Seize the day…make your lives extraordinary.

Carpe Diem.

Seize the Day.

Make your lives extraordinary.

Those were the words that Robin Williams uttered in Dead Poet’s Society, a video that flashed on-screen today at the kick-off of my company’s sales conference. The words spoken that gave me chills.

Because it’s so true. At this very moment, it’s about seizing the moment, the day, and our lives.

I feel inspired after the first full day of meetings and last night’s intro dinner and discussion by our CEO (who I met last night as well, and he’s awesome. Has a great Scottish accent and is extremely grounded) and feel more than ever, that this was exactly what I was meant to do…take this leap into the unknown and just go for it.

I’m scared. I’m out of my element. But I need this. I crave this.

And on a personal note, it’s helping me be comfortable being uncomfortable. This morning, I went down to the conference room and saw a bunch of people milling about. And knew nobody. Not a soul. My boss hadn’t arrived yet and neither had her boss (who I work closely with, too). I wanted to run. I wanted to go back to my room. But I stuck it out and struck up a few conversations and felt much better.

Score one for me!

At the break, I did the same. Had a great conversation with a couple of the execs and it was an easy conversation, they were welcoming and very nice. We talked weather, we admired the view, and it was, well, normal. Not as scary as I thought.

This afternoon however, was a test for me. I had to go to a couple of breakout sessions that were geared towards the sales teams on product roadmap. And I was the only non-sales person there. I felt like I stuck out like a sore thumb. As if I was in the wrong room. As if I didn’t belong. I was thisclose to just leaving. But I stuck it out for the hour and a half, but realized that the next session was going to be even more technical, so I decided to skip it. So, that one was a small rock as I *did* stick it out, but I wasn’t happy about it! πŸ˜‰

So what didΒ  I do with my unexpected free time?

Carpe Diem.

Instead of holing up in my hotel room, I looked outside, across PCH highway at the sparking beach and decided to go for a quick run. Partially to see how I’d do (since I’ve struggled with runs lately) and because hell, it’s effing 80 degrees, sunny and warm!

So I went.

And it was glorious.

It’s weather we won’t see in Boston for another 4 months AT A MINIMUM.

The pictures say it all…and I’m thrilled to be sitting here, on my balcony, soaking it in, not a bit unhappy to be catching up on work (and blogs!) in the warm evening air.

Extraordinary…

~~~

BTW, check out the challenge my sis Jess and I are doing – I am so excited for this and think it will really make a difference!! Stay tuned!

26 thoughts on “Seize the day…make your lives extraordinary.

  1. First of all, you had me at the “Dead Poet’s Society” reference. I am such a literature, almost English teacher nerd. But anyway, I am so happy for you that you are facing the challenge of putting yourself in uncomfortable situations and really going for it. I am trying to do that too! You should be proud. And I am very jealous of your weather right now, it’s nasty here Jo, you aren’t missing anything.

    1. I love literature too…and I bet you’d be a great teacher πŸ™‚ And thank you for your support! I really need it all as it helps me forge on even when I wanna hide πŸ˜‰ In a year, I hope to look back at this and say wow, I’ve come so far. That’s progress! πŸ™‚

  2. This made me happy and inspired me too. I’m so glad you’re out there making the most of your experience. Time for me to do the same. I’ve been in a rut this week, but I need to keep remembering to seize the day! Keep enjoying yourself!

    1. Aw, thank you! So glad! It’s so easy to get into a rut or status quo, and sometimes you just need the invigoration of change or being uncomfortable. Ya know?

  3. Well done Jolene for doing so well at your work meetings and sticking them out. That’s certainly a challenge. Love the photos of the Californian sun, so jealous, would love to be in the sunshine now.

  4. A very timely post for me. Because of my new working schedule, I find that I have all morning and part of the early afternoon totally free. Most mornings I wake up early and almost literally say to myself (as I’m heading to the tea kettle) “I can do anything I want today. What will do me the most good?”

    Instead of retreating to a useless and well defined confort zone that hasn’t produced anything of value in forever, I’ve decided to make myself comfortable in a different sort of way – by doing something, heck, many things, that are productive, invigorating and fun.

    And it’s made all the difference.

    All I’m missing are palm trees and the glow of the sun.

    1. That is great! I am so glad you are doing some productive, fun, different things. It’s invigorating, isn’t it?! I miss sun and green grass most of all! and flowers!

  5. Yes, I agree. You had me at Dead Poet’s Society as well. I LOVE that movie. One of my faves…

    I’m feeling a bit of discomfort myself, girl. I hear you! Good for you for sticking it out. And what a glorious place to go for a run…

    1. Glad you’re feeling discomfort too! Funny how that’s a good thing, huh? I am trying to stick it out and the run was a great topper for me yesterday.

  6. I am so proud of you sis! Not that I ever doubted you’d rise to the challenge, but you’ve risen in a big way and that is awesome. You are WAY outside your comfort zone and knocking the socks off of it all. Awesome.

  7. awww HB. I love taking Bentley to the dog beach there…

    I HATE going to business mixers. The whole point is to talk to people and be all buddy buddy but if I don’t know anyone, it is seriously one of my worst nightmares. I think I overcompensate and put on this pretend outgoing social personality bc everyone likes outgoing people, but really I’m just pretending. I hate not knowing anyone…so I can understand what a huge step it was for you!! hope you met some new people!

    1. I am so jealous you can come here anytime!! We’ll have to meet up at the beach some time I am here and go for a walk with the dog and then dinner πŸ˜‰ And YES, it is so hard going to those things and faking it! I hate it! But I am starting to adjust, verrrrry slowly. At least everyone is nice!

  8. I NEEDED to read this today! Wow did I ever. I’m so glad you seized those moments, and came out feeling stronger than ever. Sometimes we (and by ‘we’, I mean ‘I’) πŸ˜‰ have a tendency to go through the same routine, day in and day out, without being pushed to do something outside our comfort zone. But look at how you did, and you totally came out on top!

    1. Yay! Love when I say something that resonates with others! Makes me feel more normal about this stuff πŸ˜‰ I am glad you are also trying to get out of the zone and branch out. It’s a great feeling, even though scary and not the most fun at the time.

  9. That was our high school motto and I love it. Good for you for grabbing the bull by the horns and talking to people you don’t know. I know how tough that is – I’d usually prefer to stick knives in my eyes, but it’s not so bad once you do it a couple of times!

Leave a Reply

