Of learning patience, lobster rolls, major tannage, and thunder, like whoa.

Maine was utter bliss this weekend. The weather was absolutely fan-frickin-tastic and it was wonderful to share Maine in all of its glory with M. Finally.

Sure, we didn’t get there at 5 like I wanted. Sure, M was running late at work and as hard as I tried not to get frustrated that we weren’t on the road until 5, it still showed.Β  I couldn’t mask it, nor did I want to or feel I should. I just said ‘yes, I am frustrated that you are here later than I thought. But it’s not your fault, nothing you could have done to change that, your job is your job and sometimes you end up running late.’

We drove in silence for a bit, as I shook off the annoyance (as did M, who was just as annoyed at the circuitous day he had, though hoping for a simpler one). Then M mentioned that he diagnosed a patient with leukemia this afternoon. Wow. All that frustration I was carrying over his being late? Melted away into me feeling like a complete ass. (not his intention for sharing that detail with me, but to share that his boss gave him kudos for the work he did diagnosing it). This is an area I continue to work on – patience – with his job and knowing that sometimes, it just has to take precedence.

Anyway.

Despite that rough start? The rest of the 24 hours in Maine was filled with the best lobster roll ever (at least since last summer! Heh. And of course I found a way to fit that sucker into my food log!), surprising my grandparents with the visit (the look on their faces was wonderful, so happy to see us), a quiet evening drinking a glass of wine with my sister and brother in law – complete with the loudest thunderclap I have ever heard. Swear to God, I had a minor heart attack), and major lake time on Saturday.

Tannage, like whoa.

…makes me happy, like whoa.

Unfortunately, we had to drive back Saturday afternoon for a wedding (another one!) and didn’t get to spend the entire weekend up there. However, the next two weekends? Maine. Completely. (with one being a four day weekend for M and me, mini vaca style!).

The best part about Maine? How slow time goes. That 24 hours felt like 48. Another great thing about Maine? Stress, worry, and the day-to-day mundane melt away into utter summer bliss.

Cheers friends…off to enjoy the rest of a beautiful, top 10 weather weekend with one hot man. πŸ˜‰

22 thoughts on “Of learning patience, lobster rolls, major tannage, and thunder, like whoa.

    1. I know, I should post some. I have refrained in the name of attempting to be anonymous but I’m so not good at that really πŸ˜‰

  1. Preeeetttty sure I mentioned meditation helps with patience, didn’t I? πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like a fabulous time and though I was already sold, the lobster rolls have me packing my bags now….

    1. Sigh. Yes, you have. Dammit. I need to listen to you more often πŸ˜‰ And yes, I think you need to pack your bags and come for a visit!! You would love it!

  2. I love Maine!!!Blueberry pie…long lazy days….lobsta (no rolls, I don’t do mayo, LOL).

    My BFF works at a cancer hospital in NYC – when I lament about my bad day, then hear that she lost a patient, diagnosed a kid, saw a friend ill….it makes me feel this . small. That said, she loves me (M loves you!) and we’re human. We’re allowed to be annoyed/have rough days etc. *hug*!

    1. Blueberry pie! YES! And my Gram makes the best. From scratch crust and all πŸ™‚ You’re right, sometimes his job vs. mine makes me feel small too, but at the same time, it’s still ‘just’ a job in a way, to him too, making him human and us too!

  3. Even though it was a short trip this weekend, I thought it was an awesome time, total bonding experience. M is “in it to win it” in my book, just sayin πŸ˜‰

  4. I get annoyed at things like that too. I wanted to go to the beach, and be there by 1:30. We didn’t leave until 3, and it was all Eric’s fault. I was FUMING. Eric knows to give me space and let me cool off, so he did just that, and we ended up having a great time at the beach. I’m glad you’re able to cool down too!
    and that you guys had a great time!

    1. Ugh! That is annoying! I think M knew too and thus why we listened to music for awhile. as much as our lateness in getting on the road couldn’t be helped, I couldn’t help but still be frustrated. I’m human!

  5. Once again, jealous. It is so good for the soul. So glad you are the type that makes time for the kind of stuff. Especially as a couple, it helps so much.

  6. doctors have crazy schedules don’t they? I don’t think it gets any better as they get into their career more either. But knowing the work they do is so live changing I guess it makes up for it huh? You make Maine sound awesome. I’ve never been.

    1. It is challenging, however, I should note that he does work a regular schedule, nothing drastic (he’s come a long way in the work/life balance thing since well before I’ve known him, so I hope I am not shortchanging what he’s accomplished at all!), it’s what he worries about when he isn’t working and when he isn’t doing schoolwork that is taking over balance-wise. That is the part I want him to find the right balance for him. FOR HIM. not me, for him. I think he can get there though.

  7. So glad you had fun! I’m only a teensy bit jealous of how often you will be going to Maine. That would be fantastic.

Leave a Reply

