Realizations.

Realizations…

…sitting on the beach by my house, a little private beach tucked into a nook next to fancy mansions and one of my favorite beach/parks, I realized that the last time I was here, was Labor Day weekend, two days before my first date with M. Thinking about that, at the same place now, more than 8 months later, gazing at M and my brother in law playing a fierce game of frisbee, and all I could do was smile and feel blessed.

…that I *can* change my eating patterns and say no to cookout goodies and appetizers (my weakness!!) and stick to the fruts, veggies, shrimp cocktail and grilled chicken….so I can also enjoy a few glasses of wine, and still fall within the calorie range I’m supposed to. GO ME! 😉

…that I could most definitely eat an entire watermelon in one sitting. Or a pint of blueberries. Or a pound of strawberries. YUM.

…that I have already gone to the beach twice and it’s not even officially summer yet. Bliss. Feeling tanned (a wee bit burned!) and happy.

…that my sisters and I will always have the best times together. Spending an afternoon at my sister Jess’s house for a cookout bash with Jen and my niece Isabel was the best. Seeing Isabel continue to flourish and grow into a beautiful little girl warms my heart.

…that I feel like M and I are moving into yet another stage of our relationship. What I think I will call brass tacks.  I realize more and more that he wraps himself up in worry over things like work or incidents that bother him (not about me, just trying to keep his life his and private!) and bottles them up. But they affect his mood and he needs an outlet (more on this later). Perhaps a blog…(private one).

…that I feel like my love for M (and his for me) is reaching another phase as well. I just find myself looking at him and feeling incredibly special and lucky….I love him so much and in so many ways. Spending the weekend with him has been wonderful.

…that I am slowly but surely conquering my running issues. Ran almost 5 miles yesterday without major struggle, and at a relatively quick pace. And it was super muggy and hot. GO ME! 😉

…that this weather, summery, warm, sunny, is the way I’m meant to live. It’s almost a feeling of euphoria. Bring it on.

 

19 thoughts on “Realizations.

    1. aww…I don’t write these to cause jealousy, as you know, however, I can relate, given there have been times I’ve read blog posts that have made me want to scream – I want that – but knowing it’s out there helped a little bit. Not always, but sometimes. (hugs)

  1. I’ll show you muggy and warm! Get yer butt to Texas! 😉

    Happy to hear of the many blessings in your life. And yes, from what you’ve written about M, I think I can relate closely to how things get him (and me) bent out of shape with life. Tell him that a private blog DOES help! 🙂

    xxoo

    1. Hehe! I’d love to attempt a muggy run with you in Texas, though I’m sure I’d die, pretty sure of that 😉 I’m looking forward to your feedback once I write more about my convo with M on the whole opening up thing…

  2. I am proud of you for changing your eating patterns. It’s soooo hard to do! Sounds like you had a fantastic weekend! 🙂

    1. It IS so hard to do and it’s amazing the things you realize you do once you are paying that close attention. the habits you see are crazy. Thank you!

  3. It’s been a good year for you, Jobo! When I first started following your blog, you were still dating CBE. Pretty sure I recommended you kick him to the curb. Glad you did!

    1. It has been! What a juxtaposition to CBE and that time of life, huh? And to this day ,I thank you for telling me to kick him to the curb. you were the only one to do it…IRL and on this blog, thank you 🙂

  4. LOVE this post, sis. Every single realization made me smile big. Love how happy you are – and that we both kicked the crap outta the food log this weekend, not gonna lie. 😉

    1. thanks sis 🙂 It feels good to be where I am right now. And to do so well on the food log feels great. I don’t feel guilty or sluggish after overindulging. what a difference 🙂

  5. Isn’t it crazy how much can change in a year? Whenever I reflect on, “last year at this time…” I would have never – not in my wildest dreams – thought I would be where I am today.

    You’re working towards so many different goals…it is neat to watch you grow and work through each one. You’ll definitely come out stronger in the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

