The move: the great uHaul meltdown

You’ve seen the pictures. You’ve seen the stats.

The big move is done. But there are stories. And one story in particular that deserves mention. I call it ‘the great uHaul meltdown.’

~~

I told M when we decided to move in together that I thought that this would be one time where we might fight, or he might see a different side to me than he’s used to. He thought I was being preposterous or exaggeratingย  on my hatred for moving and stress I put upon myself when it comes to logistics, packing, unpacking etc.

But I must say, there were definitely a few times where he saw my angry, pissed off Italian side come out. A side of myself I am proud of – in a way (more on why in a minute!) – but one that he hadn’t really seen.

Enter Friday uHaul meltdown.

Just as we were packing up from our one night in Maine (playfully referrred to as ‘escape from boxes!’), I got a text message from uHaul confirming the 10′ truck I reserved a few weeks ago. Reserved it for 7 am on Saturday, in the closest town possible (5 mins away). What do I get as my confirmation? A 3:30 pick-up of a 14′ truck in a town far far away – college suburb USA.

Um, no.

No effing way.

Not happening.

My words exactly. I rant and rave. I start freaking out, swearing left and right. Tell M we gotta go, we gotta get on the road rightnow so I can call these a-holes back and tell them they can’t eff me over.

He blinks at me. I think he may have been a little scared.

We say goodbye to my grandparents and get on the road. I immediately call uHaul, all huffy, pent up and ready to let ‘er rip. Already, the automated voice on the other end is annoying the shit out of me. All dippy happy joy-joy and I’m sitting here fuming, so pissed off that they are trying to screw me (because of course, it is a personal vendetta against me, right?).

Someone answers and I – with a healthy dose of ‘tude – explain the situation. Wrong truck, wrong time, wrong location. Fix. Now. Chick puts me on hold. More annoying happy joy-joy dippy voice. I’m thinking, okay, I am on hold for the next available operator? I thought I was on hold WITH an operator?

“Hello, uHaul, how may I help you?”

“Um, I was just on hold with someone – was it you or did I get dropped and have to repeat myself entirely?”

“Um, what can I help you with?”

*fuming* Repeating myself and my story AGAIN after getting dropped by the other uHaul chick is not making this any easier. I start dropped F-bombs effin’s and a few other choice words. M is extremely uncomfortable, gesturing at me, shaking his head, trying to get me to calm down.

Clearly, it’s not working.

As I continue to rant at this chick asking her what she can do for me, what truck CAN I have and WHEN can I get it that coincides with 7 am at the location of my choice?? She gives me the ole song and dance about how this is the first available truck/location (riiiight) and she only covers that region (south of me) and not the region I am in (north). She gives me the number of a more local office to try and help (and probably just wants to get the screaming lunatic off the phone!).

I hang up on her.

I’m crying. I’m yelling. I am quite frankly, filled with rage. It’s like all the stress and anxiety over the move comes tumbling out of my mouth in one giant FUCK YOU.

Yeah, I said it. And I said it a lot.

M refuses to let me call the next number when I dial and the hold music throws me into a tizzy again. I hand the phone to him.

And I have never seen a more calm, collected and EFFECTIVE phone call take place. Ever. He put on his ‘professional’ voice that I hear all the time when he is on call with patients, and goes in for the kill. But nicely. Very nicely. I almost want to hit him for being SO NICE.

But I can’t.

Because well, I would never do that. And because it worked. And because this is what I love about him. His calmness. His ability to work under pressure like no other. And not get rattled. Ever.

What did he get us? A 17′ foot truck at 7 am, at my chosen location. AND for the price of the 10′ truck that honestly would have been WAY too small and we would have needed two trips.

The great uHaul meltdown? Yeah, not successful. But it reminded me why I love this man so much. (not that I need a reminder) And it showed me that we can argue, or that I can – on occasion – lose my cool, and he’ll still love me. (just as I would him).

