What takes three hours, a dash of the giggles and a hell of a lot of patience?

Building my home office desk today.

And I must say, M has patience of STEEL. Absolute STEEL.

No joke.

We got a late start, woke up late, ate breakfast late, worked out late, and were just getting around to building the desk around 1 (and decided we’d shower after the desk was built since a) we didn’t think it would take long and b) it would be kinda dirty to build on the floor).

And neither of us realized that it would take almost THREE hours to build the damn thing.

And M was on call today so his pager was legit going off every 10 minutes (and about 6 times throughout his workout), testing his nerves on top of our trying to build this damn desk.

I admit, my patience was thin and I was only the ‘fore(wo)man’ and he was building it. But I was antsy, and I felt bad it was taking so long, but he took it all in stride. Even when his pager would ring, and then we’d miss a step, or use the wrong part. He smiled, we laughed, and got through.

And the giggles helped, too.

Ever heard of ‘that’s what she said?”

Ya know, where you say something and it sounds unintentionally dirty?

“That’s what she said!”

So, that made us giggle, and have fun with it (screw it in harder…TWSS!) And the thing that made me laugh hardest? When M said “it’s like throwing a hot dog down a hallway” – if you haven’t heard it, google it, it’s hysterical (albeit kinda dirty).

What I loved most about today, was seeing that patience and his ability to focus, despite a lot of distractions, and it made me realize that a) I can learn SO much from him that way, and b) he’s really good under pressure and when things aren’t going his way. (again, something I can completely learn from).

And we really did have fun with it, and it looks great – check out the picture below – and with a little more organization, some fun touches (pictures and such), the corner of my bedroom will soon feel like my home office.

…and it’s the first Sunday in a long time that I don’t dread Monday morning. If that doesn’t say something about already loving my job, I don’t know what does (it truly makes life so much better when you can find a job you like. Adds to your life rather than detracts from it).

So, on that note, cheers friends! I’m going to rest my achin’ back, and enjoy the rest of the evening with M. Time well spent, methinks.

28 thoughts on “What takes three hours, a dash of the giggles and a hell of a lot of patience?

  1. OMG the “hallway” comment cracked me up! What a riot! I love M, he’s hysterical. AND I admire him even more for those patience pants made of steel! What a guy 😉 And you’re right, you can TOTALLY learn from him in the patience department (remember: kettle, black, over here)

  2. It looks great! How awesome that you had a good time even though things didn’t go quite as planned! I need a guy with a lot of patience since I have absolutely none. Love that you guys had fun! 🙂

  3. There’s nothing that will be a truer indicator of your relationship durability than completing a project together. Score! You two are going places. I can see it.

    Big hugs!

  4. Your home office looks great! I think I’d probably take a day to assemble a desk, I’m useless at diy, have no patience for it either. That’s a great sign that your new job is meant for you if you’re not worrying or dreading it on Sunday. Yeah glad you’re liking the new job.

    1. Thank you Susan! I am still figuring out the office set-up (like setting up a docking station, no idea!) but it’s slowly coming together 🙂

  5. I am a total “That’s what she said” junkie! (I scored a great one this weekend. We were driving, and S said to someone who was gonna pull his car out in front of him–and he drives a Hummer–“It will be a bad day for whoever pulls out on me.” I replied, “That’s what she said!”) That’s cute that you two are engaged in that kind of humor in what could otherwise be a frustrated and uncomfortable situation. I love that! I think it is these kind of situations that reveal how close you are becoming.

    That’s a great desk too! I need something like that for my son.

  6. Congrats again on finding a job AND a man you love. 🙂

    The new desk and all that it took to put it together sounds awesome! Glad to hear you happy.

    Oh and here’s to having a man around to help put things together!

    1. thank you my dear! It is starting to fall into place, finally Though I can’t figure out how to organize myself at home! Sorta frustrating but I’ll adjust 😉

  7. Wait. WAIT. *BLINK*

    Am I the only one thinking that didn’t look like a three hour job? LOL

    I get ya though. I bought Emilee and computer desk for kids? GOOD LORD I finally had to call my dad after four hours of me trying. Ugh.

  8. Those little put-it-together-at-home pieces of furniture are always a pain! Love the title of this post and how you and M got through it. Always love that you’re not dreading Monday! xoxo

Leave a Reply

