The little things…

like an armful of lemon Chobani yogurts since my grocery store doesn’t stock them.

or fruit, black beans and brown rice because he knows these are the things I’ll be eating plenty of during this 60 day challenge. (and Lactaid milk always in his fridge!).

and the hug I need when I break down in frustration over my running issues…

and conversely, the hug (virtually) and ‘I knew you could do it’ when I actually had a good run today.

the support after a bad day, the listening ear, the joke when I need to laugh.

the small gestures that add up into one giant big thing. Love. Devotion. What it’s meant to be like.

~~

At a doctor’s appointment this morning, my nurse practitioner asked if I had the same – ahem –Β  ‘partner’ as last year. When I indicated that I went through a divorce in recent years and that no, I didn’t have the same partner as last year (or any, truly, for that matter!), she moved along. Then she asked what he did for a living. When I told her that he is a nurse practitioner, her eyes lit up (given it’s the same profession, of course). She paused and said:

“I’m on the tail-end of divorce myself but have been with someone for awhile. Isn’t it great when you can finally just breathe?”

I couldn’t have said it better or more simply myself.

M is, quite simply, the breath of fresh air in my life that grounds me, makes me smile and unbelievably happy. He makes me think, he challenges me, he makes me laugh, and he loves me. Through and through. And I love him, for all that he is and all that he makes me feel.

~~

When you add up all the little things, it truly becomes one big thing, doesn’t it?

*this post courtesy of mush-central. I can’t help but toss one of these in here and there, because, well, it’s my blog, dammit. Take it or leave it :-)**

Swoon.

~~

PS. as you likely caught above…I had a GREAT run today!! Thank you for all of your comments and feedback last night, I used every single piece of advice today and I don’t know how to explain it other than a miracle, quite honestly. The run was good, challenging but not impossible. I came away from it (3 miles) feeling more confident and strong than I have in any of the runs I’ve had in the past few months. A little thing, perhaps, but a huge thing for me. Hopefully tomorrow bodes just as well. Again, thank you.

30 thoughts on “The little things…

    1. I thought you might enjoy that πŸ˜‰ And I wouldn’t say I put up with your mush, I love it! I embrace it! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the congrats, the run was better, thankfully!

    1. Thank you on the run..still flying high from it, I swear! And your advice really helped. The little things M does just add up to so much, and I know I am missing things I noticed in the last couple days alone. I feel very lucky.

  1. I remember having that same conversation with my doctor lady. I remember her just looking at me and going “oh, it looks like you breathe now.” They have no idea!

  2. You mean all this time I haven’t been breathing? lol… kidding, sorry, I couldn’t resist. It’s sweet the little things he does for you, they really are the important ones.

    1. tee-hee. knew you may not love the mush, but that’s okay. I really liked what she said, since she knows what it feels like to go through divorce too and find someone that really makes a difference. But yeah, the little things are sometimes the most important!

  3. I’m with Sunshine. Mush on, my friend! It’s always nice to see others treated very well in their relationships. Especially compared to the crap I’ve been seeing lately!

    I say keep on focusing on the good stuff. Awareness is awesome!

    Congrats on the good run too. I have to REALLY concentrate on my breathing but it’s helped tremendously!

  4. i love posts like this, because the joy is infectious and contagious.

    and you know i will NEVER, ever call you out for being mushy. i’d be a hypocrite of the first order if i did, eh? πŸ™‚

    1. Infectious indeed! I know you wouldn’t hehe πŸ˜‰ And I mostly put the mush disclaimer up because I do try to balance the mush with more substantial posts too πŸ˜‰ (as you do too!)

  5. Congratulations again on your run!

    The little things do add up to big things, both good and bad. I’m very careful to remember that when big things seem to be going wrong (most of the time I remember, anyway). It’s nice to hear someone is having such positive and meaningful little things happening. πŸ™‚

  6. Loving the mush and how sweet M is to you. Love that he shops for you, it seriously is the little things! Glad your NP was so sweet to you too!
    PS Lemon Chobani? Ahem Mango is WAY better πŸ˜‰ even if its not the o%!
    xo

  7. So glad you dominated your run… Knew you could do it! I’m also so happy you have M. You really deserve happiness and I’m so glad you’ve found it.

    1. thank you! I hope to redominate it again tomorrow πŸ™‚ And I too am so glad to have found happiness with M. Never ceases to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

