Reason #646 why I love my job.

Because even though I need to be ‘on my game’ I don’t need to be playing a game.

For anyone that has ever worked in the PR or marketing industry, at an agency, you know exactly what I mean. And even if you haven’t, you have likely worked in a services industry, where the customer (or in my case, the client) is your #1 priority (obviously).

I’m in two days of planning meetings in California this week with our agency and wow, being on the other side of the table is severely eye-opening and makes me realize why I love, love, love being outside of an agency and inside of a company doing PR instead. I knew it would be different, and a challenge, but one of the biggest things I love is that I don’t have to pander cater to a ‘client’…I am the client. And no, this doesn’t mean I am taking advantage of my new position and playing the ‘heavy,’ but it means that I am bringing a fresh perspective to this side of the fence and seeing how much more control I have, more ability to make decisions and see things through from start to finish.

This is what I love about my job.

Seeing projects through to completion.

Helping develop a social media program and seeing it grow and flourish based on decisions and processes I am putting in place. And it’s working!

Being able to focus, completely, on projects and not feeling pulled in 15 different directions. And being able to say no, we aren’t doing this, because I think this will work better. Feeling empowered. Feeling confident. And most of all? Not feeling shy.

I feel ‘on’ because I want to be, not because I’m forced have to be.

Today was eye-opening for me and even though I’m tired as hell, I have a raging headache (likely from not enough caffeine and too little sleep last night, after getting in at what felt like 2 am my time), I feel enlivened.

This is where I’m meant to be. Firmly planted.

30 thoughts on “Reason #646 why I love my job.

  1. I get it – I’ve worked at an agency and I would SO rather be on the client side! Pass off the crap work to the agency and you control the situation. Plus – you still get the credit from your boss! Better all the way around!

    1. Exactly. I am going to enjoy loving it while I can, because I am realistic in knowing that eventually the love may fade and turn into just ‘like’ (which is still good!)

      1. That sounds like the perfect approach! And, it’s rare in the field that you’re in to not have a lot of people playing games. Sounds like a great fit for you and your skill set! xoxo

  2. This “Being able to focus, completely, on projects and not feeling pulled in 15 different directions. And being able to say no, we aren’t doing this, because I think this will work better. Feeling empowered. Feeling confident.” is what I want in my job.

    I’m working on it. The goal, I guess, is to make us enough money so that I can hire someone else to do the 15 other jobs I do there as well!

    So happy to see you happy!

    1. LOL – yes, we all need that person to do the 15 things we want to do while we do our job…and for you, I know you are on your way to a job you love. You’re next! πŸ™‚

  3. I am so proud of you, sis. Of course, I can totally and utterly relate to this. I swear, my agency “life” has scarred me in such a way that I’m now feeling somewhat unsure of myself in my new role and I HATE that feeling. I’m not quite sure how to squash the feeling and just go with it…doing the whole “fake it till ya make it” thang you’re doing a much better job of than me. I need to channel it, find that confidence and own it. And I’m having a hard time with it, admittedly. I need to follow your lead. So proud.

    1. YES! It has. I hate it. But I have an advantage in knowing the market and company while you do not. YOU took a huge leap so give yourself some time, sis, and quit beating yourself up. YOU are doing this.

  4. Yeah, I can’t imagine either, as working for a marketing brokerage all I do is pander to others, lol. The client is always right, even when they are HORRIBLY wrong, lol. However, I find that anyone I know who has moved from working from a broker (being on my side) to working for our clients, they are such cool people because they understand both sides. Some of my clients are unreasonable, but the ones who used to be in my shoes work with me instead of against me and I love that.

    I’m glad for you that you have more autonomy at work being the client instead of working for them, sounds so cool πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you…I do count every single blessing I am feeling right now. That’s for sure. Cali does help, even though it’s raining presently πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

