So, about that trip to Vegas…

As you know, I was planning to go to Vegas with M in late June while he’s there for a conference. But, as we neared booking flights for me, the prices were still creeping up, none of my bloggy friends could make it after all (sad face) and it turned out M wouldn’t have as much time as I thought outside of conference time.

So, last night, we talked about it. I was honestly worried he’d take offense to my not going with him, since we’ve been planning on it for awhile. I thought he might think it was selfish for me to want to stay home, when we always say it would be great if we could be with each other when we’re traveling, even if it’s for work. (when in reality, it’s usually pretty difficult to balance work ‘stuff’ with fun ‘stuff’ on these sorts of trips, I realize more and more!)

But I think he was honestly relieved, in a way. I told him I also worried that he would feel guilty being in conference sessions all day while I was alone (oh woe is me, sitting by the pool, how atrocious <-sarcasm/quip!). He shook his head (because I *do* know him so well and he was thinking the exact thing!).

So we opted to nix the Vegas trip (though he’ll still be going and I gotta be honest, it’s gonna suck to be the one ‘left behind’ this time! I’m going to miss him even more than when I’m the one that has to leave! Touche, I guess? 😉 )

…then, this morning, in chatting with my boss (interim), it turns out K may not be returning until mid-late June now, from maternity leave, for a few reasons. And then he asked if I ever bring M with me when I fly out for the week in California. I told him that no, I have not, but that he has never even been to the West Coast, so I would like to at some point.

His response? Bring him with you when you come in early June. I think it’s important for him to see where you work, who you work with when you are here. Book the flights, we’ll take care of it.

Um, wow.

Really??

I’ve had a huge grin on my face all day. (even battling a migraine for half the day) M is super excited to come out, I am super excited to share it with him, and actually ENJOY my time out there for a long weekend (and a day off!) and introduce him to bloggy friends in the area (in the works Erika, and hmm…Misty??).

Perhaps some runs on the beach…and some lounging on the beach?

Perhaps Disneyland (because why not, right?)?

Perhaps a wine tasting or three?

Perhaps sighseeing through Newport Beach and Huntington Beach?

Yes, please, to all of the above.

(and any and all suggestions welcome! if you’re in the area, let me know!)

37 thoughts on “So, about that trip to Vegas…

  1. Aw, that is awesome! What an amazing company you work for! And your boss is growing on me… I think he’s realizing you’re pretty hot stuff and he better treat you right to keep you around! 😉

  2. It’s great that your boss invited M out, and even better that he’s going to pay for it! I agree with him in that it’s really important for M to see where you go when you’re working out there. It’s good for your relationship. Congrats!

  3. What fun!!!!

    I remember when I worked for a company out of Utah and I took my husband with me so we could go fly fishing. We had a blast!

    Sounds like things are progressing nicely. 🙂

  4. And then I just fell off my fucking chair. (I’m cussing a lot in my comments tonight) That is so damn awesome. Funny how things turn out huh? I’m bummed still I couldn’t do Vegas but clearly it will be okay:) Yay for this chance for you two!!!

  5. The OC in June is a thousand times better than Vegas in June! Sounds like it’ll be a good time – you could catch an Angels game too.

  6. Huge, huge, huge, compliment from the big boss. He appreciates you. He values you. But most of all, he trusts you. That’s huge sis. You’ve rocked this challenge to the core!

  7. I’m dealing with similar disappointment…my boyfriend wasn’t able to get time off to road trip with me like we planned. Now I am trying to find a replacement road buddy and really bummed. 😦

    It’s great that you found an alternative trip that you CAN take together. It sounds like your boss/company are really nice. 🙂 I’ve never been to the West Coast, either, but all I hear about are vineyards, beaches, roads cut into mountains, sunshine and shopping. I hope you and M have a great time exploring together! 😀

    1. Aw what a bummer!! I am glad we found an alternative too, it’s so funny how life works sometimes. I can’t wait to explore too!

  8. Oh my gosh, that’s amazing! I got really excited for you when I read this. I can’t wait to hear the re-cap.

  9. Yay! What a fantastic employer you have!!! I think you (and M) need to make a trip out to CO!

    I know…and we need to get up to you guys, too 🙂

  10. Everything works out as it’s meant to! I know that you, Intrigue Me and I will have some fun together in the future. And, I love the idea of you and M getting a vacation on the company dime. I had lived in SoCal and visited regularly after moving back in East, but only just visited the Temecula wineries. Soooo beautiful! I vote for those, but Santa Barbara if you have a bit more time. xoxo

Leave a Reply

