“Challenges make you discover things about yourself that you never really knew.”

I’ve been in a funk on and off this week and partially because I have an abbreviated weekend as I fly back out to California on Sunday.

Why, you ask, instead of Monday, like usual, you ask? (okay, so you didn’t ask…)

I am flying out a day early for some prep meetings on Monday with the CEO for some meetings we’re doing with media in San Francisco on Tuesday. And guess who’s flying up to San Francisco and accompanying said CEO to the meetings and an investor event?

Me.

Eep.

All by myself. With the CEO. All day.

Pressure, much?!

Um, yeah. I guess this has been weighing on me of late and I am also glad it’s almost here so I can get it over with! I know it won’t be as stressful (I hope) or as nerve-wracking (I can keep telling myself that) as I keep thinking, but I know it will be one of my biggest challenges so far. And to be honest, I am intimidated, I am a little scared, but I know that at the end of it, I will likely learn something new about myself.

And sometimes those challenges are the ones that stick with you, that shed a lot of light on what you’re capable of and you realize you got this.

Right?

(Right?? Please tell me I’m right and help psyche me up!)

On that note, I hope to enjoy my abbreviated weekend for all that it’ll have – girls night, time with M, and a mani with my mom and one of my sisters. Can’t really complain about all that goodness for the weekend ahead, can I?

“Challenges make you discover things about yourself that you never really knew.”

35 thoughts on ““Challenges make you discover things about yourself that you never really knew.”

  1. Seriously. Give yourself some credit sis. You fly ACROSS the damn country almost every week now for this job and you’re worried about how you’ll fare with the CEO this week? If you can go to and from the east to west coast ALONE which is huge in and of itself given how far you’ve come, you most CERTAINLY will impress the pants off the CEO (well, I hope you don’t literally impress his pants off but you know what I mean LOL). you got this. own it!

    1. Your comment made me laugh and smile. Thank you for the pep talk, you are the bestest. And no, I don’t want to impress the pants off anyone, thankyouverymuch πŸ™‚

  2. Didn’t you just write a post about how going through a divorce made you less frightened to come home and see your door ajar?

    Same deal.

    This will only do more at making you EVEN more bad ass! You got this!

  3. You can totally do this! And you’re right…it’s good that it will be over soon…both so that you don’t have to worry anymore and so that you will soon know how much stronger and more outgoing you are! You’re going to kick @$$!!

  4. And this too, shall pass. Don’t worry about it. Prepare, plan. Big smile. Kill it. See it as an opportunity to sell yourself not an opportunity to fail. Because failure is not an option. Good luck! -T.

  5. Take the stress off of yourself by thinking of it this way: The CEO NEEDS the person he recently hired as a strategist because you are the person most qualified to do the job. You. Nobody else in the company can do the job as you can and he needs your input.

    Kind of makes you unique doesn’t it? You’re valueable and in this role, indespensible. You’re as integral to these meetings as he is. Can’t do it without you.

    The only challange is to outshine him.

  6. You can do it, the day will go well with your CEO. If you do get nervous or anything, just imagine your CEO naked or in his underwear. Though that may not be a nice thought.
    Best of luck.

  7. I’m sure you are going to be great. But one tip can make your life easier :). Try not to see him/her as CEO, but just as a human being. He/she has own fears, problems, desires. It’s only a person. Exactly like any other.
    It reminds me of one good quote (Dalai Lama):
    “I think that this is the first time I am meeting most of you. But to me, whether it is an old friend or new friend, there’s not much difference anyway, because I always believe we are the same; we are all human beings. Of course, there may be differences in cultural background or way of life, there may be differences in our faith, or we may be of a different color, but we are human beings, consisting of the human body and the human mind. Our physical structure is the same, and our mind and our emotional nature are also the same. Wherever I meet people, I always have the feeling that I am encountering another human being, just like myself. I find it is much easier to communicate with others on that level. If we emphasize specific characteristics, like I am Tibetan or I am Buddhist, then there are differences. But those things are secondary. If we can leave the differences aside, I think we can easily communicate, exchange ideas, and share experiences.”

    Just be yourself. It’s enough.

    1. Wow, thank you so much…you are tied for best pep talk comment πŸ™‚ Putting it that way, it feels a little less scary and I REALLY need that right now. Thank you again!

  8. I realize that this already happen, but I bet that you rocked it! The CEO wouldn’t be wasting his time spending the day with you if it wouldn’t be worthwhile! xoxo

  9. Challenges are so nerve-wracking, but also very much needed for personal growth. Life would be boring without them. I’m glad you awesomely conquered this particular challenge. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

