What I love about me.

Whew.

It’s been a rollercoaster of emotions this week. Writing Sunday’s blog post was intensely therapeutic, but also very difficult to write and to admit. Yet, you all proved how supportive you are, and how well, right you are, too. My post-mortem reflects much of what you had to say, and I am truly taking it all in (including those of you who emailed me too, also very sweet and thoughtful. I do feel the love) and reflecting.

So I thought I would create a post on what I love about me.

Please note, it is very difficult for me to compliment myself, clearly, since I am just too good at tearing myself apart, but here goes…and I hope this becomes something I mentally do every single day. Compliment something about myself. As should all of you. It’s a healthy exercise.

I love my smile. I used to hate it because I thought my cheeks were too big and my face was too long. Either I’ve grown into my face (believe me, I was a bobblehead as a child! Huge head, little body!), or it’s grown on me, but now, I dig it. Especially if there is a picture that captures my smile juuust as it turns into a giggle.

I love my drive and perseverance. I will never give up. And I think that’s something that, too, has come with my recent life experiences. I’m at a point where the sky is the limit, and there’s no such thing as no. It feels good to want to improve. All the time. This means physically too. Part of why I am always after challenge after challenge workout-wise. It just drives me.

I usually love my arms. When I am in a good weight rotation in my weekly workouts, I love my arms. They feel strong, sturdy and toned. When I ease up in that area, they tend to lose tone relatively quickly. Thus the ‘usually.’ And when they are tan? Kick-ass. (reason #684 why I love being tan).

I love my sense of optimism. I believe in myself. Again, usually. My meltdown on Sunday disappointed me in large part because I suddenly stopped believing in me. And that’s something I never wanted to do. But no more. I am going to believe in myself, not doubt myself or what I am capable of, physically and mentally.

I love my athleticism. Now, I am not an athlete. Not at all. I consider athletes that can do organized sports, which I cannot do for the life of me. But I think I am athletic and it’s something I am proud of.

I love my sense of humor. Okay, I’m a huge dork. I cackle when I laugh (sometimes). I love dumb humor. I love a good random conversation about stupid stuff. Life’s too short to be too serious, ya know?

Well, that wasn’t so hard, now was it? (okay, it was. a little.) I love this picture and quote and thought it fit well with this theme…simple, yet absolutely my mantra right now.

So…let me ask, what do you love about you?

 

47 thoughts on “What I love about me.

    1. Silly goose. I love that phrase;-) I love your arms too – LOL! I guess I just equate athlete with organized sports. But I guess I see what you mean 😉

      1. Um yeah. That was the FIRST thing I was ready to fight you on Jo – you ARE AN ATHLETE. And a runner. And frickin’ kick-ass in so many ways (not just your arms, but your ass man, it’s pretty damn, uh, shapely?). LOL. How’s that for a compliment? For the record, I love this style of post. I may have to “borrow” it next time I’m having a down day. Love it, sis. Believe in yourself, alright??

        1. sis, you are damn crazy, but that’s why I love ya 😉 Did you just say I have a nice ass? In public? And yes, please do the same when you have a down day!

  1. LOVE this! such a great exercise. here’s mine:

    1) i love my loyalty. i am a ride-or-die kind of girl with my nearest and dearest. i will go to WAR for my friends.

    2) i love my mind. even when it causes me trouble, i have a formidable intellect. it’s always gotten me far in this life.

    3) i love my eyes. i have blue-gray eyes, and they are something. the man, who isn’t a poetry-and-flowers man to say the least, once described them in detail to me as one of his favorite things about me.

    4) i love my legs. this is a new one. the man and i went to our not-valentine’s dinner, and i wore a green dress and boots. he could not stop staring at me, to the point where i asked him what he was looking at. “your legs are AMAZING,” he responded. hell. after a compliment like that, how could i not be thrilled?

    5) i love my serious nature. i can keep my head when all about me are losing theirs. that is my favorite quality of all, no matter what.

    1. what a great list!! I love these!! I have been told once or twice that I have great legs, but I refuse to believe it…because that’s one area I always want to improve. Yet, with a tan, everything looks better. Right? 😉 I love what you say about loyalty and your mind. Great qualities, my friend!

  2. So great that you can name off so many things that you love about yourself! Most of us can’t!

    I guess the top thing I love about myself… my eyes and face, I have a lot of extra weight on me but I’m still “pretty” and I feel very lucky for that.

    1. Believe me, it was hard to come up with. Forced myself to pick physical attributes too! You have beautiful eyes and face, yes, very true. And you have a great laugh 😉

  3. i love the evolution of this post and most of all glad that you have things you love about yourself! as for me…i love that i can maintain a poker face. when crisis arises, i may be panicking inside, but can remain calm on the outside – comes in handy at work a lot! i must also admit, i love my hair – its nice and thick and easy to manage. 🙂

    1. It has been an evolutionary week, hasn’t it? A poker face! That is a great quality especially in a job with lots of pressure. That’s huge. And damn girl, I love your hair too! Jealous 😉

  4. I read this post before I read the meltdown. I was so impressed that you’d write what you love about yourself and be so bold – I was envious. Then I read the meltdown and was even more impressed. The power of positive thinking.Have to work on my list but I’ll start with, I love my height – not as tall as your sister but I’m 5′ 8″

    1. Thank you Mandy. I never considered myself bold, but I appreciate that as it is a good way of looking at it too. The power of positive thinking is huge. And I wish I had Jessica’s height (those that Jessica isn’t my sister 😉 )

  5. I love this post! Way to go. It’s so hard to say, “I love this about me” but it’s so healthy. So here goes…

    I love how kind I am to other people.

