What would I do, if I didn’t blog?

After I wrote my parallels post and started seeing the comments and exceptionally well thought out and relatable comments, I realized something.

What would I do…if I didn’t blog?

Seriously. I can’t think of what I DID when something was bothering me, or if I needed advice, or if I just wanted to document a moment, a milestone or big rock.

I’ve been blogging since February 2009 and while 2+ years is certainly a long time, I feel like there’s been a landslide or mindshift moment (or 50!) where I realize that this is where I belong. No matter what I write, who reads, who comments, if people comment, or disagree or applaud, this is my haven.

Before I started my (first) blog, (which was basically a few months after my divorce started in October 2008), as I’ve said before, I don’t think I was ever truly tested to the core like I was going through that time period in my life.Β  Honestly, my life before my divorce was really pretty damn smooth. So, in a way, I don’t think I would have even considered a blog where I pour out my feelings like I do here, because life then, looking back, just seemed easier.

Not that I would trade my life now for the world. Nope, not ever. I never want to go back. This is my life now, and it’s because of that time period that ultimately began shaping me and pushing me to be the me I am now…divorce happened for me, not to me.

Okay, that was a digression.

The point of my post is this…besides wondering what I did pre-blog and meeting all of you wonderful people, I sometimes wonder if my thought process on a day to day basis, the analysis of my feelings, motives, actions, relationship, workouts, running, and life in general would be as heightened as it is.

Does my blog make me more of an overthinker? Or does it just help me sort through my feelings better than just letting them marinate or fester on their own?

I used to think that sometimes my blog, and the feedback (good and constructive) I got, would make me just think too much and drive myself crazy.

But now, I just find so much value in different perspectives, experiences and support. Just the last two posts alone and all of your beautiful words….just stun me sometimes. So, thank you, for those that comment, for those that lurk, and for those that I feel have become part of my life, in a way.

So…what would I do, if I didn’t blog?

I don’t know. Because I can’t answer that question, because this is my haven.

24 thoughts on “What would I do, if I didn’t blog?

  1. I think there are some interesting things that happen when you start blogging. Certainly positives and negatives (or for me). I found myself over thinking, over analyzing food and workouts. Was my food “healthy enough”, were my workouts really good?, what about my running compared to others. I’ve gone through periods where I felt pressured. At the same time, there’s so much support, inspiration, friendship. Before blogging, I think I had more time to just relax. So that’s been the one downfall for me. I feel so compelled to do daily posts, to follow and comment, respond, etc. Sometimes I have to remind myself that I have a life I need to attend to first.

    1. I sort of got into that funk myself a few months ago, but now I have taken a step back and realized that there’s no finish line, there’s no need to read and comment on every blog I follow (tho I DO try!) and also not to post daily. I post mostly during the week and leave weekends to be…let them marinate, if you will πŸ˜‰ It is very easy to get into it becoming a chore though…so I hope that doesn’t happen to you! XO!

  2. I love this. I often wonder what I’d be like (if different) if I didn’t blog. Or what if I stopped blogging? I think I’d feel like a huge hole was missing from my day. I love catching up with my favorite blog friends, sharing inspiring words and a few giggles along the way. And being part of an awesome and beautiful blogging community. It’s truly like nothing else. It’s also hugely eye opening and a learning experience like you said – I feel like I’ve learned so much about ME by blogging and I wonder if I’d have those same learnings if I didn’t blog? I just don’t know. all I know is that I’m really proud of the little corner of the internet that’s all mine – to blog how I want to blog, and to make some awesome friends along the way. truly special.

    1. Exactly! I love it for what I have cultivated and how it has grown. It’s my little haven, no matter if people read or not. Sure, I love when people do, but that’s a side benefit, ya know?

  3. I have always journaled and had a private Live Journal – but I never truly understood how cool the world of blogging was until I started my public weight-loss blog. Suddenly people came out of the woodwork that I would have never known otherwise! Nevermind finding you and Jess and then my favorite exercise ever – barre n9ne!! πŸ™‚

  4. Yeah I swore I’d never have a blog and I’m not sure it’s my haven yet, but I do enjoy it…especially reading and connecting with other awesome people!! I’m definitely an overthinker so at least with a blog it makes me be honest with those thoughts and come to a conclusion versus just repeating over and over the same thoughts–which is what I did a lot before I had a blog!

  5. I don’t think this creates over-thinking, I think it creates a healthy awareness and thought process. For me, anyway.

    I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t blog, either. Actually, I don’t know what I did before I blogged!

    1. I honestly don’t know what I did BEFORE my blog either. So weird to think, right? I think sometimes it leads me to overthink my thought process, but most times, it helps the thought process.

  6. I am certainly glad that you blog! Blogging has become such a huge part of my life. I’ve met so many wonderful people through it. I feel like my bloggy friends know and understand about me than my real life friends do.

    1. And I am glad you blog!! I definitely feel that way too sometimes. Guess partially because we share so much of our inner thoughts here huh?

  7. What would WE do if you didn’t blog? You’ve always been one of my faves to read! πŸ™‚

  8. Haven is a good name for it. I feel the same…while I haven’t been writing as much I still go there to sort out my feelings and thoughts. And it is great to hear feedback that you can take or leave.

  9. Lucky for us, this is your haven and we can enter it!

    “Does my blog make me more of an overthinker? Or does it just help me sort through my feelings better than just letting them marinate or fester on their own?”

    The latter. Definitely. I think blogging also allows us to deal with criticism better. xoxo

Leave a Reply

