What it’s like to be a triplet: my perspective.

This is the third and final in my mini-series on what it’s like to be a triplet. I purposely did not read my sisters’ entries until I wrote my own, because I love to read our perspectives individually without ‘tainting’ my own perspective before I put it to paper (and not surprisingly,  our perspectives almost always align…I guess it’s a sister thang!).

When I think about what it’s like to be a triplet, I try to think of it from the perspective of someone who is NOT a triplet or who does NOT have siblings.

But I can’t.

Because if I wasn’t a triplet, sharing my life with my two sisters, I wouldn’t know who I am.

I am who I am because of my sisters, because of who we are when we are together, and even who we are when we are not together.

As we’ve grown up, our family has become more dispersed and less close, as a result. It’s made me realize that my sisters are my family more than anything else. More than just siblings, they are my support, my best friends and my confidants. There are times where I can gain so much perspective from both of them on different topics in a way that I never saw before, that surprise me to this day.

For example. When I took this job in January, I knew there would be a lot of travel, a lot of time where I’d be on my own. My sister Jen reminded me that our lives have paralleled in that way, because she had to face the same realities when she went to Univ. of Florida for her master’s degree. She lives alone for several years in Florida, far, far away from home. She traveled home quite a bit, but this was a time of test for her, where she really had to rely on herself to get through. She reminded me of this when I was really starting to struggle with this the first few months of my job. It made me see her in a different light, suddenly. She became my mentor, in a way, understanding, in very few words, exactly what I was feeling. It gave me a new sense of closeness to her and respect.

Another example? When I was going through divorce, I stayed at my sister Jess’s place overnight quite often. It was a special time for us and a time where I became even closer to my brother in law, Scott. But it was also a time where I learned so much from seeing my sister’s marriage in action. Their marriage was, and still is, my ideal for what marriage should look like. And as I’ve embarked on this journey of love myself, with M, I have learned so much from Jess and all that she has learned in seven years of marriage. It’s helped me better communicate with M, realize that little ‘fights’ aren’t bad, and that we should make relationship investments. The best part of this for me is that if I thought I was learning a lot after I got divorced watching my sister’s marriage in action, I am learning even more now that I am in my own relationship with M. She has helped push me where I need to be pushed and realize that communication makes or breaks a relationship.

I appreciate and love my sisters more than I ever though possible. We laugh, we have random conversations, we support and we love each other. Best friends. Sisters. There’s truly nothing like it and no way else to describe it except for…if I wasn’t a triplet, I wouldn’t know who I am.

~~

In closing, I wanted to share a few pictures of us with our beautiful niece Isabel, who as I have said many times before here, has truly united us together closer than ever, from the day she was born. I love looking back at these pictures, our first moments holding her, to some of today. She’s sprouting into an almost-one-year old before our very eyes.

I fell in love with Isabel the minute I held her, meeting her for the very first time.
Jess fell in love with her too, in that moment, look at her beaming smile!
As she grows, we can play. Just *look* at that face. Seriously?!
I love this picture so much for the quiet moment it depicts...she's a water baby just like her beautiful mama!

I hope you enjoyed this series, and each of our unique perspectives. It was so much fun to write and read each other’s posts and see the evolution of our sisterhood now, at 31, and how strong we are together.

28 thoughts on “What it’s like to be a triplet: my perspective.

  1. When Sarah was going through her divorce, that’s when we grew even closer in our adult relationship. She started staying with me more frequently too. I really enjoyed watching her finally come into her own to be honest. I do think that our lives are shaped in a huge part by our siblings. I think it’s so sad when someone says they aren’t close to their brother or sister.

    1. Exactly, Heather!! I think that was such a good experience for us to grow through together, my divorce. I’m sure it was awesome to see her go through it and grow and develop! Rewarding, in a sense. I think it’s sad when someone isn’t close to their sibling too.

  2. I loved reading this series! I get the feeling that even if you weren’t triplets, you’d still be pretty close. I think you are the perfect example of the kind of relationship sisters should be.