  6. Ya know what? I love that you can be HONEST with yourself… no matter if it’s a meltdown or a love-fest. That’s being a loving best friend to YOU.

    Me? I love where I am right now in this amazing life I lead.

    ((big squeeze)) you ATHLETE!

    1. Thank you T! And I am so glad you are in such a good place right now, that’s awesome. A great feeling. And thank you for calling me an athlete too 😉

  7. Love this post, you have so many wonderful qualities. Love the picture and the quote, it makes total sense. For myself, I like how I’m easily entertained by the small stuff in life and find it easy to laugh.

  8. Good for you, girl! I’m proud of you for being able to do this! It’s not easy, I know.

    Things I love about me: My eyes, my smile, my sense of humour, the colour of my hair (even if I’ve chosen it myself!), my sense of fun and my determination when I set my mind to something. 🙂

  9. Hmmm. The smile, yes. And I really love that I can put a positive spin on almost anything. I love that I’m determined…to be…even. 😉

    Great post!

  10. What a great post idea, I might just have to steal it from you.

    First of all, you are an athlete girl! I’m fighting you on that one just like everyone else.

    Second of all, I think that it is important to take stock in what we do like about ourselves, because it is so easy to focus on what we don’t. So, I’m going to force myself to do this too today, even though I had another post in mind. Thanks for inspiring as always, Baconator! LOL.

    1. Okay, fine, I will not fight back on the word ‘athlete’ – you guys win 😉 And I am glad you took this post and did one too, loved reading yours! Signed, Baconator.

  11. I love this post. It reminds me of something I did when I was having a whole lot of bad days post separation. One day I kept track of the positives and the negatives and realized at the end that the positives won. It helped me see the good that still existed in my life.

    PS – I am totally stealing the image at the bottom of the post. I hope you don’t mind!

    1. Don’t mind at all, it’s a goodie, isn’t it? (clearly I ‘borrowed’ it too!) This was probably a really good thing for you to do when you were going through your separation, huh? Healing, almost. Self-preserving, too.

  12. This is a great list. I have lots of things I love about myself (my humor, my insights, my penis, etc.) but my problem is that I can’t find anyone who will also love me for those things. SIGH. I love my whining. 🙂

    1. LOL! you are a great…whiner. 😉 Just kidding. Um, great list of things you love, and soon enough I know someone will love you for those things too!

  13. I absolutely love your optimism. As you know that’s really something I struggle with.

    As for me… I love my eyes, I love that my hair is finally the perfect length and looks just how I want it to after nothing more than 10 minutes in a bun, I love that when someone I love is wronged I can stand up and scream and defend until I’m blue in the face (even if I can’t do it for myself), I love that I can make people laugh, I love that I can do almost anything Jim Carrey can (with my face), and I love that I can talk (a little) (college) football with the guys.

  14. I think that it is vital that we take the time to list the good in ourselves. Too often, and for far too long at a stretch, we are focused on what we’d like to change.

    Bravo!

  15. I hope you forgive me if instead of writing about myself, I extend your list with things that I like about you. I know that I don’t know you a lot, but I’ve been reading your blog on permanent basis, so :). Besides things that you named, you are also great with people (you have great connections with friends and family and look how many people you gathered here in the bloggy world), you are kind, sincere and compassionated to others, even when you feel down you have something positive to say :), you are very brave (just think how many times you walked out of your comfort zone already) and what I maybe like most about you that you are a deep thinker, you are searching for answers, answers to important questions that are so easily forgotten in every day routine. I’m happy I know you! And please don’t be shy about what I wrote, I can continue, it is all true.

    1. Wow, thank you so much! I don’t even know what to say except thank you. To think that you have been reading and collecting these points about me that you like, is just so touching. I feel we relate well to each other as many of your recent posts are right out of my brain! thank you again!

  16. Yay for you! I love these things about you too. Gosh, it’s hard to turn it back on myself. I love my smile when I’m genuinely happy. I think it lights up my whole face. I love my silly sense of humor. I crack myself up often. I also love that lately I have been able to talk to strangers so easily and really relate to them. I’ve come a long way with that. Oh, I also love my ability to love so easily and deeply. It can turn out bad, but I think someday it’s going to turn out great.

    1. Aww. Thank you 🙂 GLAD you did turn it back on yourself! I love these things about you too and I can tell they are all wonderful things!

  17. Aww – this post made me smile! I love the “She Believed” quote. I’ll be using that one. I love your optimism and kindness. And, I bet once we meet, I’ll love your smile and arms.

    This is an interesting exercise, especially when I don’t recognize my own reflection in the mirror. I’ll go with my laugh, intellect, optimism and generosity. xoxo

    1. Aw, so glad! I can’t wait to meet you too to see your beautiful smile, laugh and optimism! 🙂 (and you are beautiful, lets not forget that!)

Leave a Reply

