“Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.”

Well, I made it. This was a really long week, as expected, and full of challenges, as I’ve noted, but I feel invigorated and ready for the challenges that lie ahead. So, I thought this quote for today would be perfect for how I’m feeling:

“Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.”

Challenges are supposed to be hard, sure, but if you don’t allow it to paralyze you, you almost always come out stronger on the other side, more aware of your strengths and capabilities and with the perspective you need to face future challenges. I firmly believe that.

I almost let the paralysis take me over this week, at points, I admit that. But then I reminded myself that this is my opportunity to shape myself, to shed the negative perceptions before they even start, and to take charge. This week gave me the confidence that I can do it, I got this.

Why?

Because these are my co-workers. They aren’t my clients.

That shift has been huge for me. Far bigger than I ever imagined. Being in an agency setting for so long, I was accustomed to the service aspect of my job, to being the ‘yes, (w0)man’ many times rather than going against the grain where sometimes it makes sense to. I didn’t realize how much I had gotten into that habit of just doing, and not challenging or suggesting another idea instead. And after meeting so many of the faces I’ve talked to on the phone or emailed back and forth with, I know they are ‘on my side’ and are supportive of what I’m trying to do within this position. And they’re supportive and want to help. We are one team. There is no ‘us vs. them’ mentality. That is HUGE for me.

So, already,  I am discovering that the shyness I’ve stumbled across in the past at my old job isn’t so much of a struggle so far in this one. I don’t feel as intimidated, I do feel more confident, and I am looked at for my expertise. MY expertise. Yea, that’s right…I got it and they know it. That’s an awesome feeling.

I know there are plenty of challenges that lie ahead. The constant travel for the next few months. The 10 weeks between now and when my boss goes on maternity leave…and then the 8 weeks I’ll be flying solo until she returns. But it doesn’t scare me or paralyze me. It inspires me because the ‘me‘ in June is going to be even stronger than the me now. Six months and counting.

 

24 thoughts on ““Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are.”

  1. Okay, I just freaked out because I realized that 10+8 weeks was the same amount of time left in my pregnancy!!! For some reason, 18 weeks sounds so much quicker than “22 –> 40” 😛

  2. (LOL to LifeByTheDay, you are funny)

    But sis, this is awesome. You made SUCH a good point about going from client-side as the ‘yes woman’ to being on the other side hwere you ARE the expert and they DO respect that and they DO listen to what you have to say and it matters. That is a HUGE shift and it’s awesome. It is so interesting to see how people react to me at my job now too, as an expert that they value. And appreciate. It’s empowering and I think THAT is why you you finding that you are less “shy” and more confident now…it’s always been there, you’re just in an environment that brings it out in you.

    1. isn’t it so true though? I am just amazed at how ingrained some of the stuff we just ‘got used to’ before, aren’t you? Now we are both VALUED and trusted. It’s a great feeling.

        1. Reason #264 why you’re the best – not only do you catch up on all of my posts and comment, you read the comments too 🙂 So great. And yes, it feels huge knowing that I am valued and respected. A major shift.

  3. That’s so exciting, sounds like you’re taking all the work challenge in your stride and you’ll do great when your boss in on maternity leave. Just curious, do you guys only get 8 weeks maternity leave? We get 6 months full paid maternity leave and then another six months unpaid if required and parental leave of a certain number of days off for the first six years of a childs life.

    1. Ha, yea, maternity leave here is atrocious. We get 12 weeks (not full pay either) but she can’t afford to take the full 12, so she is only take 2 months. Awful, isn’t it?

  4. Martin always says…everybody is the same so whatever insecurities your are thinking about on your side of the table, they have them too. Once you realize that things get easier.

  5. sounds like you’ve had quite the breakthrough week. i love it that you’re settling in to your new position and seem to be getting more and more confident and discovering a new empowering side of you! huzzah!

    1. Huge breakthroughs! And I think I will have more and more of them the more I travel out for the weeks I am in Cali. It’s a huge stretch for me, totally.

  6. So proud of you, Jo…. and I can’t wait until June when we can pour ourselves a couple glasses of wine, TOGETHER, for real (!!) and celebrate all of our successes.

    2011 is going to be a great year. It already is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

