What I love about long summer weekends.

(And any summer weekend, really!)

…the sun rising so early, gently nudging you to capture the mild morning before the heat truly hits, for a run, walk, or coffee on the patio.

…the beach. Hit it twice this weekend (raising my total beach trips so far to 6, I am totally going to kill that goal of 15, aren’t I?). <–and not being nearly as self conscious in my bikini as in years past (the juxtaposition between how I felt this weekend vs. even when I was in Jamaica, is incredible.)

…the surprise of the ocean being warm. I don’t think I’ve set foot in the ocean, let alone, almost all the way under (I would have, but have a weird thing about not wanting to get my hair all salty. Don’t ask.). It was glorious!

…the sun not going down until well past 8 pm. Considering those long winter months where there are barely 8-10 hours of daylight? Yeah, I will take full advantage of long summer days!

…a glass of prosecco on the beach. Never gets old. Ever. So good.

…a hot man next to me on said beach, with a smile on his face, and his hand in mine.

…knowing that this will be one of many weekends this summer that I will enjoy simply for what it is, and never take it for granted.

…being tan. Enough said.

…subsisting almost entirely on summer fruits all day (watermelon, nectarines, blueberries, plums, you name it…self professed fruit hoarder that I am!).

…realizing that even when I struggle when I run, in part because of the heat and humidity, that it is 100 times better than running in the snow, ice, and frigid temperatures (I just need to remember that a little more often!).

I have several posts in mind for this week, yet, I just couldn’t ignore the bliss of this weekend, and every summer weekend so far this year.

What do you love most about long summer weekends?

23 thoughts on “What I love about long summer weekends.

  1. Loved every single second of this weekend – a long weekend that actually felt long for once!! I especially loved the beach and cookout with you guys last night, was awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I bet it is SO hot there (if yesterday was wicked hot for us, can imagine what it was for you!). Splashing around is always fun too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m trying to remember the last time I spent a day at the beach. Here, in CO, the local reservoir is our closest option and that is just not the same!

    BTW – I think you’re being unfair on yourself with your progress grade – C- really?

    1. Yes, I definitely try NOT to take for granted that the beach is within walking distance! As for my self image progress report…yea, I am giving myself a C, I just have more work to do (maybe my posts don’t adequately reflect what’s in my brain!).

  3. Summer is just… delicious.

    I love getting up slow (as I wake up at 4:45am weekdays to bike to 6am yoga), going to the farmer’s market early, hitting the beach… doing nothing on my porch… drinking vodka with fresh-picked fruit in it… sleeping naked with all the windows open…

    Yum.

  4. This sounds perfect! Happy you have many more beach days ahead of you and love that you’re feeling better with respect to your body image. (You always looked great, but now you’re feeling great!)

    I love when the city is quiet (less traffic, less crowds and no reservations required). xoxo

Leave a Reply

