What I did on my mini-lakation.

Maine never fails to amaze me in how much it can relax, soothe, and rejuvinate the soul. This weekend’s ‘lakation’ as @amber4miles dubbed it on Twitter (great moniker!) came through in spades, as usual.

So, what did I do on my mini-lakation?

…I sunned. As much as I possibly could dockside and floating in the lake on the best ‘floaties’ ever.

…(however), I lost my sunglasses. Sad face. They flipped off the back of my head and down they went, too fast for me to grab. Marc Jacobs no less…but fear not, they were a bargain a la Nordstrom Rack, so I can just get another pair, right? πŸ˜‰

…I ran 9 miles! My longest yet. I’m not gonna lie, it was wicked hahd, and I pushed and pushed but there were times I had to walk. And that’s okay. This felt like a very difficult run from mile one. (in hindsight, if the first mile sucks already, perhaps not the greatest idea to keep going on the 9 mile planned run, but with M’s support and pushing, we got it done together.

…We napped like zombies. See aforementioned 9 mile run. We were spent after that. Completely. It was actually good it ended up being cloudy, as we napped on the couch on and off, we read, relaxed and stretched our aching legs. Best place to recover post-run though, I must say.

…Drank lots of wine…and still fit it into my food log to boot (without starving myself!). Score for me?

…niece time at the lake! Isabel was adorable and she rocked the new one-shouldered jumper I got her from Old Navy. SO frickin cute.

…Got my ass kicked at monopoly (and um, finally realized why it’s called monopoly. Yes, I’m slow, folks. Srsly.)

…Played a mean game of dominoes with my grandparents, indoctrinating M into the tradition. And he kicked ass! My grandparents were questioning whether he really never played before and call rematch. Game on, grandparents, game on πŸ˜‰

…Drank a delicious Bloody Mary with Jess while Scott and M made it their mission to drink many, many beers. On the dock.

…became engrossed in ‘Mercy’ by Jodi Piccoult and vow never ever ever to be in a relationship or marriage that is 70/30 or even 60/40. It takes two to make it work, not one (if you read the book, you’ll understand what I’m talking about, a sidestory about a marriage that is definitely one-sided).

…enjoyed some loving, quiet, beautiful moments with M, as he became as relaxed as I’ve ever seen him, and seeing him settle into a place I love so much made my heart happy.

…didn’t wear a lick of makeup or do my hair at all. Um hello, lake hair is sexy, right? (as M said, when he called me beautiful and I scoffed – since I clearly cannot take compliments well – and said ‘the true test of a woman’s beauty is when they are most natural. you are beautiful’ *um, blush* I love this man).

…took some funny pictures...which I’ll actually post here too, because well, we know I’m not really that anonyomous anymore, right? And they are hysterical, some of them.

That’s about it. It was phenomenal. Can’t wait to go back in three days πŸ™‚

...the lake on Saturday evening, effects courtesy of Instagram
Saturday morning, I do believe, as we began 8 hours dockside...
the biggest Bloody Mary. Ever. Yum.
the cutest niece e-ver. She is such a water baby!
faux-halk!
'Normal' shot rocking the lake hair...
...and the pictures get funnier. This is hysterical!
and the funniest picture I think we've taken yet (was a hit on Facebook - LOL)
happy feet in the lake on Saturday evening...ahh bliss.
mini ghetto champagne bottles and monopoly? heck yes.

 

33 thoughts on “What I did on my mini-lakation.

    1. Thanks! Yes, we have been πŸ˜‰ I just need to make sure it’s going to be free. It’s on my list to confirm! I can already imagine that epic post trip recap post πŸ™‚

  1. Haha… Seriously, those photos of you and M are my favorite because you look so real and natural. Frame them!

    Also, I am a Monopoly pro… but if you want a real challenge, play with my BFF’s 12 year old. Seriously, the kid can’t lose.

    1. Haha, thanks friend. Maybe I will…for our new digs! πŸ™‚ Monopoly, I’m okay at it, but clearly not a pro. Wonder if there is a game we can play virtually…!

  2. I drank those mini bottles the other night! Love them, so fun. Isabel is getting cuter by the day and dude, vaca, love it. Glad you two had fun and shared all those great memories together.

    1. Haha, aren’t those mini bottles fun? Why not, right?? Isabel DOES get cuter by the day, I can’t get enough of her, or summer/vaca for that matter πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE the pics of you and M – they show your personalities and just how much FUN you two have together. Some FUN I can’t wait to share again this weekend at the laaaake. Woohoo!!!

    1. LOL! napping is SUCH a great activity, isn’t it? Feels so good after a good little mini nap, ready to take on the rest of the day! haha.

  4. Just catching up on your life (which seems to be going fantastically wonderful, so happy for you!) And this post (as Lakeside always is) is near (quite literally) and dear to my heart… sounds like it was a great ‘lakation’ <– Genius… lalalove the term and may have to borrow it. It's nice to see that M got the jist of 'upta camp' and was able to relax and enjoy (seems to me like reason #902 that you two are the epitome of FATE)… other things in this post that touched my ❀

    *Sunned – no better place on earth to do that and do it right!
    *Lost sunglasses – that lovely body of water also owns a beloved pair of my shades… and a set of truck keys (ugh!)
    *Drank lots of wine – what would 'upta camp' be without wine… *clink*
    *Bloody Mary's – those yummies add 'relax' to any kind of vacation. Did you use premix or a homemade recipe? (I'm in need of a good one)
    *Mercy – you've peaked my interest… I'll be stopping @ B&N on the way home for a copy.
    *No make-up, no hair doing – lovelovelove 'the way it should be'… mainely for that reason!

    Ahhhhh…. and to think… there's still another month left to summer!

    hugs & kisses

    1. Aw, thank you dear! Such a sweet comment, made me smile! The bloody Mary’s – just used spicy and hot V8, some horshradish and vodka. That’s it! Came out really good πŸ™‚ Definitely check out that book, or any book by Jodi Piccoult! they are SO GOOD! XO!

      1. Horshradish!!!! I ALWAYS forget the horshradish… I put everything but the Horshradish… second stop tonight is the grocery store for Horshradish…

    1. Thanks Naomi! Well, the motivation to do 9 was that we were at the lake and it would be good motivation to get it done and back by the dock πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

