“It takes more courage to reveal insecurities than to hide them…toughness is in the soul and spirit, not in the muscles and an immature mind.”

Well, kids, I’m home!

About 10 hours ahead of schedule and no red-eye (score!). With the pending snowy weather coming and the cancellation of an important meeting this afternoon, my boss got me on a quicker flight home (reason #257 why I love my job already!).  I was beyond ecstatic to race from the building (given my flight was booked, oh and hour before it took off. And as you know, I’m a planner. I was freaking out that I wasn’t going to make it, but thankfully the airport is 5 mins from their offices!).

So, I am now home, I am unpacked, laundered and cleaned and I’ve only been home for an hour. (the routine I miss is in full effect, please don’t judge. Giggle.).

And this quote looked oh so perfect when I saw it on a friend’s Facebook page this week, for “quote Friday” that I plan to re-institute here (on occasion).

“It takes more courage to reveal insecurities than to hide them, more strength to relate to people than to dominate them, more wisdom to abide by thought out principles rather than blind reflex. Toughness is in the soul and spirit, not in the muscles and an immature mind.”

The first and last parts of this quote jumped out at me immediately and they really feel like my mantra for the next six months as I wade into the unknown waters of my new job. I need to capture my courage and my toughness and bring it, and those are two areas for me that have been weak in the past. A huge challenge to keep them at the forefront, but after this week, already, I feel the confidence rising from within, that I can do it.

And I thank you all for believing in me and rooting me on…it means more than you know. Happy weekend friends!

26 thoughts on ““It takes more courage to reveal insecurities than to hide them…toughness is in the soul and spirit, not in the muscles and an immature mind.”

  1. Glad you got home, what a treat for the weekend. It’s snowing here and I’m just finishing up in work, looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight. I like that quote I’m going to use it and apply it to my life for 2011.

  2. Love the quote too! Sometimes being away from home really makes you appreciate how much it means to be back! Enjoy both the uncomfortable and comfortable parts of your life. Not everyone is lucky enough to have both!

    1. You’re right, it DOES make me appreciate my surroudings that much more. And I love how you put that, being uncomfortable and comfortable in life. It IS a good thing!

  3. Love that quote sis – and love the whole concept of “toughness” – it’s another thing that inspires me lately…mental and physical toughness. We both have the physical toughness nailed, it’s the mental piece that can be SO much harder!

  4. I’m officially stealing that quote for my facebook because I love it. So inspiring. I wish you’d posted this before my last post so I could have stole it then!

    Looking forward to chatting tonight and hearing all the deets on the new job. And for a little girl chat… 😉 😉

    On another note… I’m reading this from my home laptop as opposed to my work computer where I normally read and your layout is all effed up when I view from here… and if I’m seeing it then others likely are too so eff eff eff… I’m at a loss as to how to fix that but I’ll try.

    1. So glad you like the quote too!! And love seeing it on your FB page too!! As for the blog layout, you are so funny, and if you want to fix it, all you, but if not, I still think it looks gorg!

  5. I just saw this same quote on facebook this morning. This part: “more strength to relate to people than to dominate them” made me want to print it and hang it in my office for my boss to see… But that’s a whole post in itself.

Leave a Reply

