“Why do you want to run a half marathon?”

“Why do you want to run a half marathon?”

M posed this question to me on one of my particularly frustrating, struggling, feel-like-lead-want-to-panic-can’t-breathe runs about 5 weeks ago and I didn’t have a good answer to that question.

I thought about it and was at a loss for words.

“Why DO I want to run a half marathon?”

But now, as I have *finally* found that running groove that I was desperately seeking and questioning whether it would ever come back, questioning if I really WAS cut out to be a runner, and hell, WAS I even a runner at all…I know the answer.

Because I can.

Because I want to prove to myself that my body is capable, that my mind is capable, that my body will carry me every step of that 13.1 miles on Sunday.

And why else do I want to run a half marathon?

Because I AM a runner. Reading Tina’s post and Jess’s post today and nodding with every word they said, I sat back and thought,“‘huh. I’m a runner too, aren’t I??” Never thought I’d see the day where I’d say that and believe it (I’ve said it before but I didn’t really believe it).

And even though I struggled a bit on my last run before the half (4.5 miles, but was having a bit of an – ahem – issue needing to go to the bathroom, if you catch my drift. TMI, yes, but does that happen to anyone else?! M equates it to ‘running with a backpack on’ and well, that’s exactly what it feels like!!), it wasn’t that my legs weren’t carrying me or that I was struggling with my breathing, it was just that other ‘issue’ (though I admit to letting it get to me mentally, worrying about this happening on Sunday. I’ll squash that for Sunday though, I am determined!).

I am looking forward to crossing that finish line on Sunday (even if we’re in for a rainy forecast…) more than I ever thought I would.

Because I can. Because I am a runner.

Have you ever run a race of any length? Do you visualize the finish line as motivation? Have you ‘run a marathon’ of another kind (metaphorically speaking) and conquered it? Let’s call this ‘Share Thursday,’ shall we?

 

33 thoughts on ““Why do you want to run a half marathon?”

  1. I love reading your posts about the progress you’ve made. Since I started running last year I’ve struggled with it, but I did manage to work my way up to running 3 miles and a few times I even ran 5 miles. Since then, I’ve regressed. Monday night John and I ran and after walking/running 2 miles I quit. I couldn’t breathe and no matter how much I tried I just could not regulate my breaths, I was just gasping for air and my lungs were burning. Nothing went well that night. The run is my biggest struggle in triathlons and I told John last night that I am ready to quit running for good and just admit that I’m not a runner. I’m tired of every run feeling like I’m starting all over again.

    :: end rant.

    But yay, you! I’m envious of your progress and your confidence, you totally got this.

    1. I was EXACTLY where you are just a few months ago…seriously. I completely get what you are going through. Running is SO hard and so mental and so damn frustrating sometimes. I have faith in you though…if I can do it, you can πŸ™‚ Thank you for your vote of confidence in me though, too!!

  2. Girl you are TOTALLY a runner! πŸ™‚

    I have never run a marathon – heck I can’t even run! But, I equate my weight-loss journey with a marathon (not a sprint). Every time I want to give up, I think of this saying: “The race is long, and in the end, it’s only with yourself”. I’m not competing with anyone but me and only I can judge my own success.

  3. Obviously I’ve never run a race, but there have been so many other obstacles in my life that I have struggled to get over, and I can relate to this “need” that you have to prove to yourself that you can and that you are capable. I feel that way every day.

  4. Mmm… I am not a runner. Have heard about the “running with a backpack” problem, so apparently y’all aren’t alone there.

    But… I guess in the challenges I put up for myself (that aren’t marathons, dear lord), I generally don’t really think about it. I think about what I am doing to achieve my goal. I practice. And practice. That helps, I think. Feeling ready… but I rarely actually imagine reaching my goal… maybe I should. My yoga teacher told me to start visualizing my practice…

    Anyway. GOOD LUCK on Sunday!!!!!!

    1. Thank you Nikki, glad you knew what I meant by the ‘backpack!” Visualize the goal, visualize doing what you want to achieve…it will motivate you, promise πŸ™‚ And thank youuu!

  5. Good luck in the half! Well, you know I’ve run at least one metaphorical marathon. I’ve also run five physical marathons and a few halfs. Generally, there are porta-potties along the course, and YES, that gotta-go problem happens to everyone at some point in their running career. Maybe it’s psychological, but for me, it gets worse and worse the closer I get to home! πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t worry about it happening during the half–you just paid your dues!

    1. Wow, you’ve run that many FULL marathons too? I didn’t realize! That is amazing! Kudos to you! You’re right, it DOES get worse closer to home, oh MAN, does it! I hate stopping at porta-potties during races though, creeps me out for some reason, but if desperate, I will πŸ˜‰

  6. You know my story…3 fulls under my belt and 2, soon to be 3 halfs, too (I guess it’s really 6 if you count the first half of the full…)…I love the challenge. SO hard but SO worth it.

    My dream is to run an Ironman. I’m nuts. πŸ™‚

    1. Man, you did 3 fulls too?? Running heros I got here! Awesome. Ironman…that is nuts, but it does intrigue me! LOL though I guess I’d have to learn to swim…

  7. Yep. I wrote a post recently on the other blog about not really being a triathlete. It’s difficult to claim a title such as that, ya know? But I do know that I feel more and more like a triathlete with every finish line I lay claim to!

    I’m so excited for you on Sunday! You’ll be great! I can’t wait to hear how you conquered the half!

  8. Love it – and you are definitely a runner. I fought calling myself a runner too for so long. Didn’t feel like I was adequate enough to fit into that category of athletes. I ran my first half to prove that I could, as a major challenge to myself. I also ran it solo as proof that I can do some great things by myself when I put my mind to it.

    Jason has that issue with running in the morning. That’s why I often say he makes a pit stop and I keep going and we eventually meet back up. It doesn’t matter what he does or doesn’t do. I will say that I’ve read a lot about fueling pre-half. They say to start lowering the fiber amounts actually. May be something to consider….

    1. Yes! Running a half solo is tough, I give you SO much credit for that!! And fiber…that is a great suggestion actually. I have probably been eating more than my fair share of it πŸ˜‰

  9. you are dedicated to the cause, no doubt, and that is admirable as hell! πŸ™‚

    i am NOT a runner. i have bad knees and am ridiculously clumsy. but when i do set out to exercise, it’s generally a struggle. when i’m cranky and don’t want to carry on, i envision the man, who said to me after i lost 50 pounds (and before we were dating), “you looked good then. you look DAMN good now.”

    how’s THAT for inspiration? and he got nothing out of that comment except me being really happy.

  10. Pingback: Jump Around
  11. I remember running my second 5K race this past April…the same race I’d run the year before as my first ever…and I didn’t feel as wonderful about it as I did the first time. I remember it wasn’t because I couldn’t do it…I’d trained. I still did better on my time this year. What got ME was the bathroom issue. Haha. Bad food the night before maybe? All I know is this…what got me to the end was reminding myself that I was running faster even though I was breaking once in a while…and I pictured the finish line. I pictured my feet crossing it and my body floating through a big, pink breast cancer blow-up arch. Haha. It works.

    And yes…it is like wearing a backpack. LOL

Leave a Reply

