Have you ever?

…wanted to toss out the rule book and start fresh (yet not know how)?

…tried to sit back and just enjoy what you have around you (instead of overthinking every last detail)?

…realized how lucky it is to be alive, have a roof over your head, a steady paycheck and a few nice pieces of clothes (yet sometimes still want more?)

…wanted to be type B for just one day?

…embraced unroutine like it’s nobody’s business (because I need a lesson in that)?

…wondered if past relationships or marriages really affect your decisions or thought processes now (or if it’s just overthinking syndrome)?

…miss old friendships and wonder how they’re doing (but not the drama that came with it)?

And a few randoms…

…had an aversion to putting the dryer lint in the trash (letting it pile up next to the dryer instead)?

…kept an unopened box of reduced fat white cheddar cheez-its (because opening it would spell disaster)?

…wanted a flatter stomach, effortless hair and longer legs (no? just me?)?

…wanted to be a cat or a bird or a penguin for just one day to see what it would be like (or am I just weird)?

…loved the feeling of muscles aching to the point of it being incredibly difficult to sit down (yet still work those muscles again the very next day)?

…hated random words for no reason (like ‘morsels,’ ‘panties’ or ‘gluteals?’)

…thought I was weird?

πŸ˜‰

~~

I have too much swirling in my brain today, and these are some of the things that scurried past it. Do you have any ‘have you ever?’ additions to share?

36 thoughts on “Have you ever?

  1. I looooove being sore. I’ll do certain workouts because I know they’ll make me sore. Most people think I’m weird. But you won’t πŸ™‚

    And I’m blessed with long legs (I’m 5’10…), but they come with a price. Like airplane and movie/theater seats are SO uncomfortable.

    1. YES! Love a workout I know will make me sore. So weird but not to us…so true. You can give me, like, 2 inches of your legs and I’d be happy. 5’5′ sounds way better than 5’3 to me!

  2. Flat stomach, effortless hair and longer legs…uh, yes, please! I have a few have you evers to add:

    …tried so hard to balance you fell down (literally and figuratively)?

    …enjoyed a trickle of sweat down your spine during a workout?

    …wanted to climb inside your bf’s head and see what’s going on in there?

    …wanted to leave the 9-5 rat race but didn’t know how?

    …gone back to a hobby you loved and felt your whole life open up?

    …felt like you had exhausted the possibilities, only to find there was still one more viable one at the bottom of your reserves?

  3. Yes, I want to try being Type B. It’s too impossible for me though. The EX used to hate that I wasn’t as spontaneous as he wanted me to be. What? I just like to plan things. πŸ™‚

    And yes to the friendships thing too. Right on with that one.

    You’re so normal and real by saying these things. I love it!

    1. Aw, thank you for saying I am real (and normal!). I try. I can’t be type B if I tried. I am Type A- I do believe, not AS type A as my sister (ahem…) but pretty much there in many ways that I would like to at least ease up on a bit.

  4. Can you guess what I picked out of this list right away?? The dryer lint comment. What is that all about??? Otherwise, I’m not surprised by your list, I think I know you a wee bit too well…and um you are TOTALLY a way bigger overthinker than I am, I’ve realized! Whoa-ly.

    1. OF COURSE you did! I knew you would. Yea, I have no idea what my aversion is to putting it in the damn trash, but it’s like one extra step or something. No clue where that came from πŸ˜‰

  5. Dryer lint makes me happy. I love how once you start it you can just keep dragging it along making it bigger and bigger…. No, I don’t think you’re weird. I am quite clearly the weird one.

    Also, longer legs would make me even weirder. These darn things look like I’m walking on stilts as it is. God/man has yet to create a pant long enough.

    And yes to the animal question. Dolphin or eagle. Definitely. Maybe not just for a day either.

    1. LOL! You are awesome. You love dryer lint, I just hate throwing it away for some odd reason. You with longer legs would be weird…I realize, but me with longer legs would make me uh, normal? πŸ˜‰ A dolphin! YES!

  6. Oh to have a flat stomach, a body like Jamie Eason and effortless hair. If I won the lottery, I would never wash my hair again, I’d just go and get it blowdryed in the hairdressers three times a week and have perfect hair every day! I’ve often wondered what it would be like to be a guy for a day and to be in their heads because they really don’t think like us at all.

  7. I agree with Susan. I have often wondered what it was like to be a guy. Just being with and talking to my man has opened up a whole new world of understanding (and confusion) about men!

    I too love a good hardcore workout. But it’s tough to be sore when I have to be mommy. Ugh.

    I have a few quirks myself but I’d rather hear someone else’s! Ha! (Though I may ask my friends what they think my quirks are and write a blog post about them. How fun would THAT be?)

    1. I know, I’d love to be in a man’s head for a day. Or maybe that would be just scary πŸ˜‰ I LOVE the quirks from a friend’s perspective blog post!

  8. I don’t dislike putting it in the trash, but I hate gathering it out because my hand is often wet at that point (Don’t. Know. Why.) and I hate when the lint sticks to my hand.

    The words I dislike are particular vulgar ones, and I’ll spare everyone. Ironic considering I have quite the potty mouth…whatever.

  9. re: flatter stomach – lord, yes, would i love that. ‘course, every time i set out to get in better shape, i always end up getting flatter in places i would much rather leave curvy. sigh…

  10. …wanted to be type B for just one day?…

    I seriously wonder about this all the time. Then I think about all the Type B people in my life and remember how much they drive me crazy. LOL

    1. That is hysterical that you wonder about it too. Glad I wasn’t in left field on that one πŸ˜‰ I think I’d drive myself crazy if I was truly type “B” too.

  11. Um, can I just say that I loved this? Such a fun lighthearted post.

    And yes, the dryer lint thing is me too. It used to drive Jaime CRAZY. I would wad it up and never throw it away and I cannot tell you why.

    And I am a mix of Type B and A, depending.

    And for the record, I don’t think that you are weird at all, this was totally cool.

    1. Ha-ha, glad you liked it Marisa! πŸ˜‰ That is SO funny about the dryer lint! I have no idea why I am like that either. So strange, but oddly normal, it appears πŸ™‚

  12. One of my classmates in law school hated the word, “panties,” and we had a mock trial class in which the word came up all the time.

    I miss old friendships and wonder how they’re doing (but not the drama that came with it). There’s one friend in particular that comes to mind, but as she’s still married to an abusive man, I continue to keep my distance. xoxo

Leave a Reply

