So, about that trip with M.

It’s cancelled.

For none other than some work reasons, my trip to Cali for a long weekend with M is canceled.

Needless to say, I am bummed about it, moreso because rebooking it cost $100 in fees and another $100 in fees to rebook again for next week for M as he’s traveling to Vegas for a conference, plus another $300 as fares have gone up. Ouch (may get some reimbursement on that, however).  Besides the money aspect, I was looking forward to sharing what I do and where I am when I have to travel out for work.  There will be another opportunity in the future though, so I guess that’s all that matters, right?

And having this weekend opened up (and Monday/Tues as M will have those days off) means we can still make it special. Use the weekend for us, as we had intended (given the trip would have been our first solo trip together). Sky’s the limit, right? (Upta camp, perhaps??)

~~

Once I got over the trip cancellation, logistics-wise (canceling, rebooking etc), I actually started to feel some relief. Why? Because it won’t disrupt my Barre n9ne challenge for starters, which was something I feared, only because now that I am actually seeing good progress, I want to keep it going!! We are at the halfway mark and get some mid-point measuring tomorrow and I am actually for once excited to see what those measurements are. (who knew?!) Second, well, I am used to working from home for longer periods of time now, and I daresay I love it. I realize how fortunate I am to have this opportunity and have the flexibility that I do, and be able to get so much done. The work I can accomplish when I am here is amazing (when I am in the office, there are far more disruptions!).

The other relief I feel? My boss comes back on Monday!!! I couldn’t be happier or more relieved. Of course, I feel much more comfortable as the months have passed but by Monday, it will be three months since she left. It was originally supposed to be 8 weeks, and it turned into 12 (had I know it was 12 from the beginning, I think it would have been far more daunting!), but I am proud to have made it through and am looking forward to her return and the next phase of my job as we collaborate and continue to expand our roles together (since two are always better than one!).

~~

I won’t lie and say that while I am thrilled to be home next week, I am going to miss M like whoa. I am so used to being the one leaving for work trips and him being home, missing me. Of course, I miss him terribly when I am away, but at least I have more to distract me and no at-home reminders of his presence (since a hotel room is sorely lacking in character!).  I’m used to him being around. I am used to sleeping next to him. I am used to having him as my running partner at least 3-4 days a week.

I am spoiled by it. And I know it. But that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate it, or him, or all that we’ve built up together in the last nine months.

But what I won’t be is lonely. Because like I said in my post the other day, I am going to enjoy the last couple of months living on my own because it’s what I’ve grown to love over the past two-ish years.  I may whine though. Is that allowed?

~~

Phew, this turned into quite the post. Hopefully it made sense. It’s what’s rolling around in my brain at present.

16 thoughts on “So, about that trip with M.

  1. Personally, I’m selfishly glad you’ll be around – doing the 60 day challenge alone is FAR less fun. PS. I love that you aren’t worried about feeling “lonely” next week with M away – such growth sis, love it.

    1. Haha, yes, I knew you would be too 🙂 Scott will probably get sick of me by the end of the week haha 😉 I am excited for next week though, and think we have p-lenty to keep my mind off missing M 🙂

  2. Yay for your boss coming back! And for a lovely weekend with your boy! Bummer about the trip. It’s hard when you’ve been looking forward to something. You have every right to be a little upset about it.

  3. Bummer about the trip but they’ll be other chances for trips in the future. That’s great your boss is back so soon but tough on her to be back in work after 12 weeks. One good thing about here, is that the maternity leave is so long and then until a child is 12 years old, parents can take parental leave and take time out all the time.

    1. Yea, maternity leave here is just awful, it’s so short. for me, selfishly, it’s good, but for the parents, it’s really tough.

  4. Unexpected change can be a real bummer – but, while we’re *totally* allowed to gripe some, it’s good to see the bright side!

    I’d say it’s just more tribute to the changes in your *whole* life – not just in your body from the challenge, know what I’m sayin’?

    😀

    1. You’re right, there is always a bright side and the bright side is being home, in this case, even if it’s without M 😉 And there is a lot of change, all around, and I am trying to enjoy it and embrace it (and er, kick those zombie dreams away!) 😉

Leave a Reply