    1. Glad you liked it!! I loved writing it and reading my sister’s too! agree that we’d be close too, even if not triplets, just makes it more fun 🙂

  3. Aw sis, you made me cry (at work too, no less!). What you said about Jen acting as a mentor during the transition to the job with lots of travel was so awesome to read about – I sort of knew that to be the case, but as it’s laid out here, it’s clear she was really helpful (in a way only she could be!) in getting you through that transition. And to hear that you learn from me and my marriage? Feels like the hugest compliment on the earth. To this day, I wouldn’t trade that time we had together (feets!) for the world, we grew so much in our sisterhood during the time, same goes for when the little one was born and we all banded together. Unreal how much you both mean to me. love love love you guys! xoxo

    1. Aw, you’re going to make ME cry again reading your comment. I loved our time together when I was feeling pretty low and will never forget that sis. And I learn from you and Scott every single day. Legit. Love you both!

  4. My sister and I were really close during her first divorce when she lived with me for a little while. We’d never been close up to that point so that was a special time for me.

    Thanks again for doing these! Love them!

  5. OMG … dude I’m so dumb. I think you and maybe one of your sister’s comments on my blog too! And I use to be like, oh she changed her picture again. *Laugh* I never realized, even though I had read your sisters entries … Yes. I’m dumb.

    Anyhoo, let’s make this about you. Dude you’re a lucky girl, triplets! I am envious and happy for you all at the same time. 🙂 That bond with your sisters can only continue to grow!

    1. LOL! No worries!! You aren’t the only one who didn’t know!! It is so fun being a triplet, I must say. The bond does grow with each day!

  6. Awww sis, love love love this. Me a mentor? Pish posh 😉 just sharin’ some sisterly advice. Seriously though, you and Jess have been my rock over this last year and I am so greatful. I love that you love Isabel so much. She is one lucky girl. Tee hee that picture of us by the ocean, I didn’t realize you liked it! Fun memories xoxo sis, remember Wingearsheak beach?

    1. Yay, glad you do sis 🙂 And you ARE a mentor! Pish posh to that 😉 I am grateful for how strong we all are together too and for what a beautiful daughter you are raising. Love her! And you!

  7. I LOVE THIS POST! My sisters and I are super close, and became even closer when my oldest sister went through a divorce about 5 years ago. She’s now very happily remarried and pregnant with her 3rd child! 🙂 Seriously – sister relationships are the best, and I can only imagine the bond between triplets!

    1. Sister relationships ARE the best! And I didn’t know you had a sister that went through divorce too…so glad to hear how happy she is now too, that’s awesome. And how close you are together!

  8. It is amazing how your three posts had so many overlaps!!!! Obviously, I don’t know what it’s like to be a triplet, but I have TWO sisters who I am extremely close with and I can’t imagine living life without either of them. It is just a part of me. They are truly best friends for life, and two of the few people in the world that I can be 100% honest with, for better or for worse.

    1. Isn’t it?? So funny too, given we really didn’t read each other’s before writing our own. I am so glad you have such a support system with your sisters too. So important and like nothing else!

  9. I heart this so much. Isn’t it funny how when you’re growing up, you seek a lot of advice from people older than you with the experience. Suddenly, when you’re in your twenties and on…the people you turn to most are your sisters.

    And PS: I LOVE where you say that if you weren’t a triplet, you wouldn’t know who you are. I can totally relate when it comes to having sisters. (Not triplets, but we’re a trio!)

    1. Exactly! So funny how that happens, isn’t it? I am glad you can relate to the ‘not knowing who you are’ part – figured you might 🙂

  10. Loved, loved, lived reading this. I have triplet 4year old girls and more than anything I try to foster a love of family (one another) and cooperation. When one breaks off half their snack to give to another, my heart melts. I hope this sister bond lasts throughout their life, as yours has with your sisters. Ups and downs, in it together…

    1. aw! I am so glad you came across this post and that you loved it! So amazing, 4 year old triplets! sisters really are the best, we love our sisterhood and protect it pretty fiercely!

Leave a Reply