Okay, so maybe all those F-bombs weren’t necessary but I’d be lying if I said that it didn’t feel DAMN good to let that out.

(and a few years ago? I would NEVER have done that, because I never made the phone calls or handled the tough situations. I stepped back and ‘let’ my ex do it. I liked feeling empowered and not scared to speak my mind. That counts for something, right?)

~~

I also would be lying if I said I didn’t get snippy with M here and there throughout the move and unpacking. But I am glad it happened.

Why?

He took it in stride and gave it back to me when I needed it. Tough love as my sis would call it ๐Ÿ˜‰

I needed that.

It showed that we can ‘tiff’ and talk through it and figure it out.

We are already learning and growing.

And it’s only day two (give or take).

 

40 thoughts on “The move: the great uHaul meltdown

  1. “I almost want to hit him for being SO NICE.” Seriously LOL. It’s usually best that Jason takes on those sorts of situations b/c my hot-headed Italian side most definitely flares up. I do much better when I can sort it all out and send a calm, rational email or letter to a company. But in moments like this, I totally would have acted the same way! F-bombs may not be entirely appropriate but man they sure feel good.

        1. LOL! That is AWESOME! Does your sis go ‘Iacobacci’ on their ass too? And PS, I can NEVER spell your last name write when I do #FFs to you. Notice your name is always first in my #FF (well cuz you rock, so #1 it is!) since I just hit reply so your twitter handle comes up and then I can do it without spelling it wrong!

  2. I won’t lie. I was LMAO through this entire post.

    RIGHT ON, CUZ!!!!

    I’m the one who handled all the stuff when I was married. Right down to turning away door-to-door sales people. My husband could not say NO to save his life! And you think your meltdown is funny? You should have seen me, 6 months pregnant with my first child, CRAVING Chinese food like a maniac, STARVING and the delivery guy got lost on the way to my house. This AFTER I gave him point-to-point directions. My husband and I had been married for nearly 10 years and he still looked at me as if I lost my mind.

    Then there was the time I was in the hospital, post C-section, and the nurse blew off giving me pain meds til the next shift started. By the time the new nurse came in to check on me, I threw so many F bombs at her that I think she was thankful I was hooked up to an IV or I’d have gone MEDIEVAL on her.

    So, um, yeah. I can relate to the Italian temper.

    I have learned to handle things calmly now, believe it or not. I try to keep the F-bombs to myself unless they simply can’t be helped. In your situation with the stress you’ve felt lately, I say GOOD FOR YOU!

    1. LOL! So glad you laughed reading this. I sort of did too, in a wow, I really did this, didn’t I? way. I was sort of demonic, I think! Wow, your temper sounds EPIC back in the day. I think there is definitely something huge to be said for controlling the temper but sometimes, you JUST gotta get it out!

      1. Oh and what else? I think that we’re all capable of these meltdowns. I really think it takes one to be calm and the other to lose their shit in a relationship. Right? You said you “let” your ex be the heavy in your previous marriage but now that M is so calm, you’re falling into that role. I think one of the reasons I’m calmer now is because GJ can take things personally and react as you did in this scenario. Then again, GJ and I switch roles depending on the situation.

        I guarantee you that if M was losing it over something, you’d be as calm as can be. (Oh and this also works well in heavy arguments too. If you stay calm while your partner is yelling, they’ll come down and be calm too!)

  3. Wow! You and I must be cut from the same cloth because that is SOOOOO me you just described. I will rant and rave and “fuck you” to anyone and everyone in my way when I’m stressed. And of course S is so calm and logical. And for the record, U-Haul always pulls this shit. They did a last minute location switcheroo on us when I moved in January. S just dealt with it and picked it up,.but if I had been on it, you can rest assured no ass would be left unreamed!

