Of rulers, challenges, blessings and transformations.

Let’s start with the goods…where else, right?

My final totals for the barre n9ne 60-day challenge?

12.5 inches lost!!!

Total between my sister and me? 23.5 inches lost!!!

Nothing short of In-CREDIBLE.

Tonight’s measure-in (and weigh-in, which neither of us looked at…it’s just a number and I’d rather keep it that way for now, thankyouverymuch. More on that later.) was exhilerating…it felt like a long time coming, yet, at the same time, like we just started yesterday.

But the biggest difference for me now?

I actually like my body <–wow, did I just say that?

Me. The one who confessed to feeling like a fraud, for mentally tearing myself apart, for struggling continuously with body image and comparing myself (ok, this still happens, but a LOT less) to others and myself.

Tonight, in what I equate to a half marathon-esque TRIPLE Jess and I took (because why not? go big or go home, right??), where the physical toll was really wearing on me and I didn’t think I could do another leg lift, thigh dance or plie, my body just went. It kept going. Mind over matter. Suddenly, when I was feeling near the end of my physical capacity, it popped into my brain. This is what will get me through that half marathon…the mental drive, focus and determination to get.it.done.

I feel as though I have come full circle with this challenge. Yet, at the same time, it’s not over. Not by a long shot.

This challenge will continue for us. We are going to keep going, to push further and accomplish more. Not because we aren’t satisfied with our results, but because this challenge is for life, in a way. This is my way of life. The eating, the barre n9ne workouts, the running.I have learned so much in the last 60 days, I can’t even put it into words right now. I will. In several upcoming posts (and a guest post on Tanya’s blog), but I will close with this…

I feel blessed. I feel inspired. I feel a huge door of opportunity opening for us. You meet everyone for a reason. And I met Tanya at an incredibly crucial point in my life. The sky truly is the limit. I am absolutely glowing with happiness, pride, and excitement.

Thank you Tanya, for everything you have offered us, inspired us with and pushed us to achieve. To the next 30 days and beyond. Let’s DO this.

To Jess, thank you for being my companion in tackling an amazing challenge and opportunity for us. I wouldn’t have wanted to do it with anyone else. It has changed us in so many ways, and added a deeper level to our sisterhood. You are amazing, strong, and motivating. I am proud beyond belief.

I’ll end with one of my recent favorite quotes…couldn’t be more true.

Wow. We DID this.

36 thoughts on “Of rulers, challenges, blessings and transformations.

  1. You’re a rockstar, my friend. A true rockstar. That moment where you figured out that “this” is what’s going to get you through your half, it’s true…and it showed in your run this morning! I had a feeling last night that after you found out those totals that you’d have a great run today. I was right! Sometimes you just need a really great a-ha moment and some success to get you through to the level! Love you, friend! Congrats!!

    PS: As sparkyandslimming said…a WHOLE FOOT!

    1. Aww! Thank you!! So so true, sometimes you need that lightbulb moment and I felt it last night and this morning when I pushed through that run – something I didn’t plan for (7 miles) but unexpectedly found myself reaching for. Love you too, you are awesome!! Keep at it, you are inspiring ME just the same!! (a whole foot – so awesome!)

  2. Ridiculously proud. Of both of us, but particularly proud of you for two reasons. You are determined (hello blog title!) – determined to beat the body confidence issues that have brought you down lately (and have made me very very sad to see) AND you’re determined to keep on killin’ it both with barre n9ne and with the half marathon training. I am SO SO SO glad you had that aha moment in class last night which translated into a killer 7 miler today!! That is total and utter PROOF that you got this sis. You truly do. And I’m so excited to be along for the ride sis. love you!!

    1. Thank you sis. I am ridiculously proud of both of us. We have a whole open road ahead of us to keep going. This is such a blessing and opportunity for us, I just can’t say it enough. Today’s run gave me the confidence I need, I just need to channel it with every run moving forward!! XOXO.

  3. Congratulations! A whole foot and then some! That’s just totally awesome. And I love the new positive body image!

  4. That’s awesome!!! I love that you both knocked this one out of the park, but I really love that you’ve learned to like your body. You deserve that!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

