“Kiss your life. Accept it, just as it is. Today. Now. So that those moments of happiness you’re waiting for don’t pass you by.”

I’m not sure where I gathered this quote from, but I absolutely love it. And after a few disturbing dreams this week (one of which I mentioned here) that to me, signify fear, worry, and losing those around me, it’s fitting for Quote Friday.

“Kiss your life. Accept it, just as it is. Today. Now. So that those moments of happiness you’re waiting for don’t pass you by.”

I dreamed last night that my grandfather died. I woke up breathing heavy, stressed, sad, and worried. I genuinely thought it was real and he means so much to me. And yes, I know, we’ve all had these death-type dreams before, or dreams of losing those around you (by break-up, death or whatever it may be), but I’ve had two in the last three days. As much as I like to wax poetic about being happy, and embracing my life, I also worry a hell of a lot. As evidenced by my dreams.

I worry about my new job. Am I doing well? Am I establishing myself? Do they trust me?

All signs point to yes, two weeks in, yet I still worry. Part of it’s natural I’d like to believe.

I worry about my finances. Or lack there-of.

Going on almost a full month without a paycheck before my new paycheck kicks in sucks. BIG TIME (since I thought I was getting one more check from my old job and no such luck, apparently. Didn’t budget for that chunk of change missing!). But I know it’s very much temporary (as in, a week away and then I can finally start saving again and um, not overdrawing).

Yet I still worry. (again, mostly natural, but I have a big problem with focusing far too much on it, trying to ignore it rather than face it. I’m working on changing that, as I know I need to).

One thing I don’ t worry about though, is M.

And for that, I am grateful. I believe in us. And I believe that we have staying power. And I trust him with all of my heart.

Another thing I don’t worry about? My friends.

For the very same reason as why I don’t worry about things with M.

And if I can say that, honestly, that’s all that really matters, when you boil it down. Right?

So I ask you…what in your life makes it kissable? What can you accept in lieu of all the good? For me, I can accept my finances, I can accept new job worries. I can accept a lot of other worries and challenges in life because I know I can tackle a lot. And, because far more important is that the rest of my life, and my family, friends and love are rock-solid.

Happy weekend friends, make it a fan-frickin-tastic one, will ya?

24 thoughts on ““Kiss your life. Accept it, just as it is. Today. Now. So that those moments of happiness you’re waiting for don’t pass you by.”

  1. HAPPY WEEKEND JOBO!

    I’m in such a great mood I could just bounce!

    For real though, you’re awesome. 🙂 You’ll make it to payday… it’ll suck, but you’ll make it!

  2. Well IntrigueMe just made me smile so I hope you smiled at her comment too!

    I’m in a pretty damn good mood too! I am totally kissing my life right now. I smile just walking down the sidewalk. What the heck?! No idea why, but it feels good!

    I hope your bad dreams go away, you kick your finances in the ass, you cuddle that sweet boy of yours, and you have a GREAT weekend!

  3. I can accept that Eric is sick and even though I am not a nurterer by nature, I can suck it up for a few days.

    I can accept the constant fear of losing him. I can accept being on a strict budget until he lands his dream job. I can accept not having an engagement ring to show off (but one day, dammit!)

  4. Beautiful quote! Acceptance is key. And, it helps to focus on the positive. Your first check might not come as soon as you’d like, but it will be coming soon. xoxo

    1. You’re right, it will. I just have this stupid sticking point with money where I stress out so much over it when I well, don’t have any, when it could still be far worse!! XO!

  5. Happy weekend! I’m so happy that it’s my weekend with my lovely girls….we haven’t had a “just us” weekend in a while now. We’re going to do a whole lot of snuggling and having fun together. 🙂

  6. Most people say that three or four months is way too short a time to know someone to be trusting them with all your heart. Especially for someone like you who has such a BIG heart to give! 🙂

    But, that’s because most people have bad judgment! I think in your case, it’s enough time. You can trust your judgment, especially since you’ve shown such good judgment in the past. I’m sure that with your ex husband, for example, you didn’t fall for him so quickly and ignore so many red flags. This time you’re doing it right. M is a keeper!

    1. Thanks for the visit and your insight! I must say, I am a bit baffled as I never said anything about red flags or my ex on this blog…but anyway, you are right, bad judgment can lead to heartbreak and pain, but if you keep eyes wide open, it usually works out ok. Ya know?

  7. Love this quote sis. I could kiss so much of my life right now, there really is NOTHING I can complain about really. life is just GOOD and it feels amazing. And I’m so glad that you are worrying less and uhh, kissing more? 😉

  8. Love this quote, “kiss your life, just accept it as it is”. I’m going to apply it to my own life and be happy with life as it is today in the present (though the icing on the cake would be for my prince to come soon).

    Sorry to hear you’ve been having a run of bad dreams, maybe it’s going to do with the changes in your life especially with the new job. Hopefully once you feel more settled in your job, you won’t have any more of those dreams. So glad you’re not worrying about M, so glad too it’s going great with the two of you.

  9. My life…kissable? It’s all coming back to me. Lovely night with S. Loads of compliments. Tight connection. And kids who still say, “I love you.”

    Blessings galore.

    Big hugs!

  10. I’m feeling very happy and kissable too! 🙂

    Got caught up with my man and an almost “no kids” weekend. It’s ALLLLLL good baby!

    You’ll make it! It’ll all work out!

  11. Worry is one of the hardest things for me to let go too! And I know how much of a happiness robber it is. So annoying when you know better but have trouble moving past certain things. I fortunately have gotten better but its still a challenge.

    1. Ah, yes – worriness is a happiness robber. That’s a great way of putting it, and so very true. I am glad you’ve learned to overcome it, maybe you can teach me how 🙂

  12. I’m late to the game, but just had to say, this quote for Quote Friday was soooooo cute. Never thought about “kissing my life” but it is an adorable image. I am sorry about your “bad” dreams lately, and I can definitely relate to the waiting for the other shoe to drop feeling when things are good. You are just full of so much positivity, so I have so much faith that things will work out for you because of that. Remember, “The secret!” LOL, just had to throw that in there and remind you of CBE when it wasn’t right, but now you are attracting what IS right.

Leave a Reply

