‘I owe you an apology’

My boss called me this morning (interim boss, that is, not the one that is on maternity leave) and the first words out of his mouth were “listen, I feel badly about yesterday. I know how it feels to be busting your ass and still get shit on. I’ve been in your position before, and that sucks. So I owe you an apologize. I’m sorry.”

Wow.

That was huge, and was something he didn’t necessarily have to do, but he did anyway, because that is truly the type of person he is. I really respected that, and was pretty much floored by his call (which was at 6:30 am his time, I might add! He’s an early riser and drives in to the office early, but that also showed me that I was a priority in that instance).

And, in the back of my mind yesterday, as upset as I was the rest of the day (with additional remarks made by other people throughout the day that just compounded my feelings), I knew that was the basis for his reaction, notsomuch that I was doing a shitty job. But in the heat of the moment, it felt absolutely awful and I couldn’t get past it.

But today was a new day. And it went so much better than yesterday. We are almost to the launch we are planning for and hopefully some stress will start deflating from me, and everyone else who’s been working on this project.

I breathed a sigh of relief, and realized that I am one more step towards my journey here, one more milestone to get through (handling critical feedback, trying to remain confident or at least, with a game face on). I hopefully got this.

~~

Thank you once again for all of your feedback here, and on Twitter yesterday, to this and my body image struggles. I feel truly blessed to have such a support system ‘virtually’ and in real life. You all quite simply, rock.

The weather here today is gorgeous, sunny, and quite warm for these parts and I think that calls for grilling, the driving range (for M and my BIL) and ice cream for my sister, one of my closest friends and me, don’t you think? (I am envisioning that twist soft serve as we speak…my absolute favorite – while still low fat! – what’s your favorite ice cream?!)

24 thoughts on “‘I owe you an apology’

  1. That’s AWESOME!

    I’ve almost always had excellent bosses, but for 6 months I had TWO horrible bosses and it made my life hell.

    glad that this was able to be fixed up so you could enjoy your job!

    when’s your next trip?

    1. Lucky you have had good bosses! I have had good ones too, mostly, and I think he is a good boss too, just got a lot on his plate. I am not sure when I am out there again yet, I will let you know! Vegas in two weeks though!

  2. Woohoo! Ice cream!

    My fave is Italian gelato. Mmmmmm….. Gimme some dark chocolate gelato and raspberry sorbetto and I’m in heaven. *drool*

    SO glad you’re treating yourself nicely today! πŸ™‚

    1. *drool* that sounds so good! I had a champagne flight in Boston once and with it came the best gelato I have ever had…sooo effing good πŸ˜‰ And I feel nicer today, sometimes a new day does make a difference (and an apology!)

  3. Awesome… that kind of thing can make such a HUGE difference- is “congrats” the right word here?

    As far as ice cream goes… sometimes I get kinda freaky about the weirdo “ingredients” that go into my body, so I traded my Ben & Jerrys for Haagen Daaz (chocolate peanut butter) because I can pronounce all of the ingredients and I’m convinced that means it’s better for me. Never mind the fact that there are about 32g of fat per serving. It’s ‘real’ food πŸ˜‰

    1. Ha-ha, congrats is sorta the right word yes πŸ˜‰ Haagen Daaz! Yum, yes, they have that ‘5 ingredient’ thing don’t they? sooo much better for you even with the fat πŸ˜‰

  4. NICE. that’s fantastic. it’s really great to hear that your boss is capable of a mea culpa. that goes a long way towards a feeling of value in a place. glad today was so much better!

    and as for ice cream: there’s a ben and jerry’s in union station here in DC, which is where i get off the train to go to school. they have a coconut cookie bar flavor and a chocolate overload flavor that are both scoop-store only and DIVINE. the chocolate one has a PUDDING RIBBON. that much good shouldn’t be legal.

    and now i want ice cream. damn. πŸ™‚

  5. Hey, that’s awesome! I’m glad your boss was intuitive enough to realize that he’d said something unnecessary and ballsy enough to apologize for it! It was probably weighing heavily on his mind, judging by the early morning phone call.

  6. I’m sorry I didn’t comment on your post yesterday – read it too late and really wanted to call you! I’m glad that things have gotten a bit better, but I’m sorry you’ve had to go through this challenging time. They’d better hurry up and realize how lucky they are to have you!

    1. Aww, thanks friend. So sweet! It did get better yesterday. I know everyone at work is stressed, but when you end up being the punching bag, it feels shittastic. I hope they realize it soon too…I think they mostly do, but in the heat of the moment the ‘seasoned’ person (my boss) is who they’d prefer at this point, I’m sure.

  7. This is huge. Shows how much he really DOES value you…even if he sometimes doesn’t show it very well. I am so proud of you for sticking this out despite how shitty it can be at times. You are growing by leaps and bounds. Love it, sis.

  8. Driving range and ice cream sound fantastic to me. FYI – as I type this right now, it’s SNOWING outside my window. April freakin’ 28th and it’s SNOW-ING. Argh. Also – your interim boss sounds like a good guy. It says something about a person when they can realize a wrong and try and make it right.

Leave a Reply

