Commitment doesn’t mean ‘go halfway, then stop.’

Barre N9Ne Challenge.

Commitment.

~~

I always thought I was a committed person. Ya know, ‘go big or go home,’ right?

But the more I look at my habits, the more I wonder if I really am as committed as I’d like to think I am.

As my sister blogged about, there are some changes afoot to all things food log and my first reaction (as was hers), was, “can I do this?” I want to see the big results, I want to see the significant before/after, but I have always stopped just short of that ultimate goal.

And it isn’t just with this challenge.

It’s with much of what I have done fitness-wise. I stop just short. I commit just enough, but not fully.

Commitment doesn’t mean ‘go halfway, then stop.’

It means ‘go big, or go home!’

It means devote yourself, focus, set goals and reach them, don’t just ‘sorta’ get there.

I tie this into running too. This morning, I was on another attempt at running outdoors, controlling my breathing and trying to increase my mileage by juuust a smidge.

What did I do a couple of times?

I stopped. Caught my breathe.

Why did I stop?

Why didn’t I try and gain control of my breathing again after that hill instead of just stopping?

My first inclination is to stop.

Fight or flight.

But similar to the next phase of this 60 day challenge, I need to commit. To this and to running.

To truly see the change I want, the change I need, I need to commit.

It seems so simple, but really, it takes change and 100% full-on focus, devotion and commitment.

And I’m ready. As my sister so aptly put it: Iโ€™ve got to learn to be fearless. To own each challenge I commit to. This is my time. To finish what I started.

34 thoughts on “Commitment doesn’t mean ‘go halfway, then stop.’

  1. It’s crazy that our immediate reaction (that we didn’t even realize we had) is to run vs. fight to the bitter end. I’m ready to put my fighter face on sis, let’s do this. For real this time.

  2. It really can be so hard to push through and not just stop dead in your tracks. I think one thing that half training plan taught me was how to just slow the hell down and recover rather than full stop. Of course, sometimes you have to walk it out. No doubt about it. But there were so many times when my brain would say “you can’t go any farther” but when I slowed down to recover, I did just that…went farther.

    1. It is hard not to stop dead in my tracks. I tried my best to ONLY stop when it was clear my breathing wasn’t regulating, which was definitely one of the two times. The other time was fear…I was reaching a hill and didn’t want my breathing to go haywire again. I am working on the control. Today was the first day I DID notice I needed water. So I may need to take your advice – finally – on that one!!

  3. They say, in physical challenges, your mind will quit before your body will. I struggle with running too, and I always talk to myself when I feel like quitting, in an attempt to control my mind and make it keep going, because I KNOW my body can keep going if my mind would just shut the hell up ๐Ÿ™‚

    As far as diet, I try to eat healthy, but I’m of the mindset that it has to be sustainable. I have to work with a diet I can maintain long term, and I love (with a capital L-O-V-E) food. So try to find some balance, you work out so you can eat, give yourself a break ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. SO true. Mind over matter, right?? My mind is so damn controlling and I need to just FOCUS on letting my body lead sometimes. As for eating, yes, definitely agree with you on my diet (not a diet, but you know what I mean) has to be sustainable, not something I do short term. Just something I need to be able to do as a life change. Nothing drastic, don’t worry!

  4. I am also all in or all out. So, usually “all out.” Trying to quit that though. But I can relate to not finishing what you start. But I believe in you.

  5. flight is an instinct that, actually, law school helped me shake. you can’t flee law school without totally dropping out. there’s no going back once you’re in.

    so if i can do it, you can do it. you have SO got this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. That’s a great comparison! Bet there were times you wanted to run and look at you, you totally passed with flying colors. I love it. great inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

  6. maybe what you are doing is staying in balance. Maybe going big would envelope too much of the rest of your life and when you stop short you are subconsciously saying that other things are important too? My guess is if you look at what you do physically it is more than 80% of the US population. You just keep expecting more from yourself. But maybe you have it right?? Just throwing another view out there!

    1. That’s a good point Livvy. I try to live a balanced life. But I also like to commit to a challenge fully, and if I’m not, then what’s the point. Ya know?

  7. Fear of the unknown…why is that so scary? I have to ask myself that a lot. What is so hard with just trying?…I mean, truly, you would probably pass out if whatever *it* was was going to really be *too hard* or *too much* for your body. THAT is our built in safety net.

    Yet here we are. Afraid to jump.

    I empathize. And I want to jump, as do you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m like you. I like to think I’m pretty committed…and I do follow through on things I’m passionate about. BUT I often have those “flight” thoughts and desires all too often too. And sometimes give into them all too easily.

    1. Right – it’s that moment of fear, that fleeing feeling that stops me sometimes. I don’t like to give in, I like to see things through. And for this, I plan to!

  9. You can do it! I’m kind of similar. I know I could lose more weight if I put my mind too. But I always let myself plateau. I could push past it, but I don’t. I like the comfortable too much. You’re totally inspiring me!

    1. Aw! I am glad I am inspiring you too. That’s the same with me. I feel like sure, I look ok, but I could look better (not, like, sickly skinny, not by a long shot, but I think you probably get what I mean) and this is my chance to do just that. So why hold back, right?

  10. i totally get what you’re saying. very rare are the workouts that result in a runners high. most of the time they are a struggle and i have to stop on the run to regroup and refocus. when i do, i try to set mini goals like – make it through the next mile without stopping, etc. i think this is perfectly normal, esp when in training and you’ll find that when race day comes adrenaline will take over and you’ll just go!

    1. Exactly. I did this very thing today…found points I’d run to and continue going from there. It really did help me! And M’s motivation too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

