In one month.

In one month…

M and I move in together.

I don’t move in with him.  And he doesn’t move in with me.

We move in together. Anew.

I use that distinction because we purposely decided to move in together in a new location, without any preconceived memories, habits or ideas (like, this is ‘my’ place).

In one month…

We merge our habits, our daily lives, the good, the bad, and (hopefully not too much of) the ugly.

I won’t lie and say that I don’t worry just slightly about things like our different um, cleaning styles. I even mentioned it to M the other night, because I know that my style (neat and tidy, always, always, always) is clearly not his. He is much more lackadaisical about it, laid-back, doesn’t let it bother him. While I, on the other hand, pack the INSTANT I get home from a trip, I clean dishes the INSTANT they are dirty, and put clothes away the INSTANT they are out of the dryer. If I don’t, I get irritable and feel disorganized (hmm…perhaps I have an issue far more than he does!)

I think this may be one of our biggest challenges from the get-go but if that is our biggest challenge, then heck, I think we’re doing pretty good, right?

In one month…

I begin to live and work in the same place 24/7.

This sounds obvious. And it is. But the difference is, while living separately, being at home all day working gets broken up by nights I stay with M. I think this will be a transition for me in that I will rebuild the habit I wanted to begin when I first started this job…getting out during the day, going to Starbucks or the Library to work, taking mini-breaks during the day to get me out and about. I think that will become even more important as we live together. But, at the same time, I know I will be incredibly happy and content living in our new digs (I admit to looking at the web site every few days and smiling…this place is gorgeous, and I feel very lucky to live somewhat luxuriously for awhile, while STILL saving etc!), so it will also be a challenge to make myself LEAVE (at least at first, right?!).

In one month…

Most importantly, in one month, we begin the next phase of our relationship, where we learn more, dig deeper, communicate further and fall more and more in love.

I cannot describe just how thrilled I am to finally – FINALLY – found someone that fits me (and me him) as well as M, and this step feels utterly natural, just shy of the one-year anniversay since we met, on September 8, 2010.

Let the journey begin.

(and the packing…ergh.)

35 thoughts on “In one month.

  1. Jobo! I am thrilled for you! And will be doing the same very soon. Except that I have to move in with him on accounta the three children :). I’m excited for you – you’ll both do great!
    Thanks for writing – I can identify with so much of what you share.

  2. Congrats! And I think it’s great that you will be both moving into a new place. S and I have talked occasionally about the future, and if there is any moving, it will be into his home. And that is a little intimidating, especially since *I* am the less organized one, and he is the tidy one. We have a lot further to go, however, before we get to that point, and it will not be this year. If at all next year, it will be late in the year.

    I am happy for you that the two of you seem to be moving forward towards a lovely life together.

    1. Thanks Misty! I think the cleaning factor is a little stressful too, more for me, than for M…he’s like, it’ll work out and be fine. So if he’s sure, then I guess I should be too, right? 😉 I am glad your path is somewhat similar. All in time, right?

  3. how exciting! cohabitation has been so good for my relationship with the man. we really have gotten closer as a result. i didn’t know it was possible, but it’s happening. i can see it when i look at him, and it warms my heart.

    yay for new beginnings! 🙂

    1. Yay! That makes me even more excited…. Since you are freshly going through it (blog twin!), knowing how great it has been warms MY heart!

    1. Thanks friend! Yeah, I know, I probably am way too rigid with my neat ways, partially since I’ve now lived alone for almost three years!

    1. Aw, thank you T! Glad to see you back (and I spy your latest post, which I must read!), and you are right, the move kinda sucks, but it’ll be worth it 🙂

  4. I am SO excited for you – I also think it’s a great idea to get a place that’s new for both of you so you can really make it yours. YAY!!

    I have to admit – we’ve had our share of growing pains over cleanliness. (Or, really, organization.) Ours is opposite though – Kyle is a bit OCD and I’m more lax. You make it work though!

    So happy for you. xx

    1. Thank you Penelope!! XO! Wow, I totally pegged you for more OCD and Kyle more lax. That’s funny. Maybe I’ll get your advice from the opposite perspective when the time comes 😉

  5. WEEEE just had a convo tonight about cleaning habits and how is well, are lacking, or at least slower than mine. Balance. Oh hell balance. We’ll go with that one. Yay for you two and cheers to the next step!!!

  6. Such good big stuff. So happy for you. Don’t worry if it takes a while to work out the kinks. Trust me, it’s worth all the effort. And you’ll find your happy medium.

  7. Congrats, love! Very exciting!

    Also – I think it’s great that you’re moving in *together*. I feel like that could be really important for most people, as opposed to someone “moving in”… 😀

    1. Thank you dear 🙂 You’re right, moving in TOGETHER feels like a really important aspect of it to us, rather than moving in to one of our current homes. I think it will be a nice fresh slate 🙂

  8. Good luck–just posted this on my facebook, and while it may show the utter childness of both parties–a good ole rock, paper, scissors fight can solve many issues 😉

  9. I am so excited for you too – can’t wait to break in the new digs with a fanfrickintastic party! I also can’t wait to see how this evolves your relationship even more. You are going to learn a TON more by being together under the same roof. I’m excited to watch it all unfold 🙂

    1. Thanks sis! I am so excited and can’t wait to show it off 🙂 I think this will be a fresh page in our book, perhaps tough at times, but worth every minute!

  10. You did this before with your ex. How did you deal with your neat freakishness then?

    This is exciting. There will be some adjustments and maybe bumps in the road, but ya’ll will be fine. Good luck!

  11. So happy for you and M. I know it’s a big step, but it’s a good one. I can relate on the messy/ neat thing. I am like M, and J is like you. We are polar opposites when it comes to organization/cleaning. In fact it is one bump in the road we’re working on, but I think you and M have what it takes to work through anything. I’m sure you’ll hit some other bumps in the road but honesty/communication is the key, and you two have it. Best wishes to you both on this new chapter in your lives.

    1. Thank you! Glad to see you around these parts again 😉 And yes, you are right, even with some bumps along the way, it’ll be worth it, we are strong and can handle it!

Leave a Reply

