Dream big, love big, live big.

I have this phrase posted on my wall in the living room (see the pictures here!) and when I walked by it this morning, I really thought about it. It really does encapsulate all that I strive for, ya know?

Dream big.

It’s been almost three years since my divorce began (and coming up on my two year divorce-sary on 9/11 in fact) and if you had asked me then if I knew what my ‘dream big’ life would like like then, I wouldn’t have been able to tell you. Not surprisingly.

But now? I feel like with each year that has passed, I have lived big even more than the previous year. In following my passion (running, barre n9ne, etc), in finding a job that inspires me, in realizing who my friends are…and simplifying beyond those that aren’t.

Love big.

I love big…in being an auntie to my beautiful niece Isabel, to fostering the closest bond I’ve ever had with my sisters, and just about most importantly? Learning to love my life as it is, sans love, just me. Alone.

…little did I know that that would come back to me in spades when I met M. And loving him and feeling loved back, with all of my heart and his? Well that just defines loving big, to me.

Live big.

Well, this goes without saying. I literally feel like I am living big in our new digs. I feel blessed and a wee bit spoiled and it’s been just about one week since the big move!  It feels like the fresh start to the next phase of our relationship that I was hoping for (despite that snafu the other night…). It feels like the step up from my previous place that I have been wanting. Compared to starting at ground zero three years ago after short selling my house and having pretty much nothing? Yeah, I guess you could say I feel I deserve this. I’ve worked for this.

I also think that the concept of ‘living big’ (which means something different to everyone!) is akin to living your best life, as much as possible. As Sunshine put it in a recent post, “The key to happiness isn’t living a problem-free life. It’s about being able to see the positive things amidst all of the other stuff.” I couldn’t possibly agree more. It’s seeing the good, even when there is a lot of not-so-good and we are feeling tested. I’ve been tested a lot. But now? I feel like it’s my time to do just this…

dream big. love big. live big.

 

Happy long weekend friends. It’s an upta camp with the fam weekend for me, and I couldn’t be happier about that.

 

22 thoughts on “Dream big, love big, live big.

  1. well said as always. (and by the way, i LOVE the fact that the graphic of your slogan that you chose has all those san francisco giants images in it – that’s the man’s favorite baseball team!)

    have a fantastic long weekend! cheers! 🙂

  2. This is such an amazing post – and I love the saying Dream Big, Love Big, Live Big. Excellent words to live by. I’m very touched by the comment about learning how to love your life as it is. I truly believe that the only way to be touched by the love of someone else is to love yourself first. While I haven’t been through the pain of a divorce, I have been in some VERY toxic relationships. It wasn’t until I started to love myself that I found the love of my husband!

    Enjoy the long weekend with a BIG smile on your face!

  3. I hope you have a great time.

    The start of my divorce also started almost 3 years ago and concluded in September 2 years ago (I don’t remember the exact date). Was I married to you?

Leave a Reply

