would be an eye opener for many!

  1. beautiful post! I LOVE reflecting and recognizing how much change…and GROWTH are possible in a year’s time. It’s the perfect time to realize we are capable of achieving so much, and we can make goals and dream BIG! I am so happy for you – you’ve had a truly incredible year, and I can’t wait to read more about the next one. 🙂 xo

  2. Girl! Wow! What a difference a year makes, seriously! This sounds silly but I feel like reading your blog I have seen you change! 🙂 BTW congrats on being a size 4! Woooooo!

  3. Oh friend I am so beyond happy for you. It is amazing what can happen in one year. It reminds us we have to continue to just have some faith. We get “there” in the end.

  4. Crazy what can happen in a year, no? Where you and M have gotten to and how you’ve grown is so awesome and unique and rare. I know you cherish it…just remember to always do so…even when the going gets tough. 🙂

    1. Totally crazy. And I agree, we have cultivated something truly beautiful, even when I get on his nerves or he gets on mine 😉 as long as we can laugh about it and shake it off, that’s all that matters!!

  5. This post makes my heart sing with joy for you sis – you are in SUCH an amazing and beautiful place right now. And I LOVE it so much for you. I especially love what M said to you about forever. He is a keeper. What a guy. Seriously.

  6. It really is amazing how quickly life can change!!! This post just gave me goosbumps. It’s nice to look back and see how much growth has occured in such a short time and how different decisions/paths lead us to where we are.

    I’ll never forget the white couch I bought just 5 days before I met my now husband and pooch…I hever thought I’d have a dog, so white was safe. Within 5 days we met, and within a year we were moving in, and my white couch took on a tint of off-white 😉

Leave a Reply

