Of summer bucket lists.

As it *finally* feels like summer around these New England parts, and as today sort of officially (unofficially?) kicks off summer festivities in full swing, I thought I’d kick off my summer bucket list. I was remiss in posting one last summer and opted for a ‘backwards’ bucket list after the best summer I have ever had (hands down), and thought I’d capture a few thoughts on things I’d like to accomplish this summer (interspersed with some things I am already planning).

(how else am I going to live up to the best summer of all time, after all?)

  1. Go to an outdoor concert. I don’t even care who it is, but I’d love to go to a summer concert. Last fall, M and I went to see Rascal Flatts on one of the last mild evenings (late September, if I recall correctly, one of our first dates!) and I remember thinking how euphoric it felt, to be watching an amazing performance as sun set, arms around M, and warm summer air flitting about.
  2. Maine, Maine and more Maine. I went to Maine a lot last summer (for those of you that don’t know, my family has a cabin up there and my grandparents own a house on the same property. it’s on a lake that is as clear and clean as the ocean, a jetski and a boat. can’t go wrong in my book!) and I am going to squeeze in as many long weekends as possible this summer. Bliss.
  3. Dine ‘al fresco’ as often as possible. On my patio. In Maine. At any favorite hangout. (cue the Barking Crab this evening!). ‘Nuf said.
  4. Go to the Cape. M is hell-bent on getting me to Cape Cod (Hyannis area) this summer. I have only been to the Cape once (yes, I know, to those that live locally, that sounds weird, but given I have a fantastic place in Maine, why bother with the Cape!) but I think a weekend there with him and friends would be so much fun.
  5. Run a half marathon. August 14. Game. ON!
  6. Go to the beach…at least 15 times. (I’ve already gone 4 times, this should be cake, no?)
  7. Stomp grapes. (A friend of mine found a local winery that does grape stomping and since it won’t be harvest quite yet in wine country this fall when we go for our wine country vaca three-peat, this sounds like a blast!).
  8. Take a walk. Yes, you read that correctly. I don’t ever just ‘go for a walk.’ I run. I workout. I don’t ‘just’ take a walk. Sounds so simple, but I just want to do that more on warm summer evenings.
  9. Go blueberry picking (strawberry picking – check! Did that a few weeks ago!). In Maine. Best blueberries ever.
  10.  Roll down a hill. Without fear of spiders, tickets or, yes, getting dirty (this one courtesy of my sis, hehe). Oh, to be 12, again.

I feel like I could go on and on. And this list doesn’t even include things like continuing my barre n9ne challenge journey, rectifying my self-image issues (would be nice to kick those to the curb by summer’s end!), or, um, MOVING!

(nor does it include my newfound goal of getting ‘freshly pressed’ – courtesy of seeing one CBG scoring the honor earlier this week. Now I’ve somehow fixated on just how to make it happen. Yes, I’ve googled, researched, and am armed and ready! Haha.)

Happy holiday weekend (and Canada Day to my Canadian friends!) everyone. Be safe, be merry, and enjoy it – like whoa – will ya? Cheers.

33 thoughts on “Of summer bucket lists.

  1. LOVE this list!! I’m in for a weekend on the cape, for the record (not that you were inviting me LOL). I’m all for soaking as much summer fun into the next few months as is humanly possible. I’d also add to that list – I’d like to waterski again. Can we do that from the jetski I wonder??

  2. Great list! I have no desire to stomp grapes. My idea of picking blueberries is rifling through the packages at the grocery store. I’m with you on everything beach and water related, however. And whenever I consider running, I lie down on the couch until the moment passes.

    Have a great summer!

  3. You are so lucky to have a cabin in Maine! Two Lights State Park near Cape Elizabeth and Portland is my favorite place on the entire planet at this point!! I hope to go back soon!

  4. First of all, I want to come hang out with you in Maine. I know I said that last year… and I STILL do. I loved Maine when we visited there several years ago. We were in Falmouth? Anyway, sounds like the kids and I need to plan a vacay up there one of these summers, right? 🙂

    Grape stomping is so fun!!! Wish I could make it to Napa with you too!

    Proud of you for the half marathon. Waiting for you to get the balls for a tri. You know you wanna…. 😉

    Seriously… all of that just to say, I WANNA COME HANG OUT WITH YOU!

    xxoo

    1. OMG, T, hanging out with you in Maine would be freaking awesome. I just know you’d love it for all the same reasons I love it. Let’s do it! The long term bucket list? 🙂 I wish you could come to wine country too! We have room in the house too!! 🙂 I love this comment!! hehe! (and as for the tri…I DO, I REALLY do. I need to grow some!!)

  5. I know I shouldn’t brag about it, but doing #10 with Sunshine when we were in Puerto Rico back in March was one of the funnest things I’ve ever done. Just awesome silliness.

    And Sunshine and I are totally planning on finding a way to visit sometime late summer/early fall. It’s the plan, anyway…we’ll see how it goes.

    1. That’s SO not bragging 😉 I love that you guys did that! And I LOVE the visit/road trip idea…and totally think that would be SO AWESOME!

  6. Love the summer bucket list. I want to go berry picking and do an outdoor concert too. Those are so fun for summer. Oh – and dining al fresco is a must for summer! Although more late summer here because its just HOT right now.

    1. I guess that’s a good thing about New England…usually not unbearably hot to sit outside to eat! A nice novelty in the (SHORT!) summers here.

  7. I LOVE YOUR LIST! It’s so simple – go for walk – I love that! Your cabin sounds so lovely and I’m am jealous of all the beach time you’re getting – it really sounds like the perfect summer!

  8. Fab list! The Cape is soooo amazing! I heart it a million times over. (Don’t worry, I also love Maine!)

Leave a Reply

