A little perspective and some sunshine go a long way…

To kicking homesickness to the curb.

Writing out how I was feeling last night really helped me get over my little bout of homesickness. As did a little perspective.

You all reminded me that what I am doing is not piddly, but is hard, and is challenging.

M remarked that he’s proud of me for traveling all the way across the country by myself. And back. Constantly.

(didn’t really think of it that way. But honestly, it IS huge. The ‘me’ 2+ years ago would never even have considered it, let alone do it.)

My sisters are my rocks and have both conveyed their support and admiration for what I am doing (it’s funny actually, because I am somewhat mirroring a path my sister Jen took when she was an undergrad at the University of Florida, and I remember being in awe that she was living ALONE and for years, no less! I am proud of her for doing that, as she was a lot younger then, than we are now, and at that age, I know for sure it would be almost an insurmountable challenge for me.)

And digging deep has helped, too. Letting myself feel a little mopey, and a little grouchy, and then just getting over it, because today is a new day. And it was a good one. It was sunny and warm-ish. I got a ton accomplished at work amid a bevy of meetings (which meant a nixed lunch with Misty – sniff) and now, am off to dinner with the beautiful couple over at Newlyweds on a Budget.

Can’t really complain at any of that, now can I?

24 thoughts on “A little perspective and some sunshine go a long way…

  1. A “bevy” of meetings eh? Lots of big words coming out in the vocab lately. I think that’s just swell πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. I am continually impressed with your endurance through all of this, and your ability to pick yourself right back up and carry on. You are doing AWESOME sis!!

  2. Awww sis you can do it, I know it feels hard and unfamiliar but as time goes on you will adjust and actually look forward to travel. I know flying back and forth from snow to sun felt like a time warp! Look at all you have accomplished and where you are now, I am in AWE of you! I am so proud! It is like our lives are mirroring, I think you are quite brave and adventurous and I don’t know if I could do what you are doing now just like you thought what I did when I was younger was hard! You can do it! XOXOXOXO

    1. Aww thank you sis…your perspective on this is huge for me. AND for even thinking what I am doing is harder than what you did! I beg to differ πŸ˜‰ Love you sis, and love how we can learn from each other now, with our lives mirroring here and there, even more. xOXO

  3. I am SOOOO proud of you. I knew you could do this. And to see you mingling and trying new things constantly…my heart swells for you. (I was dying to use ‘swell.’ πŸ˜‰ )

    Enjoy your weekend.

  4. You really should be proud. This is a huge deal and you’re proving you’ve got the balls that most people don’t!

    P.S. I’d say props, but you’d just think I’m telling you to poo again…! πŸ˜‰

  5. Ah, I’m so glad that yesterday was a better day and I’m envious of all that sunshine and beautiful weather you are soaking up over there. I give you major kudos for the traveling too, because that is also something I would have been too scared to do during my marriage and I’d still be a bit scared now.

  6. I COMPLETELY commend you for your travel schedule….I can’t imagine how hard it is to travel so often, and so FAR! The good news is that hopefully it will get easier as time goes on, and I have to say, I am jealous – I always think it’s completely badass when women travel all around by themselves like that. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m glad that you blogged about, talked to M and your sisters and gained a little perspective. You have a lot to be proud of yourself for, and you are entitled to have a few bad or mopey days. You always keep yourself in check so the sunshine with return soon enough! xoxo

Leave a Reply

