Making the ‘me’ time an everyday occurance.

Advertisement

Thanks to Crystal Light for sponsoring this post. To learn more about how Crystal Light can flavor your day with 30 refreshing flavors, visit http://www.facebook.com/crystallight

*Even though this post was part of a Clever Girls sponsorship opportunity, this was one I really connected with, as it was a writing prompt to sort through my ongoing issues with balance. Hope you enjoy it”

The more I travel, the more I realize how much ‘me’ time is important to me. Of course, when I am traveling, I get plenty of it, at hotel rooms by myself in the evenings, traveling cross-country and back, etc.

However.

I also think it’s far too easy to lump ‘me’ time in ‘being alone’ (as my example above proves), and not in truly valuable, quality ‘me’ time.

Truth is, sometimes there just isn’t enough free time for ‘me’ time, if that makes sense. Which is why I try to – and absolutely need to, we all do – carve out some ‘me’ time every single day. Even if it’s 5 minutes, an hour, or more (when I can!), it makes a huge difference.

I feel far more balanced, less anxious and more centered.

Some of the things that I consider my ‘me’ time every day?

…blogging.  I absolutely consider this my time to process my thoughts, a conversation, or a challenge. Blogging centers me. And it’s mine.

…working out. Can I get a ‘hell yeah?’ on that? When there is a lot going on and I can’t focus for the life of me, a good workout, no matter what it is, how long it is or  how intense it is, I always feel better after and always know I am doing something good for me in the physical and mental sense as well.

…not talking. No, I’m serious. Sometimes, I just need to be silent. 5 minutes. 10. Whatever I need that day. It really does help.

What do you do in your ‘me moments?’ Do you struggle to find time for them? Do you put them behind other priorities, like seeing your partner, friends, family? Or errands, cleaning, etc? I fall into that sometimes too, but as I sit here, en route home from yet another trip out West, I realize how very important these moments truly are.

Remember, visit http://www.facebook.com/crystallight to learn more about how Crystal Light can flavor your day with 30 refreshing flavors. I was selected and paid for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

20 thoughts on “Making the ‘me’ time an everyday occurance.

  1. It is absolutely amazing how a single, individual day can go by where you are not left with a moment to yourself. So many items need to be taken care of right now, there are commitments to be obliged and the grind of a normal day can all rob you of a modicum of stillness. I sometimes almost feel guilty if I rmemember to slow down and take ‘me’ time.

    But I do realize how important it is and I try to plan that slice of time into my day. Doesn’t happen everyday, but I’m working on it.

    1. I am glad you are working on it. It is crazy how little ‘me’ time anyone actually gets and when you’re alone, you consider that ‘me’ time, but that’s not really true. It has to be a conscious effort.

  2. I’m going to be integrating the ‘me’ time in starting tomorrow. I can’t wait. I have a few things that I have to do, but otherwise…all me.

  3. Oh this makes total sense to me. Great post! Just because you’re alone for a bit doesn’t mean it’s true me time, it’s like saying just because you’re sitting next to your significant other that it’s couple time. Not necessarily though. Not when you’re just staring blankly at the stupid tv. Me time is so precious and shouldn’t be so rare.

  4. Great post! I don’t know, carving out “me” time is not a problem for me, lol. But you know what, your post made me thankful for it. I don’t really have anything holding me back and my time and my life belong to me these days, and I should be grateful for the ability to put myself first. So, thanks for reminding me of that. 🙂

    1. I am glad you are in a time when you CAN put a lot towards ‘me’ time – it probably makes up for all of the sacrifices you made in your previous marriage, right?

  5. I like your “me” times. “me” times for me would be working out where I go into my own world, reading books and magazines and walking the beach beside my home. I also love taking a bath with a glass of wine before a night out.

  6. I think it’s the only child in me, but I’m all about the ‘me’ time. I need some time each day to write, watch tv, go for a walk and play with my dog. Happy that you’re prioritizing that, too!

  7. I crave my “me” time, I cannot function without it. I try to have a few minutes of this right when I wake up and before I go to bed. Its a great day to start and end the day. Great post!

Leave a Reply

