What *are* we waiting for?

Catching up on my blog-reading at the airport and over the weekend, I read INRIS‘ latest post, on the passing of his dear friend Gabe, and as he reposted her last poetry slam before her death, I again watched it and rewatched it, and shared it with M, and posted it to Facebook.

Her words touched me deeply then, and they still touch me deeply now.

What *are* we waiting for, in life? For a finite end to work towards? A goal to meet? A reason to act on all those ‘wanna do’s,” “wish I could’s” and “if only I could…” musings?

I feel as though I am taking the leap this year with a job that is completely out of my comfort zone, continuing to tackle fitness challenges, and even more so, challenging my own regimented self at things that are hard for me to see beyond. Like realizing my routine *can* stand to be tweaked (and the world won’t fall apart!), maintaining balance in my life and my relationship (but not to the point of rigidity or conversely, over-compromise) and learning to communicate more, and not hiding behind the ‘everything’s okay’ mantra.

But even with all of those challenges, it makes me wonder…am I doing enough? Or are all of these things ‘surface’ and I could be doing more to make a difference, not just in my life, but in others, too.

I don’t have the answer for that. I don’t really know. But what I do know is that sometimes that swift kick in the ass of reality…Gabe’s words of “what the fuck are you waiting for?” are what I need to stay focused and on my path towards the great, not just the status quo.

If you haven’t watched this video, please do. It’s worth the 5 minutes and even more worth the reflection…what *are* we waiting for?

24 thoughts on “What *are* we waiting for?

  1. Wow. So true – we should NOT sit around waiting for “something” to happen…we should always be looking for that “dare to be great” moment in life. It’s just too damn short to sit around waiting, damn. I totally think of this year as a year of NOT sitting around waiting for something – we are both making our year, not letting the year take us by storm, ya know? Now…one thing I’d like to stop waiting for? Booking that darn tropical retreat!! 😉

  2. It’s so true, life is so short and it’s only when someone dies that it hits home how sacred and short life really is and how we should live each moment to the fullest. I sometimes put things off and say I’ll do it in the future but this has made me think, why not now.

  3. No matter how many times I watch this video, it still hits me. What a wake up call, especially for those of us who have time to really make our mark and accomplish our dreams.

    Let’s go!

  4. There were a few startling lines for me: “You’re gonna die. The only difference between me and you is that I may know when and how” and “I’ll just drift away like a feather in a dream someday while you’re stuck in traffic going to a job you never really liked …”

    This is motivation exemplified and amplified.

    I’d like to know if anyone has studied beyond the speeches of those brave souls such as Gabe above (and Randy Pausch as another example). We are all hyped and full of resolve after seeing those about to expire deliver the message of living life to the fullest that they universally implore us to follow. And, we do follow – although only for a few days, or even at best, stretched out to weeks.

    But, why is it that none of us (I’m certain that I’m being way too general) keep up that zest that ignited us while watching that video? What is it that causes us to rise slightly above the mundane day to day rut we’ve perhaps allowed ourselves to settle into only to slowly melt comfortably back down to where we began?

    What is it that causes us to accept rigid mediocrity despite being shaken to our core and even sometimes admitting aloud that we can have, and deserve, excellence?

    1. I wish I had the answers…but I don’t. But you are right, the feeling of empowerment and inspiration becomes fleeting, which is why it is good to replay videos like this and read about others journeys and how they’ve gotten past that mediocrity. I am certainly not a great example of doing it every day, but if I can even do it for a moment each day, I think that goes a long way. It’s a start.

  5. Couldnt watch the video at work. : (
    But I have to say that I dont feel like I personally am waiting around for anything as much as I am looking for something. to make me happy.

    1. bummer, it’s a great video, if you have the chance to watch at home. And kudos to you for not feeling that you are waiting around…not many can say that!

  6. I got chills within the first 20 seconds. They lasted the whole 5 minutes. Thanks for sharing. I may have to steal it.

Leave a Reply

