Big rocks (no, not that kind).

I hadn’t mentioned it here because I was almost too nervous to, but I had a big-ass presentation discussion to lead today…for the entire marketing group of oh, 35ish people (mostly in the room, some on the phone from as far as England and Germany).

nooooo pressure or anything.

I kept trying to downplay it in my mind and change my mindset away from ‘presentation’ mode as these are my co-workers, they aren’t my clients. I wanted to be casual and confident, not overly formal, stumbling over my words (which I tend to do when I am nervous) or “scripted.”

It’s a tough balance – to convey confidence, but casually. And I honestly didn’t realize how many people were going to be there until I looked at the meeting notice again and scrolled through all the names. Eek. But at that point, I didn’t have time to get nervous, I had to just do it and not like the nervousness in my voice show.

And you know what?

It didn’t.

I actually felt pretty much at ease once I got past the first slide and it really turned into a conversation. Even my boss thought it went well (it was focused on social media, something he – and I – am passionate about). *Phew. Enter relief!*

It felt really good to get past that today and realize that one of my biggest stumbling blocks at my old job – presenting – isn’t (so far) one here. I hope I continue to grow in that area and I can worry focus on the stuff that I need to get a grasp on in my new job, all of the nuances, all of the ‘politics’ and all of the processes I just don’t know yet. (and oh yeah, going to a huge-ass tradeshow in May, in Vegas, alone. Sure, there will be coworkers there, but still, this is Vegas people, it’s going to be in-sane. But I digress.).

So yeah, big rock today. I felt good about that. And I got to see my boss and meet her son. He’s a cute little peanut and holding him brought me back to when my niece was born. I loved holding him and seeing her on ‘mommy cloud 9’ – it was awesome. (and made me miss my niece, and my sisters!)

And tomorrow? Yeah, I am heading home. Giddy about that. It’s been a long four days, but mostly a good four days. I feel better now than I did on Monday. That counts for something, right?

26 thoughts on “Big rocks (no, not that kind).

  1. you rock star, you. 🙂 glad the meeting went well. it’s so fun when you feel the trepidation slip away and the “oh yeah, this is cake” feeling come over you. there are maybe three feelings in the world that are better – and only two that can be discussed in polite company. 🙂

    1. Thank you!! LOVE the rock star comment 😉 I will take it. hehe. I love that feeling too, it really is almost like none other 😉 teehee.

  2. Good job girl. I’m not a good speaker AT all. And I hadn’t really thought about it until you just mentioned it, but it’s definitely worse when scripted. If I can sit down at a table with everyone else, then I’m much better off too.

  3. I am so freakin’ proud of you sis. I know how much you wanted to rid yourself of those preconceived notions of yourself after our last job, and it must be an AMAZING feeling to not have that on your shoulders now. Screw them! You rock the house, sis!! Seriously.

  4. Yeah well done you!! Sounds like your new job is providing the just right challenges for you! Hope you enjoy your time off this weekend, you deserve it!

  5. So glad your presentation went well! It’s hard to present in front of a huge room full of people. Not letting the pressure get to you and remaining calm and conversational is the best thing you can do. Sounds like you rocked it! 🙂

  6. Eek! I loath speaking in public. I always feel as though my voice is quivering when I have to do it but am then always told, “You’re so confident when you get up there” and I’m all “Whaaaat? We’ll that’s good because I feel like I’m going to pee my pants with every word!”

Leave a Reply

