Sharing my love affair with Maine…with M.

It’s here. Finally.

Our first trip up for some summer fun begins tonight and I couldn’t be more thrilled to finally be able to share the haven that is our ‘place on the lake’ (or ‘upta camp’ as I prefer to call it!) with M. Last summer, I remember thinking how wonderful it would be to share it with someone I love, and wanting that so badly. I even vividly recall the last long weekend in Maine, just before I met M (on September 8, 10 months ago today, speaking of!), and we were arranging our first date together. I drifted off to sleep with a smile on my face thinking that this man I was about to meet had all of the potential – and more – than I ever felt with any of the other guys I went out with before meeting him.

And he met – and exceeded – every single one of my expectations. And he still does. Sometimes I still want to pinch myself and think about this man that I met almost a year ago now, and how he was perfectly created for me (and I for him). I am blessed. We are blessed.

And Maine…is a blessing. To have this beautiful cottage set atop a hill overlooking my grandparents’ summer home, which sits right on the most beautiful lake I have ever seen. A mile or so across, a few miles long. Crystal clear water. Sandy bottom (no guck!). A jetski (that my grandfather to this day, drives more than any of the ‘kids’ he bought it for!). Quiet mornings. Water sparkling. Drifting around the lake in a floatie. Or on the dock with magazines, books and a Kindle. Wine afternoons. Throwback movie or game evenings. Not a care in the world. No errands, no bills, no anything.

Just utter bliss.

It’s funny how a place just an hour and a half away can feel like an entirely different world. I can’t wait to melt into it with M. And watch him (hopefully) melt into it too.

Cheers friends, have a beautiful weekend.

~~

And PS, I had a kick-ass run today. Legit. Felt like I could have run forever. Could it be…could I be back? More runs will tell, but that felt damn good. Thank you again for all of your support!

30 thoughts on “Sharing my love affair with Maine…with M.

  1. Ahh, this is awesome Jo and I’m so happy for you!

    Actually, it makes me wish a little that all of us blogger friends could share *real life* things like that together too. Someday, maybe. πŸ™‚

    Have a fantastic weekend with M, upta camp! lol

    1. Aw, thank you friend πŸ™‚ You are right, it DOES make me wish the same thing. Hope you have a fabulous weekend and – cough, cough – daaaate!

  2. Yes, I’m jealous. I WANNA GO!!!!!

    I’ll live vicariously… and I’ll be checking FB for pics to help me!

    Enjoy!

  3. Your place in Maine sounds heavenly. I’m not taking a vacation this summer (unless you count maternity leave, which is wonderful but is not exactly like chilling at the lake), and you’re making me jealous! Have a wonderful weekend!

    1. Thank you! It is wonderful, indeed and i try to enjoy it so much more since we are truly lucky and blessed to have such a place! hope you have a fabulous summer despite it being crazy at times πŸ™‚

  4. Have a great trip! I might have told you this before, but my mom used to own a camp in Maine and we went every summer when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