    1. Haha! That is TOO funny. S and M (wow that sounds dirty…) are so similar, aren’t they? He is SO calm and collected ALL the time. Good thing, I guess, given his profession ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. oh, my LORD, u-haul. they screwed me over so freaking hard on one of my moves a few years back, to such an extent that i have never gone back. i’ve used budget ever since. and there is nothing wrong with melting down when there’s that much stress.

    ‘course, there is something to be said about the kill ’em with kindness voice. it’s second nature to us southern girls, and when deployed appropriately, it can SLAY people. it’s one of my favorite things to use. the man is fond of the phrase, “look, i know this is not your personal fault, but you are the one responsible for fixing it, so i’d appreciate it if you did just that.” it seems to turn the trick…

    1. DEF something to be said for killing with kindness. That’s usually how I am, honestly, but it was just the combo of everything that turned me into a lunatic! M definitely killed them with kindness and it TOTALLY worked.

  5. LOLOL I effing love this. Especially since he seemed just a wee bit scarred when we saw you guys that night, not too long after said “meltdown.” Almost like Jesus Christ, what the HELL did I get myself into with her?? She has crazy eyes!! Haha. But deep down, I knew he took it like a champ, even though I’m sure this new side of you is not one he’d like to see in the near future, at least not too often. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m also SO PROUD of him for showing you some tough love, I guess he took my “this is how to handle Jo when she gets ‘that’ way” advice to heart. hehe ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Haha, thought you’d like this little recap ๐Ÿ˜‰ Though let’s be honest…you would do the same thing ๐Ÿ˜‰ I learn all my moves from the best, after all ;-P And yes, M definitely listened to your ‘tough love’ comments!

  6. haha, I just about died reading this. I love that you wanted to hit him for being so nice! And I guarantee, there will be a day where he loses his cool and you step in and save the day with your calm demeanor. And he’ll be wowed. And you’ll understand in a new way how much of a partnership you’re in. And that’s such a good feeling, to know that you can be each other’s calm during a stressful time.

    1. Haha, glad you liked it Michele! I was in RARE form. But yes, you are right, there will come a time when it’s my turn to be the calm one. I’ll just wait for the day ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Ha! Thank you for not only making me laugh, but also for making me smile with how perfect you and M are for each other. It’s so lovely to be balanced out by another human being. We all have our little flaws. ๐Ÿ™‚

    (For the record, I DEFINITELY would have been you in that situation. ;))

    1. Glad you found it funny too ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yes, you are right, we do balance each other out pretty well, if I do so say myself! Just like you and your man!!

  8. Okay. Must be we are anger twinsies. Only Sam lets me do it. He loves watching me work. He gets a big thrill out of seeing me all assertive. I don’t usually swear or yell, but my sarcastic side takes over. (I save the swearing for once I’m off the phone. Afterall…the call may be monitored for customer service training purposes…)

    So glad to see you two getting on so well.

    And when can I expect you in NC? If not…we need to talk January cruise.

    1. Anger twinsies! I love it! NC…that would be great, as would a cruise, but I guess we’ll see what my work travel schedule is by then, it’s picking up steam fast!

  9. You did well with the move, I find it super stressful moving and it’s hard to keep the cool and be calm and relaxed at all times, especially with stuff that is out of our control and like me, I’ve zero patience for talking and getting nowhere to companies on the phone. Hope the two of you are settling in well and enjoying living together. It’s exciting.

    1. exactly. it’s uber stressful anyway, and to have something fall out of place just was the last thing I needed! We are settling in nicely, I am loving it!

  10. I just read this and laughed. Because your reaction was exactly how I would have reacted. I’m so glad it all worked out!

      1. So, I actually had one of these meltdowns last night because I got home and my kitchen faucet hadn’t been repaired (it broke on Tuesday, they were supposed to fix it yesterday, and did not show up). So I left a wonderful, f-bomb laden message on their machine last night. So. It probably won’t be fixed again today. I’m hoping my husband can touch base with them and sweet talk them. Hahahahaha.

Leave a Reply

